We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Espresso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Espresso to your Saves list
Hotel Espresso
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Overtoom 57, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

it was the first time ,we spent a weeekend in amsterdam very nice place to be an the hotel is not far from the city centre.
the service was very pleasant and helpfull.free coffee and tea is a great offer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    193
    48
    12
    6
See reviews for
75
133
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I stayed here the week commencing 17th February for a Monday to Friday stint with my wife and we were 'extremely' pleased with Hotel Espresso. We have been to Amsterdam on a few occasions and so for this trip we decided on trying a different hotel. We usually stay at the poet, formally the acro hotel, but after reading the positive reviews for Espresso i was sold. We emailed the hotel before arrival and asked if it was possible to have a room looking over the city. Within an hour we had received a reply saying they would try their best and i am pleased to report that they came through for us 100%. Even if they had not been able to arrange this the email reply and intent means a lot regardless!

The room was at the rear of the hotel, so away from the traffic, but to be fair the noise from the road the hotel is situated on is minimal. We had a double room comprising of a desk, 2 chairs, wardrobe with built in safe and a spacious on suite bathroom with a large glass encased shower. Hair dryer/Coffee/Kettle all on hand and the room had temperature control. TV was modern HD and we were able to slot a USB stick in the side to watch some Movies, which is a real plus if you struggle trying to find something to watch when you return from your travels.

Now for the juicy bits - The bed and free coffee!! Lots being reported on how comfortable the beds are in this hotel and they have all hit the nail on the head. The double we had was 'extremely' comfortable, kind of like laying in a flexible play dough. In the reception area they have a coffee machine that is free for guests to use. Grab a glass, make your choice and away you go! The coffee itself is gorgeous and if money wasn't an issue i would have one of these small machines in my home right now. The actual reception area itself is a great place to sit just before going out for the day to check maps etc and then on the return you can relax before you hit your room. Very clean, modern design and nice seating. This area is also used for breakfast, which we unfortunately didn't get to try due to some healthy late mornings!

All members of staff we encountered were a pleasure to deal with, from reception to the cleaning staff. They are doing a great job and should be very proud they are making peoples stay something to remember. Excellent customer service is always something i appreciate with a passion and i witnessed this here everyday. Special mention to Annelies (Hope that's correct!) whom made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived!!

Lastly a small mention on the location. It's outside of the main city center, so no hoards of tourists, yet you can be in the thick of it within a 5 minute walk. There are many local shops on the road and various restaurants. I would say avoid the night shop, which although open all night it certainly charges you heavily for the pleasure. Another one to avoid in my opinion is the Sawaddee Ka thai restaurant. Expensive and nothing to rave about, although the staff were friendly. Vondelpark is also within short walking distance and worth a visit every time.

So to sum up - This will be our hotel of choice on return visits in the future! Quiet, well situated, friendly/knowledgeable staff....What more could we ask for? Extremely happy we have found our new, although temporary, Amsterdam home!

Thanks Hotel Espresso!! 10/10

Michael & Lorraine.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Hotel espresso just returned from here on 09-02-14 from my sons stag weekend with 20 other people hotel was excellent good location , comfy beds, staff VERY help full only a short taxi or tram to dam square and central station ( buy tickets before going on trains) will go again & free coffee & tea just what you need at 5 am before a good sleep ( quite hotel ) .

Room Tip: Stayed on 5th floor slept great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Lovely hotel cosy feel and not far from the city centre. Coffee machine is a great perk but some instructions would be good as it was a slight bit confusing walls are quite thin but no outside noise so as long as your not next to someone to noisy it's ok, overall a great stay and reception were very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed in the Hotel Espresso for two nights, and were not disappointed. The place is clean, well furnished, and comfortable, and is easy to get to and in a great location. Just outside of the central canal ring, it is in a decent neighbourhood and within walking distance of all the city centre attractions. I can't say much for our view - our window faced another wall - but there was still plenty of light, and the other conveniences more than made up for the view.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The 2 nights we stayed here where excellent. Polite staff, extremely comfortable bed and fresh toilet roll and towels. Good location so overall it was a really welcoming and a comfortable stay.
Would recommend couples staying here as it really made us feel comfortable.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espresso

Address: Overtoom 57, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Espresso 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Espresso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Espresso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.