We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Identity Apartments

Save Saved
You added Amsterdam Identity Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amsterdam Identity Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Barajasweg 10 | Entrance Orly Center 2, 1043CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 173 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Cheshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have just returned from a weekend at the Identity Apartments in Amsterdam and I would definitely recommend it.

The apartments are in a really convenient location, across the road from Sloterdijk Station, which is only 5 minutes by train to Amsterdam Central and the trains are very regular. Getting a taxi to Amsterdam Central is under 20 euros.

Tip for you all at the train station, you need to buy your ticket then scan it before you get on the train! We didn't realise this until the end of our stay and you can be charged 35 euros apparently if you do not scan in your ticket.

The apartment was lovely, really keen, spacious and the beds were so comfy! The staff on reception were very helpful and polite with tips on where to go and what to do.

Overall a great stay and I would definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    54
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
56
41
5
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Navi Mumbai, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel is located in sloterdijk which is a stop away from the Amsterdam central station. So location wise it is quite convenient. Also it is not far away from the airport too. The rooms are big , clean and cosy. The bed was extremely comfortable. The kitchenette is well equipped. The only drawback is that the water in the bathroom sometimes tends to be too hot. Therefore one has to be a bit careful. Also there are no supermarkets nearby and one has to go to the sloterdijk station to buy basic stuff. Of course the station isn't very far. The staff were very friendly and co operative too.
Overall had a good experience and would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thijs V, Reservation Assistant at Amsterdam Identity Apartments, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Pkkk,

Thank you for your review.

Kind Regards,
Macha Koop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fantastic self catering apartments. My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights and enjoyed our stay here. The apartments are slightly away from the main city centre but right across the main Sloterjik metro and bus station. It takes 10 minutes to the amsterdam central station by bus and 4 minutes from the metro. 10 minutes away from the airport means you can stop at the apartment, leave your things and move out. The apartment itself has everything you could ask for, kitchen, utensils, great bathrooms, tv, DVD player Et all. Very limited tv channels though, and most cater to Dutch and German channels, but that didn't make much difference. The reception staff is very helpful and knowledgable and speak very good English.. The only downside we felt was the fact that you have to mentally prepare yourself to leave the place and get to the city centre, which was a minus point for us, but that had nothing to so with the apartment. Also, they don't have a full time kitchen or market near by, so you have to stock up on your own, but there are a couple of options across the road at the station. The area is predominantly office and college type so it's pretty safe all around.

Net net, nice place if you want to stay away from the city, it's canals and buzzing streets..

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thijs V, Reservation Assistant at Amsterdam Identity Apartments, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Prabhas,

Thank you for your kind review.

Kind Regards,
Macha Koop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

These apartments were incredibly spacious and remarkably clean. Decore was modern and very 'Amsterdam'. The beds were amazingly comfortable and the shower pressure strong. Staff were pleasant and helpful.

The only real negative would be the lack of air conditioning. Despite open windows, ventilation was poor and the heat became oppressive during our stay.

It is also worth noting that there was no washing machine or ironing facilities in the apartment. Washers and dryers were available in a communal area on the ground floor. Interestingly, there was also no toaster in the apartment. A strange over site for a self catering establishment.

It is also important to note that these apartments are in a commercial zone, well away from any place of interest. We chose to stay here as we had a car and secure parking was available. There was one restaurant across the road, which provided a reasonable meal. Amsterdam Centraal, however, was a only a five minute train ride away, with the Sloterdijk station two minutes walk across the road from the apartments.

If you have a car and are happy to stay a train ride away from the action, these apartments are a good choice. They are certainly recommended for families, or groups of friends, as they really are clean, modern and very spacious.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thijs V, Reservation Assistant at Amsterdam Identity Apartments, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Traci,

Thank you for the detailed review.
In the apartment we don't have airconditioning but you have a climate control system what good works to get your room colder when you keep the windows closed.
I'm sorry that you didn't know that you could get an iron board with iron in your room if they are available. Because of the fire-alarms a toaster isn't possible in the apartments.
We hope you still really enjoyed your stay at Amsterdam Identity Apartments.

Kind Regards,
Macha Koop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the identity apartments in late May for 2 nights while we were visiting Amsterdam. The access from the airport couldn't be better, we came out at Sloterdijk and didn't have a clue where we were going but we enquired at the ticket office and they told us to look for the FNV (I think) sign on the top of a building and head that direction, once we did we stumbled upon the apartments very quickly. We found the rooms to be a great size, modern, comfortable and all the conveniences we would want for only a weekend stay. We slept really well the beds were very comfortable and we when we used the shower late at night there was plenty of hot water. The location worked for us, we could have been in the centre but we didn't mind the short walk from Sloterdijk Station and the trains were so frequent we only had to wait 2 or 3 minutes before one would pull up. Then we were at Centraal in 5 minutes and we just picked a different direction to explore each of the days.

I don't think we could have asked for more from the apartments, the staff were courteous and spoke fluent English. They have a few vending machinese in the lobby for late night snacks, they don't use cash here so you have to charge coins to your room (or pay for the coins by credit card) and then use the coins in the machines. An odd system but I've noticed it more and more in hotels recently. Overall, I would definitely return and use the Identity apartments as a base when I'm next in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thijs V, Reservation Assistant at Amsterdam Identity Apartments, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Irishgirl,

Thank you for your kind review.

Kind Regards,
Macha Koop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On a family holiday with 2 young children, the apartment was a boon. One it was away from the hip-hop Amsterdam Centraal yet just a 6 minute train ride from Centraal..and once in Sloterdjik, it is only a less than 5 minute walk to the apartment. There is nothing much around this place and you have to travel to Centraal for everything, though a couple of restaurants can help with breakfast and early dinner. The staff were friendly, informative and helpful.
Not particularly happy with the Euro 300 damage deposit charged.. I mean that is quite a lot of money to be blocked on your card, even though we stayed there only for a couple of nights, and is much more than the non-refundable actual rent paid! Also there are no laundry facilities in the room, you need to pay for it separately.. for a short trip of ours didnt matter much.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thijs V, Reservation Assistant at Amsterdam Identity Apartments, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Sinsur,

Thank you for your review.
I understand your opinion about the €300,- deposit but this is a standard policy in our apart hotel which we communicate on every distribution channel and make an extra note of it in the confirmation, so that the guests is informed.
We hope you really enjoyed your stay at the apartment.

Kind Regards,
Macha Koop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although this wss in a businrss part of the city 6 mins train journey tok us into Central station. Apartments were only a stone throw from Sloterdijk station. Reception staff are very helpful. This was for 6 ladies on a short break, we had plenty of space, apartments were roomy and spacious. Decor was beautiful. The apartment was well equipped with dish washer & tablets for your stay, tea, coffee, sugar & milk. Beds were a dream. Would definitely recommend these apartments

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thijs V, Reservation Assistant at Amsterdam Identity Apartments, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Paterson,

Thank you for your review.

Kind Regards,
Macha Koop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amsterdam Identity Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Identity Apartments

Address: Barajasweg 10 | Entrance Orly Center 2, 1043CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 173 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam Identity Apartments 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Identity Apartments is very proud to present our first venue: AMSTERDAM IDENTITY APARTMENTS!By keeping authentic artistic design and production in own hands City Identity Apartments creates apartments with an authentic local identity of Amsterdam, a unique apartment hotel where people enjoy staying. Fifty-five (55) beautifully designed apartments ranging from 25 to 68m² in size extend over three floors. Twice the size for the price of one hotel room; A studio, one-, two- or three bedroom apartments, twin beds in each bedroom, multiple bathrooms per apartment, a unique living area and a fully equipped kitchen. All apartments are fully equipped with everything today’s travelers expect for a perfect business stay. In every one of our hotel-apartments you will experience the unique cultural richness that Amsterdam has to offer. From Rembrandt to modern stencil art, from a view over Amsterdam canals to the specific Amsterdam building facades. The interior design of our apartments boasts the unique elements of the city of Amsterdam and it’s historic background, with artistic design to create a warm, contemporary elegant atmosphere. Above all, Amsterdam Identity Apartments is situated within 200 metres from Sloterdijk station, within 15 minutes distance from Schiphol Airport, The World Trade Centre, Rai Exhibition center and less than 6 minutes from the central station in the buzzing city center of Amsterdam. Furthermore our 24-hour reception services at Amsterdam ID apartments satisfy the demands of international business & leisure travelers who enjoy eye for detail and the private services of our team. A fully equipped Fitness Studio, Sauna and the Dutch Lounge complete your comfortable stay at Amsterdam ID Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Amsterdam Identity Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Identity Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.