We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what was expected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Isis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Isis to your Saves list
Hotel Isis
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Spreeuwenpark 17, 1021 GS Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #214 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Riga, Latvia
1 review
“Not what was expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

After reading numerous reviews about this hotel we gave it a try, considring the price and location in Amsterdam that was a good offer. However the bed wasnt double - twin one, no one told us they have changed this option. As the room was just behind the entrance - we heard noise coming from upstairs when guests were climbing the stairs. The TV option requires a deposit 10eur, no air conditioning, old furniture and wifi was veeery bad... overall we gave 2 stars as we had experience in such quality hotels and it was much more pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    16
    10
    14
See reviews for
8
32
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was the first hotel as we started our Europe trip, and we were certainly not disappointed. The location, especially, is perfect. It is across the river from the Centraal, and a 5 minutes walk from the docks. It is amazing how the atmosphere becomes so calm and peaceful just 5 minutes away from the ever-busy Dam Street. From the Centraal station, you need to take a 5-minutes ride in a free ferry across to the IJPlein and a 5-minutes walk from there.

The location was nice, with a park in the opposite. There were a couple of eateries and bakeries, and a supermarket around for anything you might need. 10 minutes away from the hotel is a large supermarket. The manager was a cheerful person, and was very helpful with the questions we had.

The room was clean and comfortable, and the bathroom had a nice shower. It was definitely worth the price we paid. Free wifi was a bonus. The only thing to remember is, things close down pretty early in this side of the river, and you may not get anything to eat after 10pm.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Nice clean hotel, basic but everything you need for a short stay. Fridge in room stocked with a few drinks and everything spotless if a little dated. Very good location, five minute walk to free ferry just behind Central Station, perfect away from the busy areas. Keep in mind slightly longer walk if returning to hotel after midnight, but still not to far, maybe 15min walk.

Only complaint was I had requested a double room but we had twin beds.

Overall would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The manager is very nice and helpful. The room, which I have rented, had a bathroom and clean. The only problem is the lack of breakfast in the hotel.
There is a bakery, a small supermarket, and a Turkish restaurant near the hotel, in the same street. Late at nights of the weekend, a lot noise from some people on the street was heard.
The path to the Amsterdam Centraal main station takes about 15 min, including a walk to the IJplein station and then taking the (cost-free) IJplein ferry.
The area, in general, is calm.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Friendly staff, clean quiet rooms and easy access to the free city ferry made this a good value place to stay.
Our only disappointment was that we had to park our car about half a kilometre away in a residential area.

Room Tip: Smokers should ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

A quiet hotel across the river from the bustle of the city. A free ferry is only a 5 minute walk away to take you across the river. Staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful with directions etc.
Rooms are of a 2 star standard, clean but could do with an update. Beware of the steep stairs (no lift). We paid for breakfast one morning which was the most bizarre experience and food (you have to go to the Turkish restaurant on the corner).
Overall a good hotel, good location and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Twin rooms bigger then double, some have balconies Avoid paying for breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halls Creek, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Isis is good value clean quiet and away from the bustle of Centraal in Amsterdam's Turkish district. Good food shops - bread Turkish pizza fresh fruit. Post office over road good supermarket 200 metres away. Bed is comfortable and I can open window. Recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Isis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isis

Address: Spreeuwenpark 17, 1021 GS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Isis 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Isis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Isis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.