We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location , renovated,free coffee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Espresso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Espresso to your Saves list
Hotel Espresso
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Overtoom 57, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Haifa, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great location , renovated,free coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is close to most attractions in Amsterdam , lobby very nice and cozy , rooms were ok but a little nosy . The only major problem was the cleaning service- the hand wash bottle was empty when we arrived and never replaced during our stay , sheets never changed in 4 days , towels not always replaced. Except that , lighting in bathroom was too dark , couldn't do my makeup right. In spite of all those things, I would recommend the hotel because of its location , nice staff , design , and free coffee

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    164
    44
    11
    6
See reviews for
69
111
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
monaghan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

stayed for 3 nights in hotel espresso.hotel very clean .was in walking distance of the Van Gogh and Rijks museum. tram no.1 to central station stopped close by.Breakfast was good and there was free tea and coffee all day. Rooms were on the small side probably typical of Amsterdam.Would stay again

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a night mid July. Although we were not able to check in early as we arrived in the morning, the staff made sure our luggage was stored properly and offered us coffee. Since it was close to the tram stop and nearby attractions such as the museums, we had no problem making full use of the time while waiting for the rooms to be ready. The staff had good initiative to find us connecting rooms, which were very helpful.

Internet connection was good in bit hour rooms. The free coffee concept was innovative. Rooms are small but not too bad if you are staying for less than a week. There are convenience stores, restaurants and a pizza outlet along the same street. No doubt that I will recommend the hotel to others going for a short stay in Amsterdam.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I stayed for two nights in July. Hotel is clean, free wi-fi worked really well in my room and the breakfast was simple but good value for money. They also have bikes to rent which is very convenient in the city. Only down side was thin walls as the first night I heard next door get in late in the night. Location is excellent and I am planning to stay here again. This hotel is a safe bet.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Being a hotelier myself I am rather fussy and critical. But I have to say this hotel ticked all the boxes for the money. Good value, great location, clean rooms and comfortable beds. That's all you need in a hotel. Better than expected. Disappointed to find no tissues, toilet paper or bed lights not working, but informed Reception and they eventually replenished. Don't expect large rooms or bathrooms, however modern interior makes up for it. Staff are young but accommodating. Disappointed with Breakfast as we went down at 9.30am and nearly all the food had gone. The plus side is that free tea and coffee in rooms and in Reception area. I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We liked the location, close to tram line, beds were comfortable, breakfast was included. Seemed to be a good value. We ended up on the ground floor but on a quiet side street which was okay. The weird thing was that the ceiling in our bathroom was constantly dripping. They promised to have it fixed but then came back and said that is was AC condensation and nothing could be done. Other little maintenance things were lacking like a broken towel hook.

Room Tip: I would try for a room on an upper floor if I ever went back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and the hotel suited our needs. We booked a small triple room so that our 14-year old daughter can have a bed of her own. The No 2 tram stops close by and the bus 197 from the airport also is within walking distance.

There are 2 supermarkets close by and Dominos Pizza is just next door. There are also a lot of restaurants near by. City centre is within walking distance. All the museums and Vondel Park are also within walking distance.

The staff at this hotel (especially Veronica) was absolutely marvellous. The free coffee was a bonus and my daughter wanted hot chocolate but they didn't have any. But the next day Veronica had some in for her. What service.

We arrived early but could store our bags. When we checked out, we had some time to kill and once again, they looked after our bags.

We would recommend this hotel. It was clean and comfortable and we have a lovely 3 nights here.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel. the noise from the road, tram and restaurant can be a bit n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espresso

Address: Overtoom 57, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Espresso 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Espresso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Espresso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.