We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy to have found Willems” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Willems

Willems
Willemsparkweg, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
20 7521973
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #85 of 2,281 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Happy to have found Willems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I was so happy to have found Willems on my last stay in Amsterdam. The restaurant staff was exceedingly polite and helpful. Recommendations were sincere and appreciated from my point of view. The menu was diverse and I enjoyed the evening. I will make certain that Willems is on my list for my next return to this city.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    33
    6
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sun City Center, Florida, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Willemstad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Excellent cuisine, service great. Small and intimate and open on Sunday. Friendly staff. Recommended by a local.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were fortunate to be staying close to this restaurant during the week we were in Amsterdam, so we went twice, and had excellent culinary experiences both times.
As other reviewers have mentioned, the menu is short (5 appetizers, 5 main courses) but we found that reassuring, especially after sampling the food! Mark, the manager, told us that the menu was limited in order to ensure quality, and boy, was he right!
Everything that our party of three ordered was, simply put, exquisite, from the steak tartare to the snapper with red curry foam. (The chef came out to give us the recipe for the foam - you find it on several dishes, flavored variously with olives, curry and a variety of other tastes.)
The menu changes weekly, and it has proved to be a popular spot in this appealing residential neighborhood (a short walk from the Concertgebouw), so go early or reserve.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood Jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

WE were in love with this place. The menu seemed small at first glance but everything was AMAZING.They were extremely accommodating making me a salad that wasn't even being offered.
Three of us went so we tried so much of the menu and the food was our best in Amsterdam! the waiter was extremely professional. The quaint neighborhood reminded us of Vienna or Berlin. If you are staying at the Conservatorium or anywhere in Amsterdam this is a true find!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Good short menu, next to where we were staying, reasonable prices --all in all I'd heartly recommend (and book -- we couldn't get in on the Friday we arrived in Amsterdam although when we went, having booked, on Saturday it was very quiet)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willems also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Willems? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willems, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.