We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, new hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Espresso

Save Saved
You added Hotel Espresso to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Espresso
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Overtoom 57, Amsterdam 1054 , The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice, new hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed in the Hotel Espresso for two nights, and were not disappointed. The place is clean, well furnished, and comfortable, and is easy to get to and in a great location. Just outside of the central canal ring, it is in a decent neighbourhood and within walking distance of all the city centre attractions. I can't say much for our view - our window faced another wall - but there was still plenty of light, and the other conveniences more than made up for the view.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    121
    28
    6
    5
See reviews for
53
83
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The 2 nights we stayed here where excellent. Polite staff, extremely comfortable bed and fresh toilet roll and towels. Good location so overall it was a really welcoming and a comfortable stay.
Would recommend couples staying here as it really made us feel comfortable.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Me and my partner went to Amsterdam for our first hoilday together and for his birthday, we stayed here and apart from the small room! (its perfect if your only there for a couple of days!) But we arrived quite late (11pm) and the receptionist was very helpful and we were hungry and there was no were open but the night manager was very helpful and phoned us a pizza! Everybody was very helpful and it was great definitely going to return to this hotel as my partner love it! The tram stops out side the hotel which is very helpful and easy to make your way around!!. So definitely recommend it to anybody whos visiting Amsterdam to stay here!! Also pretty cheap for the 3 nights that we stayed!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuiaba, MT
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I and my family stayed for 3 nights at Hotel Espresso during this holiday season . Well, it’s nothing personal, but the hotel’s services were among the worst I’ve ever had . The front desk, except for the Asian guy, was inattentive and negligent . For instance, a young lady sold me wrong tickets to Rijskmuseum (yes,they sell tickets to museums and tours) . I just found out about her mistake at the entrance of the museum and had to go all the way back to the hotel in order to exchange the tickets . The housekeeping is non-existent: just for an idea, one day I left my slippers carelessly in the middle of the room and they were at the same place / same way when we arrived at afternoon . No replacement of tissue / toilet paper . No replacement of used glasses . No amenities at all . I felt Amsterdam as an unfriendly city for foreign visitors with families (we had some other issues around the city, unfortunately) and this hotel made things even worse .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto,Ontario
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stopped in Amsterdam on the way from Toronto to Johannesburg. Stayed for two nights.
3 Adults , 3 year old and a ten month old. Booked two rooms. Arrived very early in the morning. Rooms not ready as hotel was full. Staff were very accomodating and managed to get us in to two clean rooms by 11 am. Very good staff and compassionate.Rooms were clean and breakfast was excellent. Location was very good and transport in to city centre by tram was very easy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Recently visited Hotel Expresso and had a nice stay. V. Easy to get into town and quite nice being in a quieter part of Amsterdam without the hustle and bustle of the city centre. Really close to a tram stop and there are a few nice bars/pubs around. The free coffee was wonderful first thing in the morning and provided a good meeting point for our group. The room was really nice and was cleaned daily. Fantastic for a short trip.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espresso

Address: Overtoom 57, Amsterdam 1054 , The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Espresso 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Espresso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Espresso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.