We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Meal of the Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willems

Willems
Willemsparkweg 177, 1071GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))
+31 20 752 1973
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #123 of 2,580 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Best Meal of the Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

In the 20 days of travel that included Amsterdam, Lyon, Bordeaux, and London, Willems was by far the best and most memorable restaurant.

We called for a reservation only to be told that they were fully booked, but if we came at 9:00 or later they then could accommodate us at the bar. When we arrived, we found that it really was not a bar at all, but stools at the pass-thru table where the plates that were ready to go to the dining room were staged for the servers. We sat a few feet away from the compact cooking area where as we were to find out later, chef Nick Holter and sous chef Ruben Bos were going mile a minute cooking for the capacity crowd. It didn't take long before we found ourselves engaged in conversation with the chefs, getting a run down on what and how they were making the plates.

While the pace in the kitche was quick, once in a while the chefs still found the time to do a mid air juggling of tools to break the tension and inject a bit of fun. As we showed interest in what was being prepared, a few times a small plate of that particular ingredient would appear in front of us to do a taste. In the 2 1/2 hours there, we bought two dinners, but, managed to sample a good fraction of the menu. Other thing we could see from our vantage point by the kitchen was the very supportive way the chefs worked with the staff. So, besides first class food, they also have their act together on how to run a restaurant.

We got the story of the restaurant of which Nick is the owner and that he founded it 2 years ago at the age of 25. He had attended culinary school and worked for some big name chefs, but he said, it was not until he got out on his own that could find his groove. And that groove is a fusion of modern French with influences from the rest of the continent and just about everywhere else as well. To keep evolution going, he introduces a new main plate every week which in a couple of months resuslts in a complete menu redo. And good it all is. The combinations of flavors is always a bit unusual making for interesting plates. You know what it is, but are always asking what's that extra unexpected thing. Makes for good conversation when we try out each others plate.

After the first night, it was a no brainer to return the following night. This time when we arrived, Nick came out from the kitchen to greet us at the door and get us settled in. We put ourselves in his hands asking him to compose the dinner and wine per the chefs choice. Never looked at the menu and just sat back and enjoyed the suprise of every plate that arrived.

As the title of this review says it all -- without doubt the best meal of our trip. This is a chef on the rise, not to be missed should your travels bring you to Amsterdam.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    15
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

This place was steps from our hotel The Neighbors Magnolia and as previous reviewers noted, it's an excellent restaurant in this upscale neighborhood just outside the city center. It's reasonably priced for such finely crafted food. It was a quiet evening, with a few other couples, some tourist some locals. Excellent service, charming setting, excellent food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Goshen, New York
Level Contributor
186 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“"Right Choice"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The food is very tasty and artistically prepared. You can watch the chefs prepare your food as the kitchen is open to the restaurant. The only drawback that we found is that the menu is limited to five entrees. I don't know how often the menu is changed. Good selection of wines. Would repeat if we return to Amsterdam.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Really Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Had a meal here when I stayed at a local hotel. Excellent in every way with great food and service. The food was French style but really well cooked and some unusual and interesting choices. Considering the quality the prices are modest and service and welcome are good. Highly recommended!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Just outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Willems restaurant has only been open two years, but even on a Monday night it was just as well that we had booked - very busy.
The cuisine was exceptional and we rated the meal amongst one of the best we have ever had.
Willems is in a street called Willemsparkweg which runs parallel to Vondelpark and right outside the door is the tram stop.
Try this restaurant, you won't regret it!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willems also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Willems? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willems, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.