We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food I had during my holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lalibela

Lalibela
Eerste Helmerstrat 249, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Improve this listing
Ranked #182 of 2,244 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Ethiopian
Restaurant details
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best food I had during my holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Was short on time and found this place via Trip Advisor just in time... is on a strip with many other restaurants but this one stood out straight away. Me and my girlfriend stayed a week in Amsterdam and this was by far our favourite place to eat. We're actually going back soon and we've agreed we must go back to Lalibela!

Lots of vegetarian options, all very diverse, and served in a unique way. Definitely try the banana beer... lovely!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    13
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Lovely food & authentic atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This low key and homey spot serves delicious Ethiopian food, very freshly prepared. We went on a cold May weekday, and the spicy (but not overwhelmingly hot) dishes were just the ticket. Although we reserved, it wasn't necessary, but certainly would be on the weekend or later in the tourist season; there are only a few tables.

We made two vegetarian choices which were clearly freshly prepared (it took about 1/2 hour), and were absolutely delicious, surrounded by the customary sides of lentils (both warm and cold), spinach, potatoes and yams, and salad, all sitting on the traditional injera bread/very thin pancake. Wonderful flavour combos, as usual for Ethiopian food, all served in a friendly, family atmosphere. Not the place for a rushed bite, but a delightfully relaxed, great value (less than 30€ for two with three beers) meal.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

It doesn't look much from the outside, but it's cosy. Super service, eat with your hands and drink banana-flavoured beer from coconut shells - a great meal out.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful food, lovely owner, great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was my first time eating Ethiopian food. I have eaten some typical foods from other African countries, so I was a little nervous. The owner was very gracious, made suggestions for first timers, and yes, you DO eat with your hands, with pieces of a pancake-like bread to pick the food up with. it was tasty, spices are used in Ethiopian cooking that we Americans don't normally use with meat and savory dishes, but not a strong nor hot spicy, just delicious and different. It is a small, cozy and clean place in a quiet, mostly residential neighborhood behind the Overtoom. We finished with a cardamom tea, and the owner told us how she ended up in Amsterdam. We enjoyed this very much and have recommended it to others we have met while in Amsterdam.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lalibela also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Lalibela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lalibela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.