We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food but very kind people and nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Phutakun

Thai Phutakun
Reguliersdwarsstraat 11, 1017 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
20 4281887
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 2,244 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average food but very kind people and nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

People very kind and good atmosphere, being a small and quite cosy place. The food was not impressive, in particular any fish soup was really average (fish and squid did taste like nothing). I gave "very good" because of value to money (16 Eu/pp).

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    52
    28
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We had thirty three, fifty and shared twelve. There were all excellent. Authentic. Friendly staff. Great location. Cosy inside. Highly recommded. Thank me later!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

This recommended to us by friends whilst we were travelling in Amsterdam and we weren't disappointed.

It's a tiny little restaurant, crammed full of tables, but that wasn't off putting. Our waiter was attentive & helpful & the overall service was prompt & thoughtful.

The food is delicious & well priced. We had the Thai green and red curries which were both packed full of flavour. They also give you extra chillis if you want to add some extra spice.

I'd definitely recommend if you're looking for a no frills, well priced meal in the middle of Amsterdam.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic quality Thai food at a very reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Went here based on trip advisor reviews. The meal was perfect and quite honestly far too cheap for what it was. Fresh tasting perfect quality Thai food. The resturant is very small and there's not much space but don't let that put you off. It feels cosy and homely. The service was excellent.
I will definitely be back if I am ever in Amsterdam.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A little Thai gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We visited while spending a short weekend in Amsterdam and the food, service, and value for money were all excellent.

We have been to Thailand and very much ejoyed the local cuisine and this restaurant is the closest we have found outside of Thailand to recreate those lovely distinct flavors.

The restaurant is cosy and has a great atmosphere. The kitchen is in full view and you know by the great thai smells, cooking style and menu that you are somewhere
authentic.

Don't miss out and visit this place whether you are a tourist or resident to the city.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Phutakun also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to Thai Phutakun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Phutakun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.