We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This restaurant deserves your visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Senses Restaurant

Senses Restaurant
Vijzelstraat 45, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))
+31 20 530 6266
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 2,768 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $20 - $37
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Senses restaurant prepares unconventional and creative food art in the open kitchen. Using the best available organic and sustainable ingredients. Let all of your senses tickle by choosing the surprise menu! That starts from 3 courses. Tell us what you do not like to avoid disappointment and of course our chef will take your special dietary wishes or allergies into account. Also possible to choose the wine pairing, if you want to complete your Senses experience. Located in the vibrant area of Amsterdam, 'Senses restaurant' is just minutes away from the Rembrandt square and the art deco Tuschinski cinema.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
353 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“This restaurant deserves your visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Relaxing atmosphere, great staff and the chef are doing an excellent job on the preparation and how the food is displayed on your 'plate'. If you are a visitor or live in Amsterdam this place deserves your visit... If nothing else just to check it out.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travelalot724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Eating at Senses is a great gastronomic experience. The tasting menu is excellent with many if the dishes having elements if molecular gastronomy. The service is great. And they were very accomodating in offering a vegetarian menu. It is necessary to book in advance as it is very popular.

Helpful?
Thank Lionel B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We chose the 3 course surprise menu paired with the 3 recommended wines (44€ and 19€) and we can't speak highly enough. The entree was beatiful (a deconstructed salad) with a lovely matching Chardonnay. The main was beef matched with a lively rd,and the desert was a trio. Be brave and go with the surprise menu - tell the chef what you don't like and let them go wild. The service is excellent and very attentive (and in comparison to Paris very positive and full of smiles). The only criticism we had was that although the food was great we didn't get the 'sense' marketing of the restaurant. Besides taste and sight, the others were not really covered. Minor point though! Definitely go - it's only a short walk from the central city.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Jewel of a Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

A friend stayed at the Albus Hotel in Amsterdam and suggested that we try the restaurant there - Senses. A small, funky place not far from the central train station. We tried it last week while in Amsterdam and really enjoyed it. Fun staff and great food. Reservations were easy on their website as well. Would definitely like to visit again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blasoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A challenge of the senses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Last night I went for a romantic dinner with my boyfriend for a 5 course meal and I was pleasantly surprised at the chef's choice and combination of tastes and how beautifully they were presented on the plate. However the experience would not have been as pleasant and romantic without the attentive and friendly service of the staff; they were professional and made sure nothing was short of perfect. To top it off, with each plate we were presented with a glass of wine that complimented it, and it made our experience all the more special. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who asked.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Senses Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Senses Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing