We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saved Save
You added CanalHome with terrace to your Saves list.
Very light and large living area in monumental/industrial style combination with wooden elements
Very light and large living area in monumental/industrial style combination with wooden elements
Very light and large living area in monumental/industrial style combination with wooden elements
Large living area with Industrial / Monumental style
Cosy electric fireplace on 100% sustainable energy
View over Spiegelgracht
Lounge area with views over Singelgracht and koekjesbridge
Amsterdam
|
Condo/Apartment – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lola-Chan...
Tokyo
1 review
“Great place run by a passionate host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Nurit was the perfect host, and seems to be passionate about taking care of the apartment and the people within. The apartment is very well laid out and very nicely decorated with a number of nice touches. It's quite a large layout and in truth it's almost a shame to spend the whole day outside during a short stay.It would be a great place for a stay of a couple of weeks. Location is very good and Nurit maintains a folder in the apartment with a number of tips covering restaurants, shopping and cultural activities.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Very thoughtful design touches
Liked least: small sink in the bath room
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Aris K
Nicosia, Cyprus
1 review
“Thanks Alex & Nurit for being wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Apart from the fact that Alex and Nurit were lovely,flexible and extremely accommodating and fast to respond to our needs, the apartment was amazing.
Clean, nicely decorated, had everything you could ever need (applianceswise even tea and coffee). The fitted kitchen was really nice and big, the bed and the sofa were nice and big and the view was nice (at the front and back the balcony). Loved the wooden flooring. The location was also very convenient and very residential and quiet (if you want to experience the local life...).

The only negative I can think of were; the washbasin is very impractical to the point of making it hard to use as both of them (two of them one in the bedroom and one in the toilet) are tiny and it would also be nice to add a mirror above the basin in the bedroom. The other thing is the staircase to get to the apartment is very long and the steps very small, quite the exercise. BUT both these negatives are very common in Amsterdam properties and compared to the good points of my stay at canal home they are almost not worth mentioning. Finally, some might find it a tiny bit far from the center, but the area was really nice; had nice bars to go out in the evening, so again didn't bother us.

Overall, my experience at canal home was brilliant and I would highly recommend it, would rate both the flat and the owners as excellent and will probably stay there again!

Thanks Alex and Nurit for being wonderful !

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The Owners, the condition of the flat, and the view
Liked least: The washbasins
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
andym430...
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal apartment with friendly and helpful hosts.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed for a long weekend anniversary celebration and found our hosts very welcoming and the apartment ideal.

Although we arrived well before the usual check in time at 0930 after a very early flight, we were able to leave our luggage at the apartment after prior arrangement.

Our hosts were extremely welcoming and took time to give us an overview of the area (shops, restaurants, transport, attractions etc.) and provided guide books and the like (the recommended restaurants are definitely worth a visit).

The apartment was very nicely furnished, warm and spacious. The location is just on the edge of the main city centre area which was ideal as it gave easy access via trams and buses but meant that it was also nice and quiet. The museum area and Ann Frank House were in easy walking distance (most places were in walking distance). The stop for the 192 bus is 5 minutes away and this runs every 14 mins or so to give direct transfer to/from the airport in about 40 mins.

The owners live in the flat upstairs and could not have been more friendly and helpful. They called down mid-way through our stay to check that everything was okay and if there was anything that we needed. When it came to departure, we had a late flight home and so we were again able to leave our luggage at the apartment so that we could enjoy the extra day in Amsterdam before departing that evening.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
edinburgh...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic apartment, central, modern and friendly owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Alex and Nurit were brilliant hosts, they were welcoming, very helpful and have added lots of little extra things to the apartment which made it special e.g. tea/coffee/oil/shampoo...

We like the location which was on the canal. We liked the way they had designed and decorated the apartment in a modern way. We liked the spaciousness of the apartment. The week we were there the weather was very cold but the apartment was lovely and warm.

There are excellent supermarkets within minutes. Two really good, friendly and inexpensive restaurants which were minutes away which Nurit recommended. We were five minutes from a bus stop and tram line.

We liked everything about it and are going to book to return in the summer.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Property style and location
Liked least: Stairs but it is Amsterdam
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Andy B
Trondheim, Norway
1 review
“Great apartment, great location and great owners!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

The apartment is lovely and very well equiped/presented with modern furniture and decor. We found nothing lacking and owners live directly upstairs which meant our late arrival time was no problem. Importantly, the apartment is in a great location, just a few mins walk from Leidseplein and the central areas of the city. We found the apartment perfect for our needs as a small family and the owners were incredibly friendly and helpful (but not intrusive at any time). If you stay at the apartment we recommend taking the advice of Nurit and Alex about local attractions and especially the local restaurants. As regular visitors to Amsterdam we shall definitely be renting this apartment again in the future!

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Being able to relax for a few days in comfortable surroundings
Liked least: hard to find a fault......
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$147
/
Night
Week
Book this property
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
Owner
Nurit K
31 6 18191625
Speaks English, Dutch
Listed since : Oct 2012
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 8 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing