We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in Amsterdam.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Espresso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Espresso to your Saves list
Hotel Espresso
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Overtoom 57, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent stay in Amsterdam.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed here recently with three other friends and we slept in the room that sleeps four people. We had a very enjoyable stay and the hotel was very easy to get to. Would definately recommend taking a bus from the airport as it was four euros and appeared by far the cheapest way to get to the city. We did not have the breakfast as it did appear abit overpriced so I cannot comment on the food.
The staff are extremely helpful and it is never too much trouble for them to assist you in directions/recommendations. The room and bathroom was clean. Beds were very comfortable. Hotel itself was nice and quiet, well all slept through with no noise distrubing us.
We used the bikes nearby which were a great way to see the city and the thai rest. closeby is amazing. A very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Be aware - the room we had that slept four people did not have a window. Good heating/cooling contro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    168
    45
    11
    6
See reviews for
71
113
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Hotel Espresso for 3 nights over my birthday. On arrival we were told that the hotel didn't have our booking but the receptionist quickly found us a room.
Room we had was modern, cosy and very clean. Maid service everyday and breakfast was more than adequate. Buffett style with plenty of choice and replenished quickly.
Location is great, 5 minute walk into town so close enough but nowhere near the nightlife. Would definitely stay here again if we did return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Good place to stay in Amsterdam. Just 300 meters from the Leidseplein, were all the bars are.

Nice renovated modern hotel with all the comfort you need. Good breakfast, clean bathroom. Friendly staff.

Beds are a bit soft but that is of course personal for everyone. Sheets are new and clean.

I stayed with my wife after a party eith some friends. A couple of nice restaurants are close by like Momo, the hippest place to be (make reservation).

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Comfortable rooms, helpful and nice staff and practice location. Nearby the Van Gogh Museum and the Leidseplein Square with bars and Pubs and nearby the great stores. Good bed wi-fi in the rooms, good breakfast. Enjoy the bike ride.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

This new hotel had great rooms, great and friendly staff, was modern and in a fantastic location. All amenities were close by and a short tram trip took you into the centre of the city. We got a great room rate, probably due to the season, cause going on past experience it was worth heaps more than we paid.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

hotel was new and comfortable also location is a plus, you can walk anywhere you want. very close to leidseplien and museums...
staff was very friendly and helpful...
and free wifi available in the room....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribeirão Preto, São Paulo, Brazil
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I am always skeptical about "new hotels" with "modern concepts", but i should say that Hotel Espresso was a great finding! The staff is really nice and helpful, the rooms are comfortable (with perfect heating system), free (and good) wi-fi in the rooms, good breakfast, excelent location and the silence - oh, god, the silence - it was one of my best sleep nights in years!! i felt young again and ready to walk around Amsterdam under snow and going to the University!
All my best to Hotel Espresso

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espresso

Address: Overtoom 57, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Espresso 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Espresso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Espresso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.