We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pitty the beds were so soft!...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam ID Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Amsterdam ID Aparthotel to your Saves list
Amsterdam ID Aparthotel
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Naritaweg 51 | entrance Orly Center 2, 1043BP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #16 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Marinha Grande, Portugal
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A pitty the beds were so soft!...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Reasonnable stay in a nice looking appartment that revealed some problems:
1. The staff - Very young andincompetent. We stayed for 4 nights and for everytime we left or arrived there was a different person at the reception . We had two reservations of 2 nights each and sent an email one month before our arrival asking them to gather them, so that we would not have to change appartment during both stays. By email we received an immediate confirmation. The night we arrived we asked that to the receptionist and he didn't know that but he told us to rest assured that there would be no problem. The next day morning we warned another receptionist of that. She knew nothing of the subject but told us to rest assured that there would be no problem. The next day morning, the same film: rest assured that there will be no problem. At night, when we arrived, our electronic key didn't allow us to enter our appartment!! Hello: what had they been doing? I had to go to the reception and beg for new keys, which I got, but 5 minutes later the receptionist called us at the appartment that we needed to check-in again, give our names again, show our documents again, which we refused. What had they been doing with our requests the previous days?? Another strange thing was that at check-in they asked us for a 250/350€ deposit for damages in the apartment or an ID card to keep in the safe until the check-out. The day we left we called the reception asking if they wanted to come upstairs and check the apartment: the receptionist seemded surprised and immediately asked if somethisn wrong had happened. I informed him that nothing had happened but htat as they had our ID in the safe, we needed it to leave. What was all that story of keeping the ID card if nobody checked anything?
2. The bedrooms - Great decoration, a little minimal (a chair would be nice), with original wallpaper (replica of famous paintings in the Rijkmuseum!), each bedroom had a large private bathroom (great), but beds gave us terrible nights because matresses were too soft!...
3. The open plan kitchen - Smelled terribly of fat, which made the whole appartment stink the same!... A little aeration when customers leave the appartment would be fine, so would the use of an air freshener! Minimal stock of chinaware (no saucers for cups, but cups were too many!!), pots, pans or utensils (we felt like they wanted to test our cooking skills...). Very low standards in what concerns cleanliness:china was filthy, looking like it hab been taken from the dishwasher without being washed at all!
Besides this, apartments were originally decorated, very quiet, the internet was good, the area has absolutely no interesting features at all but the fact that it was only a 3 minute walk to the Sloterdijk railway station.
We were 4: 2 adultas and two teenage boys.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thijs V, Guest Relations Manager at Amsterdam ID Aparthotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear ElsaRM,

Our apologies for the inconvenience that occurred during your stay with us.
We will take all your comments into our consideration, the issues will be discussed with the responsible people to avoid this to happen again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Thijs Voerman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    78
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
73
49
6
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

This is quite possibly the first Apartment Hotel I have ever stayed in and these apartment had style! Clean, modern with the necessary modern kitchen appliances, I wondered why it took me so long to discover these apartments. Especially since I come to Amsterdam practically every year and last year I stayed at the Holiday Inn which is very close by for more. Admittedly the Holiday Inn comes with breakfast, but at a price.

I stayed in a 2 room apartment on the 6th floor with 3 other friends and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The place was very warm and light and very cosy. It is about 5 minutes walk from Sloterdijk train station so very handy for going into the city centre but without paying city centre hotel prices. There was a sauna, gym and an ironing room on the ground floor which all came handy except for the gym which I never got around to use.

What I like most of this place is that is felt like home from home and it was very convenient to get to from the airport. We have already all made arrangements to stay her next year. All in all they were about 40 of us in these apartments.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thijs V, Guest Relations Manager at Amsterdam ID Aparthotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear OluOlu,

Thank you for your detailed review.

We are glad to hear to you enjoyed your stay together with your friends!
Looking forward to welcome you again next year.

Kind Regards,
Thijs Voerman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed at the Identity apartments as part of our Europe trip, and we were very happy with our choice. The apartments are very new, and located close to Sloterdijk station (one stop away from Centraal, and also with trains to Schipol if needed). The area was quiet (but not dingy), it was in an office/commercial district, and we felt safe the whole time we were there.

The staff were also very friendly and helpful - when we returned from the hospital due to a nasty bug, they offered to let us use the scanner to send the documents to our travel insurance company.

Pros:
- Close to transport
- Quiet
- Clean
- Very new
- Free wifi
- Laundry facilities were very good

Cons:
- Cobblestones outside front door were difficult to roll wheeled luggage on

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thijs V, Guest Relations Manager at Amsterdam ID Aparthotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Vincent C,

thank you for your review.

Kind Regards,
Thijs Voerman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Everything in Amsterdam is just a train away. Super quiet apartments which provide clean amenities, great wee gym, friendly helpful staff. Just have to space showers apart when family of four as hot water heats every half hour, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thijs V, Guest Relations Manager at Amsterdam ID Aparthotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear GR8Shoppers,

Thank you for your review.
We have dealed with the hot water issue, from now on you can shower unlimited.

Kind Regards,
Thijs Voerman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I stayed here a short while ago with my wife and two daughters, and we found it most enjoyable. The whole place is ultra modern, free wifi (good speed too) and the staff were pleasant too.
The only small complaint I should mention was the funny single bed/s setup they use. Our bed was literally two singles pushed together, and made separate too. A bit odd, but apparently this is standard in the whole complex. Anyway, funny as it was it didn't bother us too much.
I would recommend these apartments to anyone visiting the dam who wants to stay a little further out of the central chaos, and who have a high standard of expectations. The location is only one stop on the metro from both Shiphol airport, and central Amsterdam, so very convenient.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thijs V, Guest Relations Manager at Amsterdam ID Aparthotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Kiwishredda,

Thank you for your review and your comment regarding the single beds.

Kind Regads,
Thijs Voerman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The location of the apartments is very convenient if you come to A'dam with the car - there is a garage where you can leave your car, and the connections to the city are close by and get you to the centre in little time. The garage is not the cheapest, but compared to other sleeping accommodations it is also not too steep. The apartment itself has everything one needs for a short stay, and on top of it, it is cosy. The only minus are the beds, which are too soft.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thijs V, Guest Relations Manager at Amsterdam ID Aparthotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Ana K,

Thank you for your review.

Kind Regards,
Thijs Voerman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Amsterdam ID Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam ID Aparthotel

Address: Naritaweg 51 | entrance Orly Center 2, 1043BP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam ID Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Identity Apartments is very proud to present our first venue: AMSTERDAM IDENTITY APARTMENTS! By keeping authentic artistic design and production in own hands City Identity Apartments creates apartments with an authentic local identity of Amsterdam, a unique apartment hotel where people enjoy staying. 94 beautifully designed apartments ranging from 25 to 68m² in size extend over three floors. Twice the size for the price of one hotel room; studio, one-, two- or three bedroom apartments, twin beds in each bedroom, multiple bathrooms per apartment, a unique living area and a fully equipped kitchen. All apartments are fully equipped with everything today's travelers expect for a perfect business stay. In every one of our hotel-apartments you will experience the unique cultural richness that Amsterdam has to offer. From Rembrandt to modern stencil art, from a view over Amsterdam canals to the specific Amsterdam building facades. The interior design of our apartments boasts the unique elements of the city of Amsterdam and it's historic background, with artistic design to create a warm, contemporary elegant atmosphere. Above all, Amsterdam Identity Apartments is situated within 200 metres from Sloterdijk station, within 15 minutes distance from Schiphol Airport, The World Trade Centre, Rai Exhibition center and less than 6 minutes from the central station in the buzzing city center of Amsterdam. Furthermore our 24-hour reception services at Amsterdam ID apartments satisfy the demands of international business & leisure travelers who enjoy eye for detail and the private services of our team. A fully equipped Fitness Studio, Sauna and the Dutch Lounge complete your comfortable stay at Amsterdam ID Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Budget Places, Odigeo, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Amsterdam ID Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam ID Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.