We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Espresso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Espresso to your Saves list
Hotel Espresso
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Overtoom 57, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My self and partner stayed here for 4 nights during the last week of March.
The hotel itself was lovely, the young lady (brown hair) at reception was LOVELY! Although we only spoke to her on checking in and out she was warm and welcoming everytime. Our room was on the 1st floor and was directly above the main entrance to the hotel so there was a little bit of noise. The room itself was cosey and modernly decorated, the bathroom/shower room was great, with fab shower pressure! Its about a 5 minute walk (if that) from the hotel to the main streets which then take you to the centre, which you can get to by tram. All round would certainly recommend the hotel and stay here again. When we were looking for a hotel, it was hard to find one that was reasonably priced that didnt resemble a hostel! Hotel Espresso was just what we were looking for!

Room Tip: Request a room at the back of the hotel away from the road as you can hear trams etc outside! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    198
    51
    12
    6
See reviews for
79
138
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Loved staying at this hotel, it's easy access to both Schipol (bus 197) and Centraal Station via Tram #1). Room and bathroom were both very clean. Our room faced the street and we only heard minimal traffic noise. Reception was very helpful, booking a restaurant for us and giving us directions. I would stay here again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Modern hotel within a short distance to centre of the city. Rooms are comfortable with usual amenities. Bed a bit on the soft side, would recommend this hotel.
There is no parking apart from on the public road, you will need to pay till midnight, otherwise you can leave the car with Park and Ride located on the outskirts of the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Really nice hotel, very good location - there's a direct bus (nr 197) from Schiphol Airport, aprox. 35 min journey. Good connection with the city center too - 5 min walk and you are in Leidseplein Square. Very good facilities, clean rooms, clean towels, continental breakfast and 2 lovely and very helpul reception staff - girls, keep up the good work!!
Overall a pleasant experience and I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Just returned from my first visit to Amsterdam and by good fortune ended up booking the Hotel Espresso. My sister-in-law and I spent five days in the hotel and found it to be well run, perfect location for the whole of Amsterdam, very helpful staff and manager. Breakfast was excellent.
Cases were safely stored after booking out and on collection several hours later found to my amazement that my new shoes which I had left by accident under the bed were bagged up and placed with my case. Well done everyone involved. We had a great time and felt looked after and safe in Amsterdam. Two maturing ladies from Edinburgh, Scotland.

Room Tip: Remember to take warm clothing in the winter - quite cold but with the right clothing perfect weathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Hotel Espresso for a long weekend, we arrived early and our room was not ready, the receptionist offered us a safe place for our bags plus a complimentary coffee before we left to explore Amsterdam. A great start to our holiday! The room was very clean and tidy with a safe and beds made daily with clean towels if required. Approx. a 15 minute walk from the lively part of Amsterdam but this was great!! We had breakfast one day and that was sufficient, the receptionist was a constant help with nothing been too much trouble!! All in all it was a great place to stay and we would HIGHLY recommend it and will certainly be returning!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Located about 6-7 min walking from Leidseplein is a good option for those who want to avoid the busy centre- not our case! Lovely new clean hotel with good size rooms for Amsterdam. Easy access for prams and disabled, we stayed at ground floor but we noticed there is a lift. We stayed 4 days and they only came to clean once after me asking so for two days.. They never changed the bedding or the towels and there are no windows in the rooms- at least in our room. The problem with the double beds we had is that they are in fact two single beds together so the mattresses kept pulling apart but they are soft and comfy and so are the pillows. Other than that the breakfast is good with a good selection and the staff is very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espresso

Address: Overtoom 57, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Espresso 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Espresso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Espresso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.