We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real Spanish restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olivar Restaurante Bar & Tapas

Olivar Restaurante Bar & Tapas
Oudezijds Voorburgwal 10, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+3120 3307052
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,322 of 2,244 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: We are a small exclusive restaurant with a southern European oriented kitchen. Our menu offers a select choice of traditional Spanish dishes and creations inspired by the Mediterranean cuisine. Our chefs are dedicated to prepare for our guests the best dishes with the finest ingredients.The restaurant is decorated in the southern Spanish style with original tiles and a long marble bar where you can enjoy our extensive wine list, have a meal or if you have not booked, have a drink while waiting for a table.For a snack and a drink you can also sit on the terace. In the summer you can enjoy watching the boats taking turns to sail through the narrow gate towards the open water or to the canals of the oldest and most beautiful part of Amsterdam.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A real Spanish restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We ate at this Restaurant expecting the usual Spanish restaurant in the Nederlands: Spanish food adapted to the Dutch cousine, cooked by anyone but a Spanish chef... But this was not the case! We were surprised of the high quality of the food, and that a professional Spanish chef cooked for us!!
The food was great and the atmosphere was so relaxing, we didn't even want to leave. Finally I had my cocido madrileño, and not a stampot with chorizo on it. And for dessert: muerte por chocolate. The name says it all, never saw so much chocolate put together on a single plate.
The staff was friendly, when I asked that I couldn't have a lot of salt on my dishes they communicated so to the chef immediately. Also when we were leaving, they thanked us for our visit (this never happened to me before!).
Certainly coming back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    14
    9
    6
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not the worst Spanish food we've ever had, but close”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We decided to give this restaurant a go because tapas is one of our favourites and it looked nice from the outside - but that was the high point of our visit.

There were five customers when we arrived (two of whom were about to leave) and when the waitress eventually took our order she apologized for the slow service but said it was due to how busy they were.

We ordered a bottle of wine and asked for some tap water but were told she wasn’t allowed to serve tap water - presumably because they prefer to sell mineral water at six euros a bottle. This is the only restaurant we’ve been to that’s refused to serve customers tap water - that spoke volumes and we should have left then.

When our tapas dishes arrived they were the smallest portions we’ve ever seen, which was ridiculous considering the price of the food. Luckily the minuscule portions turned out to be a blessing as the food wasn’t very good: not the worst Spanish food we’ve ever had but close.

Although we’ve visited our share of poor and disappointing restaurants, this is the first time I’ve felt aggrieved enough about one to join Trip Advisor specifically to warn others about it. If you enjoy your food and eating out, do yourself a favour and give Olivar a miss.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Drink a Bottle of Alabariño and... leave.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We went to this restaurant and tapas bar because of its lovely location on the canal, because it looked nice and because we like tapas. There was only ONE other table occupied and "Olivar" remained like that all the time we were there. Hmmm!
We started by ordering a bottle of Albariño. The nice trilingual waiter told us it was €43 ( even though he saw we can read) and we said it was OK because it's not everyday that one finds Albariño in a wine-chart anyplace. Then we asked for the Complete Selection of Tapas for two. They were very cold, looked mushy, tasted just salty and they didn't include 'tortilla' although the description on the menu said they did. A girl looking tired of life -who seemed to be replacing the nice original waiter- told us we could order tortilla on the side. A tapa side dishing tapas? Hmmm! As tapas go they were very bad with or without tortilla. So we ordered some fish "Navarra style", which is foolproof and only takes raw ham, olive oil and lemon juice. It came in a soup dish because it looked like fish soup, had no ham whatsoever and tasted... salty. Although the place was empty it took forever to prepare till I told the 'tired girl' we were hungry and she sent the original waiter (who had not died, reported sick or anything) to tell us that dish took 25 minutes to prepare. I can prepare it myself in 10. We were at the end of the meal, it was late, and we were still hungry so we ordered "Death by Chocolate" that you put together rapidly. The cook (who we could see from our table) did it fast and called the girl who was trying to lite a candle and didn't pay attention. The cook insisted a couple of times and then called the original waiter who came to give the 'candle girl' what appeared to be a piece of his mind. The girl came to the table with the "Deaths" and I asked her in Spanish if she had been successful in lighting the candle to which she mumbled something I didn`t understand. We finished the meal and the bottle of Albariño (we refused to abandon it to that kind of company) and asked for the check. The 'candle girl' brought it on a small tray with 2 pieces of candy and 2 "Olivar" cards. My husband (who is a very tranquil person) got up, and ignoring the candy and cards put down the exact cash in the tray, took it to the register and we left. No farewell, no tip, no leftover Albariño. I read, too late, that "tapas" in Asmterdam very seldom have anything to do with "Spanish tapas". The 'tapa places' count on tourists (or Amsterdamers) to know little or nothing about tapas and they throw anything at you. We found a restaurant for excellent Spanish food later on, but we didn't risk ordering 'tapas'. More about it will be another review. Two sincere pieces of advice that I hope and pray you'll follow: if you can find it, drink delicious Albariño at least once in your lives, and... avoid the bad food and nil 'service' at "Olivar".

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Ok but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Ate here once for dinner during our stay.service was excellent, food was nice but seemed highly overpriced for what it was, possibly because its situated at the end of the red light district, would recommend for at least one visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Came across this placer by chance and had one of the best meals ever. It is situated at the end of the red light district, just behind the busy main bars and restaurants, facing a quiet canal. It is small only 18 seats but clean, well decorated and clean toilets. It is run by a lovely young couple with an excellent chef and waitress. The food is tapas or a la carte including hake, sea bass and streak. We ate the tapas, beautiful croquettes of ham and potato, prawns in garlic, spainish omelette, which was like a souflee and egg plant and mushroom towers. The food was just short of a Michelin star. The wine selection is very good and the service excellent. The first time we saw it it was totally booked but we went back the next day early and it was great. Dinners only and well worthwhile booking or chancing during the week for an early supper.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olivar Restaurante Bar & Tapas also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to Olivar Restaurante Bar & Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olivar Restaurante Bar & Tapas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.