We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, staff let it down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Polo

Marco Polo
Damrak 31, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,566 of 2,245 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Good food, staff let it down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Went in yesterday for early lunch.
I had a Proscuttio Pizza which was very good- decent size and well cooked, and while a little on the expensive side, it was typical of the 'touristy' part of town! Also had a chocolate tartufo (ice cream which was fine, but that definitely was overpriced.
Coffee was nice but tiny!
The staff are thoroughly uninterested and inhospitable- whilst they aren't rude as such, they certainly don't aim to please!
Probably wouldn't go back as I'd rather try other restaurants in the area, but I wouldn't avoid it- the food is good, even if the service isn't!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

58% Recommend
    6
    9
    4
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Prompt friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Reasonably priced food served promptly and with good service. Ideally located and good variety of food and portion sizes.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good, cheap food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Quick service, nothing exceptional with the food it did the trick. Restaurant is located on the very busy road from Amsterdam Centraal but inside its relatively quiet

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good coffee, a really good late breakfast, great people watching spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We wanted to be sure we knew where we needed to be for our Lindberg tour, at 26 Damrak, before we ate that morning. As we passed, one of the restaurant employees was encouraging people to look at the menu. It was just what we were looking for. The coffee was good, and the breakfast very satisfying. Prices were reasonable, and the employees friendly. We enjoyed watching the constant stream of travelers and other tourists on the sidewalk, since it is close to the Central Station. This restaurant is also called Pizzeria Marco Polo, btw. I definitely would go back to this restaurant fo another meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pieta, Malta
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Rude cashier”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Went there with friends for lunch. Food was good and service was ok. When we went to pay the bill we were dividing it amongst us, when the cashier tried to pull the money from my hand and i told him we were not finished from dividing the bill. He moaned that he was busy and tried to take money out of my hands. This is unacceptable behaviour!!! The only reason I am giving this place 2 star and not one star is that the food was good and that it was one person who ruined the experience at the end.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marco Polo also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Marco Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Polo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.