We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilling out with a nice view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CANVAS op de 7e

CANVAS op de 7e
Wibautstraat 150, 1091 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
20 261 2100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,352 of 2,471 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Chilling out with a nice view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I visited the place with colleagues and I was a bit puzzled by the entrance, as I never thought there could be any sort of bar or restaurant in there. When the elevator doors open you find yourself in a quite groovy place with groovy people. We sat on the terrace, where the view is just amazing from the 7th floor. The food was fairly nice and did not take too long compared to the Dutch average. The music in the backgroud was quite weird, sort of Folk, but bearable and not too loud! Pity it's shutting down to leave place to a hotel.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    22
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Hipster place but what a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My sister and I often go here when I visit her in Amsterdam. It is a laid back bar/cafe. We've never been at night, but it seems like a good place to go for a night of dancing.

The outside seating has nice views over Amsterdam. The food is ok, although the apple pie is very sweet. They have heaps of different drinks, although I always miss that they don't have soy milk for your coffee. It seems like a soy milk type of place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Surprisingly nice venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

My wife, daughter and I ate here a couple of times when in Amsterdam. The food was a cut above most of the local fayre and reasonably priced. The 7th floor location gives a great view I'm told but we couldn't see it through the mist not that this detracted from our meals. Limited choice of wine but that is only a minor quibble. If we're back in Amsterdam we will eat here again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“The views are excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Want to spend a night amongst locals? Canvas is your place.
Daytime or nighttime, both are good times to enjoy the expansive views over Amsterdam from this 7th floor restaurant. It has an outdoor terrace.
I recently had a pasta and funghi dish which was very tasty and affordable; friends had the 'lazy ladies fries' which were also excellent.
At night dj's start playing music and party people come in.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good try but not quite there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The super friendly staff can't make up for the unremarkable food.
I hadn't expected semi-cold fries, but the meat dish I had was rather acceptable.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CANVAS op de 7e also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to CANVAS op de 7e? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CANVAS op de 7e, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.