We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic little restaurant, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Phutakun

Thai Phutakun
Reguliersdwarsstraat 11, 1017 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))
20 4281887
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 2,533 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic little restaurant, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I have been here several times and there are two things that make this little Thai restaurant special.

The first is, obviously, the food. It tastes delicious, authentic and fresh. Everything is prepared by two lovely Thai ladies who clearly know their way around the kitchen.

The second great thing is the service. The people who work here are very friendly and are happy to cater to your personal preferences (in terms of spicyness etc). If you eat here, you can be sure you'll be well looked after.

It's only a tiny place, so making a reservation might be wise, but they also have a take-away menu. Prices are reasonable and the location is perfect. I have no trouble recommending this place to anyone who likes good food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    54
    11
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious, reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The food here was very good and I was pleasantly surprised by the prices. I enjoyed a nice change from cooking and eating european food. Not spicy enough for me but I should have asked them to make it spicy. If you want a change from all the stroopwafels and albert heijn munchies, I would definitely make a trip here!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

True Thai food, true Thai hospitality, true Thai price (for Amsterdam that is ;-)
Very central location, great starting point for a nights out.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
119 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Authentic and full of flavour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

On a family weekend in Amsterdam we fancied a bit of spice and heat. We we were not disappointed when we booked an evening meal at Thai Phutakun. Typically enchanting Thai service, good atmosphere and lovely food. Thai restaurants often struggle with wines, and Thai P only had one choice for one Red, White and Rose, but both the Red and the White French wines complemented the dishes beautifully. The traditional Thai green and red curries were very hot, but the Beef and fired garlic was aromatic and delicious, as was the prawn and fried garlic dish. Highly recommended.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Level Contributor
240 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Small restaurant with good Thai food, on a central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

My husband and I tried this small restaurant on the evening of december 5th 2013.
We were greeted by a very friendly Dutch owner who served us very quickly, and was also very kind to look up some information for us before we left.

The restaurant is very small and has maybe 8 or 10 tables tops, but it is very cosy.

You can see the Thai staff preparing the food in the half-open kitchen in the back. The different dishes are prepaired with the traditional Thai spices, but the level of spiciness can be adjusted according to your wishes.

The restaurant is located +/- 70 meter around the corner of the tram stop "Koningsplein" .

We enjoyed our dinner here and we can recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Phutakun also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Thai Phutakun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Phutakun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.