We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better hotels in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Espresso

Save Saved
You added Hotel Espresso to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Espresso
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Overtoom 57, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Nuremberg, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the better hotels in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Relatively inexpensive and still a decent stay in Amsterdam. The hotel location is good, easy to get around and there are sightseeing tour stops nearby. There are also fast food places, a drugstore and a pharmacy, ATM machines, breakfast bars/tearooms etc around it, which I've found convenient. The staff is very young and chatty.

The rooms are apparently newly furnished and very tasteful, the carpet hasn't gone icky yet, the bathroom was also really clean. We as a young-ish couple booked the deluxe room which is still quite small but not as bad as most non-luxury hotel rooms in this city. The upgrade only cost us about 10 euros extra per night and I personally thought it was worth it. There is an elevator and a vending machine in the lobby.

What I didn't like was the beds, they were fresh but the mattresses were too soft and kept sliding off the bed-frame (the mattress doesn't sit inside the frame but on top of it, so it moves to the side creating a huge gap between the two mattresses) the sheets keep coming off because there is nothing to hold them there and the pillows were awful, but I think almost all European hotels have awful pillows

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    136
    35
    8
    6
See reviews for
64
92
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Drachten
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed 1 night. Great location! Really nearby Leidseplein were everything happens (restaurants, bars, discos). Very nice staff. Really quite and great to sleep. De bed and the pillows are to dream on!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Thomas, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The location is nice, the price is good for the location, the rooms are clean and modern. Like most hotels in the region, the rooms are tiny.

Across the street is a fantastic Indonesian restaurant, Kartika. And two doors down is a very good Thai place. Also across the street is Starbucks, though you should of course skip it, and instead visit one of the dozens of authentic coffee bistros.

Easy walking to Rijksmuseum, Vondepark, Stedelijk Museum, and other attractions.

Internet access, however, is abysmal. I'm on the second floor, directly above the lobby, and only have intermittent connectivity that is, at best like dialup and at typically non-existent. The front desk reports they have only one wi-fi router for the entire building! If you're here for business, I would have to recommend you stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chippenham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Have just returned from two night stay in this hotel and have to say I was very impressed.
The hotel is a good stroll from the city centre but also far enough away so that we weren't disturbed by the antics of, unruly usually Brits abroad types. From the moment you arrive to that when you leave it's just a relaxing experience. Usual comment re size of room, three adults sharing, but for city location good. Staff pleasant and helpful. Hotel was clean and looked cared for, not beginning to look slightly tired. Free coffee a big bonus as it meant I could read and relax whilst waiting for mates to join me. Would I stay here again? Yes, of course.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel from 27-30 th September 2013 at room 215. We both had terrible bites from bed bugs and the hotel manager after writing to him back and forth agreed to refund us our money for the stay. He clearly admitted in an e-mail that there were many bugs of different sizes found in the room we stayed.
Unfortunately we are still suffering from bed bugs as they must have travelled with us back home. Although we got rid of our suitcases they must have come in to our flat while we were emptying our clothes.
We got our flat treated with insecticides with a professional company once and we are still having problems! We will repeat this procedure once again hoping to get rid of them.
We are suffering for the mistakes the hotel management have made. We are also sure there must be others who stayed in this hotel and had the same problems.
We warn anyone considering to stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Manager at Hotel Espresso, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Bed bugs travel with hotel guests and is spread in this way. As soon as you informed us we put this room in quarantine and hired a professional company to get rid of the bed bugs. This company applied heat treatment to kill the bugs. This treatment was successful and since then the problem is gone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for two nights, the rooms are super tiny, but that;s the case of all hotels in Amsterdam, if you need good sized rooms, go with 5 stars hotels.

the hotel was clean, the service was really good, and the best thing that they have free coffee machine all the time.

for the location, it's the best, it's in overtoom street, and right in front of the tram station that takes you to Amsterdam Centraal

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

The lobby looks like a trendy cafe and had lots of comfortable seating which made it a nice place to enjoy the free espresso.

The room was VERY small, but it was nice. Everything seemed very clean. The bed was very comfortable...especially the pillows! I have never had such great pillows in a hotel. I felt like I was sleeping on a cloud.

The location was very convenient. There were lots of restaurants and shops within walking distance. The museums and other attractions were easy to walk to. (Bring an umbrella.). It was also very easy to get to Central Station since the tram stop for Tram 1 is about a block away from the hotel.

There is also a place to rent bikes a few doors down from the hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espresso

Address: Overtoom 57, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Espresso 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel Espresso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Espresso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.