We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for veggies” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Senses Restaurant

Senses Restaurant
Vijzelstraat 45, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 530 6266
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 2,460 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $25
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Senses restaurant prepares unconventional and creative food art. Where possible we make use of the best organic and sustainable ingredients to tickle all your Senses! Let us tickle all of your senses with one of our Senses surprise menus! Tell us what you do not like to avoid disappointment and of course our chef will take your special dietary wishes or allergies into account. Located in the vibrant area of Amsterdam, 'Senses restaurant' is just minutes away from the Rembrandt square and the art deco Tuschinski cinema.
Pennines
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Not for veggies”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The menu looks so promising but the stench from the open kitchen of meat being cooked is dreadful. We had to move into the lobby of the hotel to eat as the smell was so bad.
I was assured the beetroot risotto was vegetarian, which maybe it was but virtually inedible. This is a dish that I love cooking (using Dennis Cotters recipe) and it should be a vibrant dish full of earthy flavours. This was full of cream , looked awful and tasteless. My husband who is pescetarian had scallops, again tasteless except for the meat juices that must have been already on the griddle. His main fish dish he said was ok but not good and certainly not worth the money.
I think even if you are a meat eater I would suggest you steer clear - there is plenty of choice in Amsterdam. My regret is we chose this one.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albushotel, Owner at Senses Restaurant, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hello precious guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback. I am very sorry to read that your dinner in Senses restaurant has not been to your satisfaction.

Senses restaurant is not a vegetarian restaurant, however we always like to spoil our vegetarian guests as much as our pescetarians and meat lovers. Our chef is always willing to make something special of the menu or adjust his dishes to your wishes. We consider our open kitchen as a benefit since our guests can see our chefs in action working on their meals. And most guests do like the fragances of freshly prepared food coming from the kitchen.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy our recipe nor presentation of beetroot risotto with parsnip and French toast of goat cheese. As you may have read in other reviews on this website, we are often complimented on the looks and taste of our dishes. Therefore I wish you had informed us about your disapointment during the evening so we could have changed it for something more to your liking. Nevertheless I am going to investigate what went wrong with your risotto.

We aim to let all our guest feel satisfied at the end of the evening and therefore I would like to contact you personally about a suitable solution. Please, e-mail me directly on Lisa@albushotel.com.

With kind regards,

Lisa Jurgens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    107
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Estero, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tast it and love it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We went with friends of ours with a "groupon offer" , had a 7 course tasting menu , one better then the other one, fresh ingredients, well cooked, not overcooked, crispy veggies.
Beside it also a very nice wine card with some biological wines on it.
And all this with a service which you do not find in to many restaurants.
We enjoyed the evening, were the last ones to leave and will definetely return there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Örebro
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best burger ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

On this restaurant i had the best burger I have yet tasted in my life. Definately worth a visit if you are staying in Amsterdam.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Flavourful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Loved my burger. It was gourmet sized but very filling. Liked the atmosphere and the fact that the place is composed by a very ecclectic group, which translates in very interesting dishes.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Small but fab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I had room service and the soup was divine (I was suffering from the flu!) I was surprised how tasty it was.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Senses Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Senses Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Senses Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.