We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amsterdam, April 2014” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Izakaya

Izakaya
Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
203053090
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #612 of 2,279 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Vicenza, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amsterdam, April 2014”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This restaurant is in the Sir Albert Hotel. It was very crowded but we luckily got a place at their long table. We had exquisitely prepared Japanese food with hints of spices from other cultures. Excellent dishes, but not for the very hungry as the portions are small. Hard to talk across the table as the noise level was very high. Service was great and the wait for the food was minimal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    40
    50
    13
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Pretentious & Rude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Ate here tonight with a friend. Have never met such rude and pretentious staff. We were warned when ordering the drinks that we were not allowed to go outside and drink them or "we would have a problem". Have never been treated so callously by waiting staff. Food was average, most of the dishes we ordered were extremely salty and nothing special, especially for the extortionate price. We had some wine and small dishes, the bill was over 200 Euro! There are many better places in Amsterdam, with much friendlier staff. If you want to show off then go here, if you want to have a good evening out with a great ambience then go somewhere else.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best sushi ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We were staying in the Sir Albert hotel and visited Iakaya on our first night. We opted for the tasting menu which was pricy but very tasty. The sushi was hands down the best we ever had and the pudding was an absolute delight (unusual we find, in Japanese restaurants). Because we booked last minute there was only availability at the bar but this was actually great and I'd recommend it because you can watch them making up all the cocktails. Try not to sit by the door though - you could have a big group of people behind you ordering drinks from the bar which could become noisy. I will say that this was a very expensive meal but the food was good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tasty but little overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

As opposed to staff at Sir Albert Hotel, staff at Izakaya are less attentive and kinda leave you to your own devices.
Got there very late, so only managed to get dessert and a night cap drink. It wasn't very busy anymore therefore I was expecting more attention/faster service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Please Leave!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We've been many times to Izakaya. The place is great and the food is excellent. However, last night we went there to celebrate the birthday of my boyfriend's dad. We arrived a little late, i know that's our own fault, but from the minute we arrived the staff started to push us. We needed to hurry up. They even offered to make the order for us because it would save time...I understand to be told once that the schedule is tight but now they told us this every 10 minutes...when the bottle of campaign was finished the waiter asked us "would you like another one?" we said " yes sure" but then we were told we only had 15 minutes left to drink our bottle? so we decided not too...paying 400 euro for a dinner while being pushed like hell to leave your table is absolutely ridiculous and very rude....think about it....this doesn't really fit the hospitality of a restaurant with this caliber right?

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Izakaya also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Izakaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Izakaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.