We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great waitresses and lovely food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Romana

Romana
Reguliersdwarsstraat 7, 1017 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
20 341 3710
Improve this listing
Ranked #469 of 2,299 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great waitresses and lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is a small restaurant and stumbled over it by accident. Had a gorgeous Italian meal. We had a problem with deserts as after about 30 minutes of waiting the poor confused waitress went to find out where they'd got to and was told that they'd lost the ticket. We were offered a free drink and the waitress apologized although it wasn't really any ones fault. the puddings were bought out 10 minutes later and were lovely.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    5
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The meals we enjoyed were lovely - all cooked well, the pizza not too doughy and I was certainly stuffed by the end of the night!
There were some communication problems - my friend asked for a latte, and instead got a cold milk, which was rectified by the staff anyway - but I put this down to it being an extraordinarily busy night (Queen's night!) and they were very apologetic and friendly nonetheless.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Brilliant Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant food and fantastic atmosphere. Found this place on our first trip to Amsterdam in 2010 and had to return when we went back. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Perfect Italian food, staff is very friendly. The only restaurant where we stayed for three hours eating and drinking the hole time we were there. Soups, Lasagnas, pasta, mix of cheese, pizza everything is delicious!The only thing is that the restaurant is no longer called Romano, they changed the name couple of days or weeks ago. I think the name is now El Verano.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lviv
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Very nice friendly place. They have best lasagna in the world and very tasty italian house wine. Staff is very friendly and price for food is not high.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romana also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.