We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely recommended!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Isis

Save Saved
You added Hotel Isis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Isis
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Spreeuwenpark 17, Amsterdam 1021 GS, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #188 of 297 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Definitely recommended!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Excellent location about 10 mins north of Amsterdam Central Station via frequent free ferry, in a mainly residential area. Clean, comfortable and mostly quiet; we had two excellent nights there. The third was a bit disrupted by inconsiderate fellow guests. Helpful staff. Good breakfast place (bakery) and good Turkish restaurant very close. The hotel facilities are a bit basic and the stairs to the upper rooms are a bit steep, but overall this is a good hotel, one we'd be happy to return to.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    9
    8
    7
See reviews for
5
21
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Only about 10 Minutes walk to the ferry. From there another 10 Minutes to Downtown.
Friendly Staff, clean and quiet Rooms. Coffeshop, Supermarket and a really good Nepali Restaurant around the corner.
We come back again.......

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Located a short ferry ride (free) from Central Train station, this hotel offers reasonably priced rooms in a small hotel setting. The area is remarkably quiet, the hotel is clean, although the walls could use a magic eraser to remove finger prints....
Friendly front desk staff. Rooms are on the small side although the bathroom was spacious. No place to hang your clothes in the room , could use some hooks or a rack. High ceilings with large windows, so not dark at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and I wont go back

Cons:
- no private parking, dont go, like we did, with a brand new car, this neigborhood is not the best
- first morning there was no hot water for shower, not even warm one
- furniture is really old and dusty
- you cant really open the windows
- no breakfast available

Pros:
- Guys from the reception are nice
- the bed was comfortable
- 5 min walk to the ferry

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgin Gorda
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel was a better price because it was actually across the river, behind the train station, as opposed to being in the main part of town, in front of the station. But in actuality, the ferry only takes about five minutes, runs about every 5 to 7 minutes and is fun. The walk from the ferry is about 5 minutes, too. So it is probably closer to all the action than some of the other hotels on the same side of the river as the station that are charging much more.
The staff was friendly and accommodating. Put us in an upper, back room away from the noise of the street. Held our bags while we went out and explored because the room wasn't ready. We were only there 2 days, so spent little time actually in the room, but had everything we needed. The shower was strong and the bathroom big.
We would go back and stay at the Isis Hotel if ever in Amsterdam again.

Room Tip: There is a neighborhood bar right below, so ask for a room up higher and in the back if you have sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosta, Malta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Hotel Isis is situated in North Amsterdam. Just a five minute walk from the free ferry service, will get you in the heart of the city. The surroundings are quiet and family oriented. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The rooms are clean. I would definitely return to this hotel. I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be close to the heart of the city but appreciates to lodge in a quiet area. Suitable for solo, couple and/or family and groups.

Room Tip: I scored Fitness centre and swimming pool as average since I am not aware that the hotel have these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We mainly choose this hotel for the price.
The location is nord amsterdam, that means that to go to the centre you have to go by ferry.
Quiet area, there is nothing but houses nearby.
Room are clean.
Staff is the farest thing from the "customer service" concept.
Windows do not open, due to lack of maintenance. no hair soap, just body one. towels are for babies, not adult.
Surprise! no room cleaning. the way you leave your room in the morning, is the exact way you will find when back.
The description says "public parking available". It is true. Unfortunately I reported the car glass breaking from a thief during overnight recovery. Then I discovered from the policeman that this is a high dangerous area for parking.
This was not reported in the description. Hope that the staff will remove that "facility".
A lot of money lost thanks to their recommendation. Be aware!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Been to Hotel Isis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isis

Address: Spreeuwenpark 17, Amsterdam 1021 GS, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 297 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Isis 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsNL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Isis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Isis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.