We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, poor breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Espresso

Save Saved
You added Hotel Espresso to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Espresso
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Overtoom 57, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location, poor breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I love this hotel, near tram stop, vondelpark and good shops. The room was clean and there's a water heater.

There's Indonesian restaurant in front of the hotel. They always full for dinner, you have to make reservation first.

Don't expect anything from breakfast.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    124
    28
    6
    5
See reviews for
54
84
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Good location in Amsterdam, clean, good sleep.
Close to downtown but at a affordable price. Breakfast was good. Service great.
In front of the hotel there is a tram station, you can get into line-1 tram that goes to Central Station.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

This is an affordable and confortable business hotel in downtown. 5m walking distance from one of the best parks of the city, great connection by tram, and full of restaurants and clubs in the área.

Rooms are as clean as small, so just visit the hotel to sleep at night. Having said that, beds are awesome, best sleep in years in a hotel

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Maybe one of the bests hotels in Amsterdam. It's very close to the red light district, walking distance but no too far away, so you can have a very nice sleep at night. The hotel is very comfy. The crew is also very helpful. Lots of tourists and a relaxed people.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I have recently stayed at this hotel for my birthday with 2 friends upon arrival the staff were friendly and checked us in which was fine it took us a long time to find the hotel as it isn't very close to the central of amsterdam - later on our first day we discovered some bugs on the side of the table in our room we thought nothing of this then in the evening when we came back to our hotel we found lots of tiny bugs which looked like bed bugs in our bed and on the bed side table and bathroom we went to reception and told the man on reception about it and he came up to our room and all he offered to do was pull our bed away from the wall which didn't really help... To make the matter worse the man asked "can I have some of your vodka just a little bit" which wasn't the help we wanted... In the morning the hotel rushed us out of the room prior to getting ready so that they can "disinfect" our room when we arrived back later that day nothing had moved from our room or been cleaned... Overall wouldn't stay here again

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Manager at Hotel Espresso, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear guest, I appriciate that you write this comment and I am sorry that my staff did not inform you which step we took about the insects. We hired that day a proffesional to check the room. He concluded that these are tiny little spiders. They are harmless to people but of course should not be there. He used some spray in certain hiding places. He came back a week later to repeat this treatment. I ask the staff about the vodka. He meant that as a joke. He apoligies for the misunderstanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This hotel it's centrally located which is handy. The hotel is near the tram (1) which will lead you to the Central Station. The hotel is located near a supermarket, pharmacy, book shop and Vondelpark. Van Gogh and Reijksmuseum are just a few minutes walk southward from the hotel.

The property is good, FREE WIFI in all rooms and the room is clean & modern.

However, you need to know that there isn't a MINI-BAR, which may be very annoying if you want to stay more than 1 night and buy some food to make your own meals or drinks - butter, cheese, ham, milk, etc...

The beds are quite soft... In fact, they are so soft that they turn to be uncomfortable. The mattress is too soft and gives a constant feeling of rolling or sinking. The pillows are huge and uncomfortable as well.

The shower is very, very good and modern. However, the sink is very small...
No bath amenities other than bath gel/ shampoo combo attached to shower wall.

The bathroom has an hair dryer and the room has Coffee/Tea facilities and temperature control.

TV is modern HD.


In the reception area they have a coffee machine that is free for guests to use and a city free map.

The staff is friendly in general but sometimes they don't seem very interested in helping the guests.


BREAKFAST was altogether GOOD: warm bread fresh from the oven, croissants, cheese, yogurt,cereals, juices, fruit and mini chocolate croissants.

They also provide gluten free bread for breakfast, if you ask them.

Some steps away from the hotel to your right there is a bike hire shop where you can hire bikes which is great.

Overtoom can be a VERY noisy street at night until 2/3 a.m which can interfere with your resting.

Overall, the rooms are good but tiny and it should definitely have a mini-bar. It's a nice hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espresso

Address: Overtoom 57, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Espresso 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Espresso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Espresso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.