We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Phutakun

Thai Phutakun
Reguliersdwarsstraat 11, Amsterdam 1017 BJ, The Netherlands
20 4281887
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 2,229 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Rotterdam
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great food...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Reviews are indeed correct! This restaurant is definitely a place to go if you're looking for good Thai food at an affordable price. It's small place so you may have to wait or can book via a phone call. Staff is very friendly. We shared starters and the 5 of us had different main courses. My green curry beef was perfect and others also enjoyed their main courses (fish and chicken).

No much choice for wines and deserts.
Their red house wine was good.

All in all, we had great Thai food fr good price and good atmosphere... Next time I'm in Amsterdam I'll most probably come back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    51
    27
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Trust the positive reviews. I did and I was thrilled. I eat Thai food often all around the world so I know the cuisine well and this IS a great wee Thai restaurant!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bielefeld, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We've been here after a not so good experience with a pakistani restaurant. The pakistani was mentioned in Lonely Planet. We will never follow Lonely Planet Tipps again. So we decided to give Tripadvisor a chance. And... YAY!!! It was a pretty good decision. :) We will surely eat there again

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, UK
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant. is well worth a visit. Its has a good atmosphere and a friendly atmosphere. The food is fantastic. There were 4 of us we had starters and mains. Several drinks total bill was €103 would definitely visit there again.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“No nonsense Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Small restaurant, not fancy at all, but if you want to have a a good Thai curry, no long dining, this is a good place to go. A main course is 10-16 EUR. We shared a starter (sate), had a 2 shrimp and 1 green curry, a beer, 2 wine, 2 coke. 65 EUR.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Phutakun also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Thai Phutakun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Phutakun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.