We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Espresso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Espresso to your Saves list
Hotel Espresso
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Overtoom 57, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Overall Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Hotel Espresso is a new and what I would consider "hip" hotel. The room was a decent size and pretty modern and luxurious compared to the other European hotels I've stayed. But of course you are paying a little more for it.

The location was great. Right in the City Centre and just a quick walk to Leidensplein and Vondelpark. Shout out to the front desk receptionist, Veronica, for being so welcoming. The free espresso in the lobby was a nice touch as well.

Room Tip: We booked a three person room and the third bed was a murphy bed. We didn't have a lot of space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    164
    44
    11
    6
See reviews for
69
111
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The staff at the reception were really not professional. When we checked in we asked whether there is a parking garage or a different place where we could park and we were told that the parking garage was full. We then asked what other place they recommend us we could park (in the booking information it was indicated that there WAS parking) and the receptionist decided to answered the phone. After about 10 minutes of her talking on the phone we were still waiting in front of her thinking that perhaps she is trying to find out where we can park. Since we do not understand Dutch we only later realized that was not the case: she was answering to another customer! We found that really unprofessional to simply forget about us. Another incident that we found surprising was on the morning next when my family if five was sitting at a table in the lounge and having coffee (complimentary in the lobby). We asked one of the reception staff who passed by what time is the check of time and he indicated that we should free up the table which is for the _paying_ breakfast customers. Looking around there were plenty of free tables, so his comment was really not necessary and totally unprofessional.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights this July (2013). Pretty good location - though not right at Leidseplein station, only a couple blocks away. I liked that it was off the beaten path but an easy walk from the tram. Really close to the Van Gogh museum and the park. 15 min tram ride to central station. We liked the hotel too. Very clean. Smallish room but not too bad. Bathroom pretty small too - especially the shower. Free coffee in the lobby was great. Breakfast seemed expensive (9-10 euro) but it was really good and convenient. We didn't do it the first morning but realized we would spend that elsewhere anyway. The staff was friendly and helpful though one woman led us astray about the canal boat rides.

Overall a solid hotel and few if any complaints but not a tremendous deal price wise for location and what you get.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel and found it perfect for our needs.

It is located a few minutes walk from Leidseplein with its may bars and restaurants. It's also within walking distance of Museumplein where the Concertgebouw and the van Gogh museum are located. Tram no. 1 which runs to Leidseplein and on into the city centre to the central station stops very close by, and other tram lines to other parts of the city are just round the corner.

The hotel is modern and very clean. Though our room was small it was very comfortable and well equipped. There was a large shower room with an impressive shower, a wardrobe, desk, and hairdryer. The room also had a kettle with tea and coffee (though no milk) which is often absent in hotels in continental Europe. The flatscreen television had a number of channels in various languages - including BBC1 and BBC2.

In the foyer free tea and coffee (including milk here) were on offer 24 hours. Free wi-fi is available throughout the hotel.

The staff were all extremely pleasant and helpful, and checking in and out were handled efficiently in a friendly manner. We did not take breakfast as there are many cafes where a coffee and pastry can be bought at a good price in the local vicinity.

There is no bar or restaurant in the hotel, but there is a vending machine with a variety of drinks (including beer) and snacks in the foyer. There are plenty of places to eat and drink locally and the staff are happy to provide recommendations.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

First of all I must be clear, I was a girl traveling on my own, so I needed that extra cosiness or romanticism to feel at ease, well, I didn't get it here, there is definitely nothing romantic or old looking about this hotel, everything is quite modern with a nice elevator, AC that keeps the room at a good temperature, a shiny bathroom with clean towels, hairdrier, bodywash/shampoo and a flat TV with some shows in English. The room was quite small but fine for the purpose, the bed is comfortable but the WIFI signal and speed in my room left a lot to wish for. In general the hotel is clean and the staff is friendly, one can buy breakfast for about 10 Euros extra a day, and if one has a train or airplane later during the day they will very nicely take care of the luggage.

Even though the hotel is not located in the city center, is not far from it, so the location is excellent for a tourist planning on sightseeing!! The tram 1 stop is almost in front of the hotel and that will take you to Dam Square and Central Station. The Leidseplein is walking distance just around the corner, and if your plan is to go to the Museumplein is also excellent just another 10 minutes walk!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahore, Pakistan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel is centrally located. It's about a 7-8 min walk to Leidseplein and a 10-12 min walk to Museumplein. Tram 1 stops very close to the hotel and goes to all the main stops as well, if you don't want to walk. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. You can also buy museum tickets (except for Anne Frank House) here to avoid the queues at the museums. There was free wifi in the room which was super-fast (which is great for serial photo uploaders like me!) The triple room size is pretty small though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromsø, Troms, Norway
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My fiance and I took our first trip to Amsterdam in June of 2013 for four nights, and we found the Hotel Espresso to be a very nice hotel and a convenient location for our base of exploration. The hotel is just around the corner from Leidseplein, featuring an unlimited number of bars, restaurants, and coffee shops for your enjoyment, along with tram lines to most areas of the city. But if you don't mind some walking, Amsterdam is also very accessible by foot, and in fact we only took the tram once during our stay. Despite being so close to Leidseplein, the area the Hotel Espresso is located in is very quiet and residential.

The hotel itself was immaculately clean, which is a huge consideration for us. It was quite warm during our stay, and the air conditioning was up to the task and kept the room at a comfortable temperature. The English-speaking staff at the front desk was very friendly and accommodating. The bed and pillows were also quite comfortable, a fact that can make or break your vacation due to the potential for too-little sleep. The room itself is small as others have noted, but this really made no difference to us.

There were a few negative aspects that I will mention, but none of these were extreme. First, the hinges on the doors for both the bathroom and the door to the hallway were ridiculously loud. There is no possible way one of us could enter the bathroom in the middle of the night without waking the other. This could be easily fixed with some oil. Also, the view outside the window is not the prettiest: mostly the backsides of somewhat run-down houses and businesses. In fact, the house next door was having work done by 2-7 men every morning, including jackhammers, shouting, etc. This was pretty annoying at times, although there isn't much the hotel can do about it, I expect. I also found it strange that we weren't given a 'do not disturb' sign for our door. It didn't end up being much of a problem, as the cleaning staff came by usually in late morning/early afternoon, but it still made me a little anxious since we can be late sleepers. I did notice later that other rooms had do not disturb signs on their doors, so maybe we were just overlooked somehow.

All in all, we were very happy with this hotel, taking into consideration the fair price and the great location. When we go back to Amsterdam, we will definitely consider staying at the Hotel Espresso again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espresso

Address: Overtoom 57, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Espresso 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Espresso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Espresso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.