We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent find, great steaks, top service! ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Casona

La Casona
Utrechtsestraat 42, 1017VP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
0207850989
Improve this listing
Ranked #882 of 2,402 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $19 - $37
Cuisines: Argentinean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent find, great steaks, top service! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We wanted to get a bite to eat near but not on Rembrandtplein and almost stumbled upon this fantastic Argentinian steakhouse. The pre-threatre deal in particular was superb value and the waitress and chef were very friendly. The salad was huge and full of flavour, the chorizo starter immense, and the mains were great served with various sauces and brilliant fries. There are lots of Argentinian places in Amsterdam but this hidden gem, inauspicious from the outside, turned out to be a real treat.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    13
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

They really know how to cook a steak. Excellent food. Friendly staff. Hope to visit again before we leave Amsterdam even though there are many restaurants to visit.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We enjoyed fantastic steak at this restaurant, it is not a place for vegetarians. Service was good and friendly. We appreciated the open and honest explanation that my starter was delayed as it had accident,y ended on the kitchen floor! The dips and salad served with the steaks were the perfect accompaniment.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Oh, so good -- so glad we stopped here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Walking along Utrechtsestraat in the Jordaan and we came upon this restaurant. We decided to give it a go with no high expectations, and were we ever glad we stopped here!

We weren't sure when we looked at the starters but Joe chose the beef carpaccio and I had the onion soup, which I love. for our main course we both chose the beef tenderloin steaks, done medium rare and had the vegetable salad and the fries to go along with them. The carpaccio came with a vegetable salad over top of it and it was beautiful, both to look at and to eat. I was very happy that Joe shared it with me. My onion soup was so rich, I wondered how it could be so rich, but I think that the onions were so beautifully carmalised that it made it very rich.

Our steaks came and they were served on a white plate with drops of barbeque sauce at the top. They was also two sauces, one was chimmichurri and the other a salsa like sauce. There was also mayonnaise for the fries and the salad we ordered. It was all so lovely and delicious, the steak done to perfection and so tender. The salad was fresh and filled with so many delicious but well blended flavours and the fries were completely irresistable. I thought the chimmichurri sauce was the best paring with the steak but Joe liked the barbeque just as much.

The service was very good, and though the food did not come quickly, it was worth the wait which was not long.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Beef”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Found this place on Utrechtsestraat. The food quite good overall. The prie fixe meals helped keep the overall meal cost in line. The house red wine was good. The servers were friendly and helpful. All the items our party of four enjoyed were first rate. The beef was particularly good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casona also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to La Casona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.