We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Saint Morris Argentijns Restaurant

Saint Morris Argentijns Restaurant
Oudezijds Voorburgwal 163 | 1012 ET, 1012 ET Amsterdam, The Netherlands
(020)4227313
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #782 of 2,287 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Argentinean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Cortona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

After a walking around with few friends, we went there for a quick dinner. All of us were wine producer so we kindly ask to drink the wines we brought with us and the owner was very gently in letting us to do so. The service is fin sand the food is of good quality. You can choose the steak size from 200 gr. to 400 gr. and the lady who served us was really gentle and proactive. Good place for a nice and quick dinner on the canal of Amsterdam.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    24
    12
    5
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“cozy find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We were walking back from the Red light / Chinatown area and happened to see this cute restaurant with outdoor seating. The host was able to let us know a table canal side was available as a couple of paying/leaving. The steak and the ribs were delicious and sitting out in the sunshine along the canal was added bonus.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Good value, friendly atmosphere and very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I actually stumbled across the Saint Morris as I was walking and taking pictures one Sunday afternoon. there are many places to eat in Amsterdam and this one had a friendly character outside explaining how good his steaks were and to come inside to try one. It is quite small and you walk down a couple of steps into a cosy and friendly area at the end of which is a bar. There is an upstairs but as it was late afternoon and just before most were looking to eat they were only using the downstairs.

Although they had a number of specila offers I had a 300g rump steak that was cooked exactly as I asked for, with a side of fries and a filtered coffee the bill came to around 23 euro's which for the quality and quantity I thought was excellent value.

Good value, friendly atmosphere and very good food, I would have no hesitation in recommending the Saint Morris. I actually returned the following day, and was recognised and given a drink on the house which I thought was a nice touch and something not every place does.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and amazing steaks!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We decided to eat here on our first night in Amsterdam after spotting it strutting out from the side walk and on to the shoreline of the canal. Being our first time in the city and wanting somewhere with a decent view of the famous canals this seemed to fit the bill nicely. Also as it was a nice warm evening the outside seating made a pleasant environment from which to dine!

If your not used to it being hustled in from the street as you pass by can be off putting, but is a common tactic in a lot of European restaurants, especially those catering to the tourist market, so don't be to to surprised if you find your self ordering drinks facing menus before you even realize you asked to be seated.

Once you are seated things move quickly and the service brisk but with a smile. The menu choices are simple and a mostly meat based affair although some vegi options were on offer they were simple and not inspiring. We all opted for steaks and were asked how we would like them cooked and also what size we would like,, the reason for the later being that they had 4 different sizes on all steaks ranging from 200g to over 500g! Prices varied depending on the size and also cut but averaged out around €16 for a basic steak up to €25 for the larger more special cuts!

Be aware though that unless you are ordering from the grill menu you will have to add sides and extras to your meal as the only thing included with the steaks is a simple salad that is mostly lettuce. These extras range in price from from €3 for chips to €6 for vegetables!

The food overall was fine and arrived swiftly and hot! Portion size was average although the salad was mostly bland and uninspiring. The steaks themselves were cooked to perfection and the sides that we had ordered sufficed for the three of us, even if the veg was obviously from a frozen packet.

Service was mixed at this point in the meal with the efficient service giving way to a more relaxed and slightly bemused way of serving, yet no faults were experienced and despite being forgotten about for a moments we were treated very well and were not pressured into buying anything more than we actually wanted. Which considering the lacklusture dessert menu was a good thing.

Despite the odd one or two problems we had a very nice and pleasant meal here which was only let down by the slightly high prices which for what we had were unjustified.

Highlights and plus points:

Excellent location
Good if not mixed service
Excellent steaks
Simple and easy menu in dual language
Helpful staff
Comfy seats
Indoor an outdoor seating

Negative points:

High prices
Uninspiring salad and vegetables
Sides need to be purchased as an extra

Overall this was a good experience and i would recommend it to anyone who wanted a good steak. But based on the high price and disappointing sides i can only give it three stars!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

This is a good resturant with very friendly staff and a good atmosphere. I had artentian steak which was done prefectly as i like it which is very well done, i know this is not the best way to eat steak but thats how i like it. It was delicious and i would come here again with out a doubt

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Saint Morris Argentijns Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Saint Morris Argentijns Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint Morris Argentijns Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.