We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mrs” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Isis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Isis to your Saves list
Hotel Isis
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Spreeuwenpark 17, 1021 GS Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #213 of 307 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just one member of staff was profesional and provide good service, the rest were unpleasant to deal with and didnt like to help. Rooms were dirty, tv didnt work and they didnt fix it in four days we were there. No much heating and very noisy. The good point is that there is a small shop beside the hotel selling amaizing fresh fruit, mangoes were yummy and cheap!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    15
    10
    14
See reviews for
8
31
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Excellent location about 10 mins north of Amsterdam Central Station via frequent free ferry, in a mainly residential area. Clean, comfortable and mostly quiet; we had two excellent nights there. The third was a bit disrupted by inconsiderate fellow guests. Helpful staff. Good breakfast place (bakery) and good Turkish restaurant very close. The hotel facilities are a bit basic and the stairs to the upper rooms are a bit steep, but overall this is a good hotel, one we'd be happy to return to.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Only about 10 Minutes walk to the ferry. From there another 10 Minutes to Downtown.
Friendly Staff, clean and quiet Rooms. Coffeshop, Supermarket and a really good Nepali Restaurant around the corner.
We come back again.......

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Located a short ferry ride (free) from Central Train station, this hotel offers reasonably priced rooms in a small hotel setting. The area is remarkably quiet, the hotel is clean, although the walls could use a magic eraser to remove finger prints....
Friendly front desk staff. Rooms are on the small side although the bathroom was spacious. No place to hang your clothes in the room , could use some hooks or a rack. High ceilings with large windows, so not dark at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and I wont go back

Cons:
- no private parking, dont go, like we did, with a brand new car, this neigborhood is not the best
- first morning there was no hot water for shower, not even warm one
- furniture is really old and dusty
- you cant really open the windows
- no breakfast available

Pros:
- Guys from the reception are nice
- the bed was comfortable
- 5 min walk to the ferry

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgin Gorda
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel was a better price because it was actually across the river, behind the train station, as opposed to being in the main part of town, in front of the station. But in actuality, the ferry only takes about five minutes, runs about every 5 to 7 minutes and is fun. The walk from the ferry is about 5 minutes, too. So it is probably closer to all the action than some of the other hotels on the same side of the river as the station that are charging much more.
The staff was friendly and accommodating. Put us in an upper, back room away from the noise of the street. Held our bags while we went out and explored because the room wasn't ready. We were only there 2 days, so spent little time actually in the room, but had everything we needed. The shower was strong and the bathroom big.
We would go back and stay at the Isis Hotel if ever in Amsterdam again.

Room Tip: There is a neighborhood bar right below, so ask for a room up higher and in the back if you have sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosta, Malta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Hotel Isis is situated in North Amsterdam. Just a five minute walk from the free ferry service, will get you in the heart of the city. The surroundings are quiet and family oriented. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The rooms are clean. I would definitely return to this hotel. I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be close to the heart of the city but appreciates to lodge in a quiet area. Suitable for solo, couple and/or family and groups.

Room Tip: I scored Fitness centre and swimming pool as average since I am not aware that the hotel have these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Isis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isis

Address: Spreeuwenpark 17, 1021 GS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Isis 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Isis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Isis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.