We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Espresso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Espresso to your Saves list
Hotel Espresso
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Overtoom 57, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Biggar, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night while visiting Amsterdam. It's location is great, only a few minutes walk to Van Gough museum and centre. Room although small was clean, modern and well presented. Staff were friendly and helpful and the buffet breakfast hit the spot!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    165
    45
    11
    6
See reviews for
70
111
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Expresso for 4 nights. We were on the 6th floor - the room had a nice view of the city. The biggest plus of the hotel is that it is close to (walking distance) all the major attractions - the shopping district, the museum district, Vondelpark, the red light district. We walked everywhere from the hotel. The room was clean, small and basic. Compared to the prices of the other hotels (eg NH, Marriott, etc), this was much better value for money. If you are after a basic place to stay in (it had a bit of a "hostel" feel to it - very rudimentary / basic furniture and service) - then this is the place for you. There is also access to free coffee and teas in the lobby anytime.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed here for two nights last week and enjoyed our stay greatly ! Free coffee from the espresso machine downstairs when ever we wanted it and a decent continental breakfast if you fancy it in the morning.

Yes the rooms are not massive but to people complaining about size, hey, it was clean well decorated and had a great shower!

Good location, pleasent staff, free wi-fi i will be coming again.

Room Tip: we stayed in 506 quiet central room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was a very nice hotel. It was clean and very comfortable. Staff were very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. Located in a nice part of Amsterdam close to just about everything with good tram connections. Would definately stay there again.


  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Manager at Hotel Espresso, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for your review and hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My husband and I went to Hotel Espresso for our honeymoon and were incredibly disappointed. The only good thing about this place is the location which is a 10 minute walk to the center. The lock on the bedroom door didn't work, the are unpleasant white stains all over the dark purple curtains, and the room is so small that you can't open the bathroom door without hitting the bed! The shower and sheets also had numerous hairs on them from previous guests. The receptionist is incredibly rude, she didn't even bother to look up from the computer screen to check us in, didn't tell us about breakfast (which is also pretty grim for 9.50 euros- can't even get a cup of tea as they've run out of tea bags) or tell us how to get to our room or where the lift was. I would never come back and I would strongly dissuade any other travelers from staying here.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Manager at Hotel Espresso, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Your experience does not meet our standard at all and I felt shocked. I have taken measures immediately. The person who helped you works here as trainee. Constant performance is a challenge and your comment shows me that constant performance for trainees is a hugh challenge. We will put even more effort in teaching them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Hotel Espresso is located close to the museums and the Leidesplein. It is clean and comfortable with a good elevator. Do not be fooled by anyone saying reservations are not needed for hotel parking. Street parking is very expensive and the hotel parking is limited. Make a reservation if you wish to avoid a long walk from a lot or the exorbitant price of parking on the street. Service was uneven with some personnel super friendly and helpful and others surly and uncooperative.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel is well located in the city of Amsterdam. Check-in was fast and friendly and we were given a map of the cityy which got us off to a flying start. The rooms are small and we swapped ours with our teenage daughter for a larger one with a wet room and separate toilet and wash-hand basin. The beds were clean and comfortable and there was tea/coffee making facilities in the room. There was also tea/coffee available at reception 24/7. We didnt have breakfast in the hotel. If you turn right out the door of the building and go up a couple of premises, there is a wonderful coffee shop called "Over Taart" that serves delicious breakfasts. It is family run and we ordered for two and had ample for three. We were also given a free sample of home-made cake to try. They also do evening meals. To your left when you leave the hotel, round the corner and across the bridge, there is an Irish pub called "Aran" that also does heart breakfasts with a "Cead Mile Failte" thrown in for free! Next to this pub is a bicycle hire shop where you can arrange to go on organised bike tours out into the country. Five doors approx. from the hotel to your right there is another bike hire shop where you can hire bikes also. One of the most exciting finds in the city is "The Beginhof" - it comprises a hidden inner court that dates around 1300 with typical Amsterdam style houses. The Beginhof has a fascinating history with many historical events and even miracles having taken place throughout the centuries. Opening hours are 9-5 pm daily. Artis Zoo is also worth a visit if you run out of things to do.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espresso

Address: Overtoom 57, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Espresso 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Espresso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Espresso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.