We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, Great Location, fits small people more :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Espresso

Save Saved
You added Hotel Espresso to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Espresso
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Overtoom 57, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amman, Jordan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good value, Great Location, fits small people more :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for two nights, the rooms are super tiny, but that;s the case of all hotels in Amsterdam, if you need good sized rooms, go with 5 stars hotels.

the hotel was clean, the service was really good, and the best thing that they have free coffee machine all the time.

for the location, it's the best, it's in overtoom street, and right in front of the tram station that takes you to Amsterdam Centraal

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    138
    35
    9
    6
See reviews for
64
92
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fitchburg, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

The lobby looks like a trendy cafe and had lots of comfortable seating which made it a nice place to enjoy the free espresso.

The room was VERY small, but it was nice. Everything seemed very clean. The bed was very comfortable...especially the pillows! I have never had such great pillows in a hotel. I felt like I was sleeping on a cloud.

The location was very convenient. There were lots of restaurants and shops within walking distance. The museums and other attractions were easy to walk to. (Bring an umbrella.). It was also very easy to get to Central Station since the tram stop for Tram 1 is about a block away from the hotel.

There is also a place to rent bikes a few doors down from the hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The single room I had (# 406) was neat and clean, modern and polished but also tiny. I did not even know where to store my small trolley suitcase. It either blocked the doors of the wardrobe or the narrow space around the bed. The bathroom was new and shiny but, again, I had to squeeze myself around the notebook-sized sink to get into the shower.

Breakfast was altogether good and the staff friendly.

I found the location not as scenic or close to the grachts as in the case of the Bridge Hotel (Amstel, near Magere Brug), where I had stayed on a previous visit. However, Leidseplein is just a 5-minute stroll away. The Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh and Stedelijk Museum are all reachable within 15 minutes by foot.

Altogether not a bad choice (especially for museum visits) but it does feel a bit like Economy Class - for a price (140 Euros) that is typical of many European capital cities but not exactly cheap, either.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

When we booked for this hotel it was completely new, which is always a risk. When we arrived to AMS, the taxi driver didn´t know where the hotel was so he used the GPS to drive us.

From the outside we saw a nice and clean corner where many locals walk by, when we entered we got a very warm welcome from the hotel manager. The room had a street view, we loved it, and the space was enough for 2 people (bigger than standard European rooms). The style is modern and abstract. But most important is that all the hotel facilities are new including carpets, bathroom, etc...

We had breakfast included and the variety was very good: obviously coffee (latte, espresso, regular) natural juices, cheeses, delicious breads, meat products (ham, sausages,etc),homemade jams and conserves, fruit and even different egg styles...

You can rent a bike right next to the hotel and drive all around Amsterdam.... even if the Leidsestraat is just 5 min walking

If we ever go back to AMS we´ll stay at the same place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The hotel is very clean, next to a tram stop, very close to Ledsplein, Van Gogh Museum and some nice food restaurants. The rooms are clean, modern, free coffee at the hotel!, nice breakfast. Rooms are small, i went with my parents and they thought the room was very small but for me it was ok, if u travel with friends i think the size would not matter but if you are traveling with your parents maybe you should choose a bigger room in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I'm very glad we choose this hotel, clean and very modern (seen the date on the lift saying 2011). The rooms are basic and have a very comfy bed. We stayed in room 204, it was facing the back and very quiet as we asked for. The breakfast had a good selection of foods consisting of breads, omelette and bacon. Very good coffee, expresso machine and tea, which you can take for free anytime. If you are not having breakfast, there is a place on the right from the hotel called Next Friday has very good breakfasts and lunches and threre are pletty of other places. I recommend Kartika, just across the road for very good Indonesian food, especially the rice table. Hotel is just walking distance from Van Gogh and Rijks. You can get the tram or bike, remember to look carefully for bikes when walking. We didn't take a bike, costs around 15 euro a day. The marqt is very good for buying food.

Room Tip: Get the highest room possible, not facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

If you have a luggage and would like to travel from Schiphol airport to Hotel Espresso by taxi, it will cost you Eur 36-38. I arrived in the morning but the lady at the reception was so kind to check me in immediately without waiting until 3 p.m. There is an espresso machine in the lobby so you can enjoy your complimentary espresso any time while checking your E-Mails, posting on Facebook using free Wi-Fi and watching Amsterdamers driving bikes on special lines on sidewalks.
You can have slices of sausages, cheese and omelette for breakfast. Omelette which I tried was so-so.
The hotel room was modern and clean.
Rijks Museum, Van Gogh Museum and Stedelijks Museum are withing walking distance from the hotel. The ticket you buy at Rijks Museum for Eur 15 is valid for one year, so yo can visit this museum each day of your stay or on your next trip to Amsterdam.
There is "I amsterdam" sign on the street on front of Rijks Museum when visitors prefer to make photos.
There is Vondelpark near the Hotel Espresso where you can have a walk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espresso

Address: Overtoom 57, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Espresso 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel Espresso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Espresso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;