We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful apartment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Identity Apartments

Save Saved
You added Amsterdam Identity Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amsterdam Identity Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Barajasweg 10 | Entrance Orly Center 2, 1043CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

We very recently stayed at the Amsterdam Identity apartment. Our apartment was very nice, it slept 4 people had a spacious living and kitchen area, the bathroom was lovely and the decor all around the apartment was a really nice touch. Only thing was the 30 minutes of hot water between 4 people before the boiler re-heated an hour later. The view from the apartment windows were gorgeous. This place also had a gym and sauna which we unfortunately didn't get to use. I think for the price we paid it was beyond worth it. It was a 15 min bus ride on the number 48 from the Amsterdam Centraal station to Sloterdijk station and a 5 minute walk from there however on arrival it took us over an hour to locate the building, we weren't given any information on how to find it. The staff were very friendly and polite. Now I know where it is I would come back.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thijs V, Guest Relations Manager at Amsterdam Identity Apartments, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Travelbug2291,

Thank you for your review.
Normally we always send a route description with the confirmation e-mail, our apologies if you have never received this information.

We have solved the water issue. From now on you can shower unlimited!
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Thijs Voerman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    56
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
58
41
5
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forres, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed here it was a bit out of the city which we thought would be better having wayward teenagers with us. We expected there to be more shops ,cafe's, bars in the area of the apartments - but there was not . An overpriced food shop in the station and an expensive cafe bar outside station . The converted rail carrige cafe was great though. The apartments were clean and modern but a long trip up lifts and through corridors to reach your apartment views not great either , i would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thijs V, Guest Relations Manager at Amsterdam Identity Apartments, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Jayneychic,

Thank you for your review.
We are sorry to hear that our ApartHotel did not meet your expectations.

Kind Regards,
Thijs Voerman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Amsterdam Identity was a great hotel to stay at. There was a fridge, sink and a fair sized shower in my room. I booked via another hotel booking service and it mentioned that the bed was a double bed but it ended up being two single beds. The mattresses were too soft for my liking but I still managed to sleep well.
The staff at the reception were friendly and helpful and spoke very good english. There were two vending machines and a fridge in the lobby - one of the vending machines was not stocked up and pretty much empty (I think it is supposed to have toiletries) whilst the other had some confectionery. The fridge didn't have a vast selection but prices were reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thijs V, Guest Relations Manager at Amsterdam Identity Apartments, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear joes1230,

Thank you for your review.
You are correct, the vending machine on the left is meant for toiletries and we are still experimenting with the products.

Kind Regards,
Thijs Voerman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinha Grande, Portugal
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Reasonnable stay in a nice looking appartment that revealed some problems:
1. The staff - Very young andincompetent. We stayed for 4 nights and for everytime we left or arrived there was a different person at the reception . We had two reservations of 2 nights each and sent an email one month before our arrival asking them to gather them, so that we would not have to change appartment during both stays. By email we received an immediate confirmation. The night we arrived we asked that to the receptionist and he didn't know that but he told us to rest assured that there would be no problem. The next day morning we warned another receptionist of that. She knew nothing of the subject but told us to rest assured that there would be no problem. The next day morning, the same film: rest assured that there will be no problem. At night, when we arrived, our electronic key didn't allow us to enter our appartment!! Hello: what had they been doing? I had to go to the reception and beg for new keys, which I got, but 5 minutes later the receptionist called us at the appartment that we needed to check-in again, give our names again, show our documents again, which we refused. What had they been doing with our requests the previous days?? Another strange thing was that at check-in they asked us for a 250/350€ deposit for damages in the apartment or an ID card to keep in the safe until the check-out. The day we left we called the reception asking if they wanted to come upstairs and check the apartment: the receptionist seemded surprised and immediately asked if somethisn wrong had happened. I informed him that nothing had happened but htat as they had our ID in the safe, we needed it to leave. What was all that story of keeping the ID card if nobody checked anything?
2. The bedrooms - Great decoration, a little minimal (a chair would be nice), with original wallpaper (replica of famous paintings in the Rijkmuseum!), each bedroom had a large private bathroom (great), but beds gave us terrible nights because matresses were too soft!...
3. The open plan kitchen - Smelled terribly of fat, which made the whole appartment stink the same!... A little aeration when customers leave the appartment would be fine, so would the use of an air freshener! Minimal stock of chinaware (no saucers for cups, but cups were too many!!), pots, pans or utensils (we felt like they wanted to test our cooking skills...). Very low standards in what concerns cleanliness:china was filthy, looking like it hab been taken from the dishwasher without being washed at all!
Besides this, apartments were originally decorated, very quiet, the internet was good, the area has absolutely no interesting features at all but the fact that it was only a 3 minute walk to the Sloterdijk railway station.
We were 4: 2 adultas and two teenage boys.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thijs V, Guest Relations Manager at Amsterdam Identity Apartments, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear ElsaRM,

Our apologies for the inconvenience that occurred during your stay with us.
We will take all your comments into our consideration, the issues will be discussed with the responsible people to avoid this to happen again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Thijs Voerman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

This is quite possibly the first Apartment Hotel I have ever stayed in and these apartment had style! Clean, modern with the necessary modern kitchen appliances, I wondered why it took me so long to discover these apartments. Especially since I come to Amsterdam practically every year and last year I stayed at the Holiday Inn which is very close by for more. Admittedly the Holiday Inn comes with breakfast, but at a price.

I stayed in a 2 room apartment on the 6th floor with 3 other friends and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The place was very warm and light and very cosy. It is about 5 minutes walk from Sloterdijk train station so very handy for going into the city centre but without paying city centre hotel prices. There was a sauna, gym and an ironing room on the ground floor which all came handy except for the gym which I never got around to use.

What I like most of this place is that is felt like home from home and it was very convenient to get to from the airport. We have already all made arrangements to stay her next year. All in all they were about 40 of us in these apartments.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thijs V, Guest Relations Manager at Amsterdam Identity Apartments, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear OluOlu,

Thank you for your detailed review.

We are glad to hear to you enjoyed your stay together with your friends!
Looking forward to welcome you again next year.

Kind Regards,
Thijs Voerman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam Identity Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Identity Apartments

Address: Barajasweg 10 | Entrance Orly Center 2, 1043CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam Identity Apartments 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Identity Apartments is very proud to present our first venue: AMSTERDAM IDENTITY APARTMENTS!By keeping authentic artistic design and production in own hands City Identity Apartments creates apartments with an authentic local identity of Amsterdam, a unique apartment hotel where people enjoy staying. Fifty-five (55) beautifully designed apartments ranging from 25 to 68m² in size extend over three floors. Twice the size for the price of one hotel room; A studio, one-, two- or three bedroom apartments, twin beds in each bedroom, multiple bathrooms per apartment, a unique living area and a fully equipped kitchen. All apartments are fully equipped with everything today’s travelers expect for a perfect business stay. In every one of our hotel-apartments you will experience the unique cultural richness that Amsterdam has to offer. From Rembrandt to modern stencil art, from a view over Amsterdam canals to the specific Amsterdam building facades. The interior design of our apartments boasts the unique elements of the city of Amsterdam and it’s historic background, with artistic design to create a warm, contemporary elegant atmosphere. Above all, Amsterdam Identity Apartments is situated within 200 metres from Sloterdijk station, within 15 minutes distance from Schiphol Airport, The World Trade Centre, Rai Exhibition center and less than 6 minutes from the central station in the buzzing city center of Amsterdam. Furthermore our 24-hour reception services at Amsterdam ID apartments satisfy the demands of international business & leisure travelers who enjoy eye for detail and the private services of our team. A fully equipped Fitness Studio, Sauna and the Dutch Lounge complete your comfortable stay at Amsterdam ID Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Amsterdam Identity Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Identity Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.