We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Espresso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Espresso to your Saves list
Hotel Espresso
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Overtoom 57, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
1 review
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Lovely hotel cosy feel and not far from the city centre. Coffee machine is a great perk but some instructions would be good as it was a slight bit confusing walls are quite thin but no outside noise so as long as your not next to someone to noisy it's ok, overall a great stay and reception were very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    230
    60
    12
    6
See reviews for
85
166
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed in the Hotel Espresso for two nights, and were not disappointed. The place is clean, well furnished, and comfortable, and is easy to get to and in a great location. Just outside of the central canal ring, it is in a decent neighbourhood and within walking distance of all the city centre attractions. I can't say much for our view - our window faced another wall - but there was still plenty of light, and the other conveniences more than made up for the view.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The 2 nights we stayed here where excellent. Polite staff, extremely comfortable bed and fresh toilet roll and towels. Good location so overall it was a really welcoming and a comfortable stay.
Would recommend couples staying here as it really made us feel comfortable.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Me and my partner went to Amsterdam for our first hoilday together and for his birthday, we stayed here and apart from the small room! (its perfect if your only there for a couple of days!) But we arrived quite late (11pm) and the receptionist was very helpful and we were hungry and there was no were open but the night manager was very helpful and phoned us a pizza! Everybody was very helpful and it was great definitely going to return to this hotel as my partner love it! The tram stops out side the hotel which is very helpful and easy to make your way around!!. So definitely recommend it to anybody whos visiting Amsterdam to stay here!! Also pretty cheap for the 3 nights that we stayed!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuiaba, MT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I and my family stayed for 3 nights at Hotel Espresso during this holiday season . Well, it’s nothing personal, but the hotel’s services were among the worst I’ve ever had . The front desk, except for the Asian guy, was inattentive and negligent . For instance, a young lady sold me wrong tickets to Rijskmuseum (yes,they sell tickets to museums and tours) . I just found out about her mistake at the entrance of the museum and had to go all the way back to the hotel in order to exchange the tickets . The housekeeping is non-existent: just for an idea, one day I left my slippers carelessly in the middle of the room and they were at the same place / same way when we arrived at afternoon . No replacement of tissue / toilet paper . No replacement of used glasses . No amenities at all . I felt Amsterdam as an unfriendly city for foreign visitors with families (we had some other issues around the city, unfortunately) and this hotel made things even worse .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto,Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stopped in Amsterdam on the way from Toronto to Johannesburg. Stayed for two nights.
3 Adults , 3 year old and a ten month old. Booked two rooms. Arrived very early in the morning. Rooms not ready as hotel was full. Staff were very accomodating and managed to get us in to two clean rooms by 11 am. Very good staff and compassionate.Rooms were clean and breakfast was excellent. Location was very good and transport in to city centre by tram was very easy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Alexander Hotel
Alexander Hotel
#125 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Vondelpark
Grand Hotel Downtown
Grand Hotel Downtown
#100 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 545 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#89 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#119 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#55 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 927 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espresso

Address: Overtoom 57, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Espresso 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Espresso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Espresso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.