We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel - not so sure about beds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Espresso

Save Saved
You added Hotel Espresso to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Espresso
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Overtoom 57, Amsterdam 1054 , The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Decent hotel - not so sure about beds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stayed here for one night. Overall the hotel was good and myself and my partner enjoyed the stay, the room size was fine with plenty of space and very large toilet and separate shower room. The location is good, with a tram stop very close to the hotel, this being served by the number 1 tram line which can be caught from Central station.

We didn't choose to have the breakfast and we found plenty of places to get a breakfast from within a short walk away from the hotel.

The bad thing now, myself and my partner found the mattress to our bed to be too soft and a constant feeling of rolling off due to this which caused us to have little sleep but I appreciate some people may find the beds great but I prefer a firmer mattress. This was the softness mattress I have slept on and felt like the mattress was swallowing me.

So In all a decent hotel, in a good location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    108
    27
    4
    4
See reviews for
51
75
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed for a week for business.
My room was clean and silent, the wifi was provided for free.
During all the day you can take coffee, cappucino or tea for free in the lounge room.
The breakfast is quite good but maybe a bit expensive.
In front of the hotel there is the tram 1 to arrive to the center and 5 minutes walk (Lindspein) there is the bus (197) from the airport: the ticket costs only 4 Euros, very cheap.
I used to reach the center, Dam Square, by walking: it is about 25-30 minutes.
I suggest this hotel.

Room Tip: There is only one tree near the hotel, when there is enough wind the branches hit the windows at lea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Staff was very accommodating and pleasant. Within walking distance of Rijksmuseum and van Gogh, Leidseplein center of tourist attractions and many sidewalk cafes great for resting weary feet and people watching. The tram to/from Centraal rail station runs in front of the hotel.
Yes, the room was rather small, but then how much time does one spend inside in such a great city as Amsterdam!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Rooms compact but all facilities and, really clean comfy beds.
Staff friendly and knowledgeable. Breakfast a little chaotic with 3 staff doing checkout and stocking breakfast bar
Ramp at front and lift to facilitate disabled access.Tram stop 200 yds away
Also free Wi-Fi in rooms & reception

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We decided to spend our 3-day Amsterdam stay at the Espresso after reading some Tripadvisor's reviews.
The hotel lies just outside the external canal, so that one has to cross a large two-way avenue to access the central and touristically interesting part of the town. On the other hand, Van Gogh and Reijksmuseum are just a few minutes walk southward from the hotel (bring your GPS to Amsterdam!) and tickets can be bought at the reception.
We had a superior room on the fifth floor, very quiet and with comfortable pillows. The room was really small and disposed of few storing space, and as we were on an intercontinental travel some of our clothes had to remain inside the suitcases. There was a flat-screen TV and room illumination, air conditioning and water pressure were correct. There was no minibar, but there is a vending machine downstairs. Wi-Fi is free and excellent and we could have three or four devices connected simultaneously without the need to keep record of complicated passwords. Breakfast is just average, but it's worth having it included, since there are very few options nearby. The breakfast room turns into a pleasant coffee lounge during the rest of the day, where one can sit and get complimentary coffee from the machine at any time. Reception personnel is helpful and attentive.
If you are looking for a decent, clean, friendly hotel for a short stay and don't bother to do some walking, the Espresso is perfect; but if you want a fancy hotel in the city center then you had better check somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggar, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night while visiting Amsterdam. It's location is great, only a few minutes walk to Van Gough museum and centre. Room although small was clean, modern and well presented. Staff were friendly and helpful and the buffet breakfast hit the spot!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Expresso for 4 nights. We were on the 6th floor - the room had a nice view of the city. The biggest plus of the hotel is that it is close to (walking distance) all the major attractions - the shopping district, the museum district, Vondelpark, the red light district. We walked everywhere from the hotel. The room was clean, small and basic. Compared to the prices of the other hotels (eg NH, Marriott, etc), this was much better value for money. If you are after a basic place to stay in (it had a bit of a "hostel" feel to it - very rudimentary / basic furniture and service) - then this is the place for you. There is also access to free coffee and teas in the lobby anytime.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espresso

Address: Overtoom 57, Amsterdam 1054 , The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Espresso 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Hotel Espresso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Espresso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.