We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food - nice bar & music” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Izakaya

Izakaya
Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
203053090
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #643 of 2,251 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food - nice bar & music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We had several bites, mostly by recommendation of the friendly staff. Fried rice with tuna and the lamb skewers were the most memorable.

Madeleines as desert is a real must.

Pricing on the high end of asian cuisine. but all in all worth it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    38
    49
    13
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Hip and delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

From the moment my party of three sat down at the bar to the moment we left our table two hours later, we were witness to very high quality food and very personal service! The fried sticky rice with steak tartar was memorable. We would definitely return!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Worth a visit but check your credit card limit first!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Undoubtedly the food is very good. The spicy peruvian tuna on chips is divine, the green tea lamb fantastic, the shrimps, the gyoza... everything great. Wines are extremely expensive but the selection is good. It's a cool place, good to see and to be seen and you do pay for it. For a special night.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Probably one of the best Asiatic restaurants I’ve tried but the wine and the drinks were too expensive and that made our bill go up.
The food is excellent. I recommend the crispy rice and tartar, the soft shell crab roll and spicy tuna roll. As a dessert the madeleine’s. Leave space for them, they are totally worth a try.
Our bill added up to 90eur each (too much for what we had)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced and overrated. Watch out - thieves!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Way overpriced and way overrated. The quality of the food is mediocre at best. My jacket was stolen from the restaurant! Security is useless. The place apparently tolerates and welcomes thieves. The bill for two person dinner was 400 EUR. The place is far from deserving one tenth of that for the poor quality and customer service it offers! Don't go, you'll regret it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Izakaya also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to Izakaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Izakaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;