We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont expect much” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Isis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Isis to your Saves list
Hotel Isis
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Spreeuwenpark 17, 1021 GS Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #215 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“dont expect much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and I wont go back

Cons:
- no private parking, dont go, like we did, with a brand new car, this neigborhood is not the best
- first morning there was no hot water for shower, not even warm one
- furniture is really old and dusty
- you cant really open the windows
- no breakfast available

Pros:
- Guys from the reception are nice
- the bed was comfortable
- 5 min walk to the ferry

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    16
    10
    14
See reviews for
8
32
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virgin Gorda
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel was a better price because it was actually across the river, behind the train station, as opposed to being in the main part of town, in front of the station. But in actuality, the ferry only takes about five minutes, runs about every 5 to 7 minutes and is fun. The walk from the ferry is about 5 minutes, too. So it is probably closer to all the action than some of the other hotels on the same side of the river as the station that are charging much more.
The staff was friendly and accommodating. Put us in an upper, back room away from the noise of the street. Held our bags while we went out and explored because the room wasn't ready. We were only there 2 days, so spent little time actually in the room, but had everything we needed. The shower was strong and the bathroom big.
We would go back and stay at the Isis Hotel if ever in Amsterdam again.

Room Tip: There is a neighborhood bar right below, so ask for a room up higher and in the back if you have sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosta, Malta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Hotel Isis is situated in North Amsterdam. Just a five minute walk from the free ferry service, will get you in the heart of the city. The surroundings are quiet and family oriented. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The rooms are clean. I would definitely return to this hotel. I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be close to the heart of the city but appreciates to lodge in a quiet area. Suitable for solo, couple and/or family and groups.

Room Tip: I scored Fitness centre and swimming pool as average since I am not aware that the hotel have these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We mainly choose this hotel for the price.
The location is nord amsterdam, that means that to go to the centre you have to go by ferry.
Quiet area, there is nothing but houses nearby.
Room are clean.
Staff is the farest thing from the "customer service" concept.
Windows do not open, due to lack of maintenance. no hair soap, just body one. towels are for babies, not adult.
Surprise! no room cleaning. the way you leave your room in the morning, is the exact way you will find when back.
The description says "public parking available". It is true. Unfortunately I reported the car glass breaking from a thief during overnight recovery. Then I discovered from the policeman that this is a high dangerous area for parking.
This was not reported in the description. Hope that the staff will remove that "facility".
A lot of money lost thanks to their recommendation. Be aware!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

After reading numerous reviews about this hotel we gave it a try, considring the price and location in Amsterdam that was a good offer. However the bed wasnt double - twin one, no one told us they have changed this option. As the room was just behind the entrance - we heard noise coming from upstairs when guests were climbing the stairs. The TV option requires a deposit 10eur, no air conditioning, old furniture and wifi was veeery bad... overall we gave 2 stars as we had experience in such quality hotels and it was much more pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was the first hotel as we started our Europe trip, and we were certainly not disappointed. The location, especially, is perfect. It is across the river from the Centraal, and a 5 minutes walk from the docks. It is amazing how the atmosphere becomes so calm and peaceful just 5 minutes away from the ever-busy Dam Street. From the Centraal station, you need to take a 5-minutes ride in a free ferry across to the IJPlein and a 5-minutes walk from there.

The location was nice, with a park in the opposite. There were a couple of eateries and bakeries, and a supermarket around for anything you might need. 10 minutes away from the hotel is a large supermarket. The manager was a cheerful person, and was very helpful with the questions we had.

The room was clean and comfortable, and the bathroom had a nice shower. It was definitely worth the price we paid. Free wifi was a bonus. The only thing to remember is, things close down pretty early in this side of the river, and you may not get anything to eat after 10pm.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Nice clean hotel, basic but everything you need for a short stay. Fridge in room stocked with a few drinks and everything spotless if a little dated. Very good location, five minute walk to free ferry just behind Central Station, perfect away from the busy areas. Keep in mind slightly longer walk if returning to hotel after midnight, but still not to far, maybe 15min walk.

Only complaint was I had requested a double room but we had twin beds.

Overall would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Isis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isis

Address: Spreeuwenpark 17, 1021 GS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Isis 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Isis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Isis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.