We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent three star hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Espresso

Save Saved
You added Hotel Espresso to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Espresso
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Overtoom 57, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Espoo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent three star hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed for two nights in July. Hotel is clean, free wi-fi worked really well in my room and the breakfast was simple but good value for money. They also have bikes to rent which is very convenient in the city. Only down side was thin walls as the first night I heard next door get in late in the night. Location is excellent and I am planning to stay here again. This hotel is a safe bet.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    123
    29
    7
    5
See reviews for
56
85
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Being a hotelier myself I am rather fussy and critical. But I have to say this hotel ticked all the boxes for the money. Good value, great location, clean rooms and comfortable beds. That's all you need in a hotel. Better than expected. Disappointed to find no tissues, toilet paper or bed lights not working, but informed Reception and they eventually replenished. Don't expect large rooms or bathrooms, however modern interior makes up for it. Staff are young but accommodating. Disappointed with Breakfast as we went down at 9.30am and nearly all the food had gone. The plus side is that free tea and coffee in rooms and in Reception area. I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We liked the location, close to tram line, beds were comfortable, breakfast was included. Seemed to be a good value. We ended up on the ground floor but on a quiet side street which was okay. The weird thing was that the ceiling in our bathroom was constantly dripping. They promised to have it fixed but then came back and said that is was AC condensation and nothing could be done. Other little maintenance things were lacking like a broken towel hook.

Room Tip: I would try for a room on an upper floor if I ever went back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 3 nights and the hotel suited our needs. We booked a small triple room so that our 14-year old daughter can have a bed of her own. The No 2 tram stops close by and the bus 197 from the airport also is within walking distance.

There are 2 supermarkets close by and Dominos Pizza is just next door. There are also a lot of restaurants near by. City centre is within walking distance. All the museums and Vondel Park are also within walking distance.

The staff at this hotel (especially Veronica) was absolutely marvellous. The free coffee was a bonus and my daughter wanted hot chocolate but they didn't have any. But the next day Veronica had some in for her. What service.

We arrived early but could store our bags. When we checked out, we had some time to kill and once again, they looked after our bags.

We would recommend this hotel. It was clean and comfortable and we have a lovely 3 nights here.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel. the noise from the road, tram and restaurant can be a bit n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at this little hotel for a few days as part of a trip with fellow Australian friends. It's a clean, budget, nicely run place about 15 minutes from the centre of Amsterdam. A regular tram service leaves from a stop about 1 minute walk from the hotel. Very good value for money and there's a free residents coffee machine down in the main reception/dining area. Continental breakfast was very good. Would recommend to traveller on a budget who wants quality and value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

9 of us stayed here from 27th June - 29th June on a stag weekend, great hotel, very modern and free WIFI & Tea/Coffee are a bonus! 5 minutes walk to main tourist areas and the Number 1 Tram stops right outside. hotel staff very friendly & Helpful, they even ordered us a pizza at 5:00 AM when we rolled in from a night out. cant fault the hotel or staff in the slightest and would definitely stay here again if i return to Amsterdam

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed two nights in this hotel and it was quite adequate. I don't think I'd rush to stay there again as the rooms were quite small and you had to edge around the bed and hope that your room-mate wouldn't come out of the bathroom at that moment - otherwise you'd be the proud owner of a black eye. During our second day they changed all the mattresses and pillows in the entire hotel which was quite an achievement! The new mattress was quite firm and comfy but the pillows were very soft and squishy. They offer a lovely bonus of complimentary tea/coffee in the lobby all day, even though your room has a kettle. The reception staff were great and very helpful with tips to assist your sightseeing time. Hotel has good access to canals, museums, park and art galleries so an excellent location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espresso

Address: Overtoom 57, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Espresso 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Espresso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Espresso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.