We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing sandwiches” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Baton

Cafe Baton
Herengracht corner of Herenstraat, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,024 of 2,444 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

My partner and i really enjoyed this place, the soup of the day was delightful and the sandwiches were great, i would definitely come again :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    14
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
291 helpful votes 291 helpful votes
“Decent lunch stop - but no alcohol...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

It's in a nice location overlooking a canal and the upstairs room where we ate was bright and welcoming. The lunchtime salad/sandwiches/soup etc was fine. Service was a bit erratic - our coffees never arrived. Worth noting that Baton does not sell alcohol. If you want a beer/glass of wine with your food I'd recommend Stout! (very close) as an alternative - and the food is probably a bit better there too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simple lunch outside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Nice seating outside by canal. We had 3 toasted sandwiches and soft drinks for ?28.50 so not exactly cheap but service was quick and good location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Urbana, Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“This has the vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

It was clear a few minutes after being in the restaurant that this is a local favorite and that should be enough to recommend it. It is open for breakfast and lunch and serves great food with fresh ingredients at reasonable prices. My tomato-basil soup was filling and came with a slice of bread spread with tapenade. Had I known that I wouldn't have ordered the Caprese salad pistolet--a very substantial sandwich. Either order would have been sufficient to be my meal. My husband had the Ontbjit Baton, a substantial offering of ham, cheese, hard-boiled egg, several breads, coffee or tea and choice of juice. The service is friendly and attentive but I would not eat here if you are in a hurry. It's not that kind of place. There is great people-watching from the top floor especially since the location is right on Herengracht.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“This is our "stam cafe" hangout, as in Cheers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

A friend and I meet here most Wednesdays for lunch. The wait staff knows us, her by name. They ask about us if we have been away or on vacation. OK, that is the personal side, but we come here because the food is so good, especially the salads, but the sandwiches too, and coffee/cappuchinos are yummy. Only downside is that it gets so crowded and noisy in bad weather when you cannot sit out on the canal-side patio. But if you time it right and get a good window seat upstairs with gorgeous view over the Herengracht canal, noise is forgotten. I have sent many tourists who are wandering the neighborhood looking for great lunch...and I hope they are forever grateful for the tip of the trip...a visit to Baton.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Baton also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe Baton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Baton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.