We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Thai food in a city dominated by steak!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Phutakun

Thai Phutakun
Reguliersdwarsstraat 11, 1017 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))
20 4281887
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 2,584 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Quality Thai food in a city dominated by steak!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Some friends and I visited here based on this restaurant's ranking as the best Thai place in Amsterdam and based on the quality of the food and the friendly service it's hard to disagree. I won't write a lengthy review for this restaurant as it's very simple to summarise....

1) All our food tasted great
2) The service was excellent
3) There are actual Thai people in the kitchen

'nuff said. Go try it sometime.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    57
    13
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

very good food and nice atmosphere! small and simple but good fast service and great food!also for vegetarian like me!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food full of flavour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Great food and service,guy that owns it is lovely and friendly gives you advice on your choices. It's traditional and all about the food and service very very nice extremely tasty
and full of flavour and we will return on our next visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Food ok, service slow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Went based on Trip Advisor ranking and reviews. Food ok - main dish was nice with good level of spicy but fish cakes were very oily. Service was very slow.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Thai in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This is the best Thai in Amsterdam and great service for Dutch standards. I was impressed. The food taste really original and delicious. Nice good portions kept warm by tea light candles. I highly recommend it and will return again and again and again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Phutakun also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Thai Phutakun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Phutakun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.