We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for couples” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fletcher Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fletcher Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Fletcher Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schepenbergweg 50, 1105 AT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not for couples”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel is in a poor location. Long walk to train station. It's a studio room with the shower a clear cylinder in the middle of the room. No privacy. If you use the hairdryer, the plug is away from any mirror so you can't see what you are doing. There is no concierge so you have to wait in line to ask the check in desk any questions. They couldn't help at all with anything. They didn't even know where I could rent a car. Good place maybe for a single business person. The building looks cool from the outside and the restaurant on top has nice views. My husband was on business and I joined him there.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fletcher H, General Manager at Fletcher Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
I am sorry to hear afterwards you where not happy with the location of the hotel.
Especially because we provide free shuttle service to the public transport.
Next to the mirror we have a socket, because of your review we add stickers on the socket.
Thank you for sharing your comments with us.

Regards,

Trudy vd Hulst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    114
    59
    21
    12
See reviews for
15
120
7
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed in this hotel due to it's location to the Ziggo Dome and its meeting facilities. With regards to those two elements the hotel delivered. It's very close to the Ziggo Dome and the meeting facilities are pretty good. What isn't pretty good though is everything else about this hotel. If you're going to create a "design hotel" then make sure the design is also functional. The shower in the middle of room is ridiculous, the beds are uncomfortable and far too narrow and the duvets are thin and once again, too narrow. The service is what i would describe as "nice but cold", there is zero warmth in that property, none of the staff seem to have been trained in customer care and no one actually seems to care whether or not the guest is enjoying the experience of the hotel.

I will not be choosing this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed here just for one night to go and see a Dutch soccer game in the Arena so close. The hotel is a 15 min walk but has a shuttle service that picks you up for free, you just need to call them and know about it.. We didn't and got soaked with our big suitcases. But they brought us all the way to the Arena at night so nothing bad about that service.
The room is ok, with a glass shower in the middle of the room. Also a sink is in the room and a separate toilet but open on the top. So like somebody said before: if you're sharing this room with an early love, friend, neighbour or collegue: there is no privacy!!!
The fancy pancy shower leaked all over the floor and as a solution for that they just gave us big and lots of towels. Ok, fine for us, for one night. They view from the room ( you have one huge window) looked over the highway so lots to see only not a very pretty side.
We had some drinks at the roof top bar, very friendly bartender, great atmosphere with a piano player.
We stayed for one night, it was good. But not for a few nights.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My friend and I stayed in this hotel (2 nights) for the ADE festival, especially for a trance party at Ziggo Dome. As regards to the Ziggo Dome, the location of this hotel is perfect, you can go on feet quite easily for on average 20-25 min.
The hotel itself is very clean, with outstanding futurist features and lights. We did appreciate our original bedroom with the shower at the middle. Staff is nice. Free wifi.

Negative points to highlight: the hotel is far from downtown. You can take the metro (Amsterdam Holendrecht station) but you will have to walk for 15-20 min + 20 min by metro to Centraal Station.
Extra things such as coffee or drinks are very expensive (owning to me), a mere coffee costs EUR 3.25 (we did not take breakfast included because we knew we would have woken up lately).

To crown it in all, a very good hotel for parties or events to Ziggo Dome or near. Should you plan to visit Amsterdam city, it would not be a useful place to stay.

Room Tip: It would be better to take rooms on the first floors. The two elevators are usually busy, so you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed at the hotel as it was close to the business that I was visiting and it was within my budget.

The hotel is a little remote and the lack of a car left us reliant on our local contact, taxi or the metro which is approx. 15 minutes walk away.

The rooms are qwerky to say the least and like others feel that the perspex cylinder which is the shower is okay but is more style over substance.

Reception was slow in the morning with long queues for check out - this was compounded by only two lifts covering all floors (18) so when one finally arrived at ground level it was normally full and with staff only having two speeds - slow and stop - the line soon grew.

Would I stay again - yes because of proximity to business but if you are after a hotel in which to stay when exploring Amsterdam I'm sure you can find something closer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel is great - I liked it -, IF

30 minutes to the center by metro is ok for you
You accept a glass shower in the middle of the room
No separate washing area is acceptable

As such it is fine for singles, loving couples and married couples, not for others.

Reception efficient and friendly, shuttle to/from airport ok ( for two the taxi is not much more expensive), shuttle to metro also

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Looks very different from other hotels the outside. The bedrooms are quirky, with the shower cubicle in the middle. However the arrangement doesn't work well and the rooms are not comfortable. The outside of the hotel has a "spotty" facade surrounding it (difficult to describe so look at the pictures), but this blocks the view from the small round bedroom windows. We were on the 15th floor, but had no real view.

Worst problem was the restaurant: undercooked fish, painfully slow service, inaccurate descriptions on the menu, tables not made up after customers had left, too much salt, poorly balanced dishes (no carbohydrate, so I was still hungry at the end) and expensive. We did complain (twice) and our aperitifs and water were removed from the bill, but this was hardly compensation and we still payed more than 130 Euro for two (two courses each and a bottle of wine).

Location is convenient for the A9 and A2, so if you are travelling by car the location useful. If you are trying to see Amsterdam, this isn't a good location.

Bedrrom was 93 Euro per night, which is reasonable but I can't give say the hotel offers good value since the restaurant is so overpriced.

Room Tip: They are all the same. A view over the ZiggoDome is slightly more interesting that the view over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fletcher Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fletcher Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Schepenbergweg 50, 1105 AT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fletcher Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This futuristic shaped Fletcher hotel is located within a 2-minutes' drive from the A2 and A9 highways. It offers free Wi-Fi and modern rooms with a flat-screen TV, work desk and a magnificent view. Train Station Bijlmer is only 4 km away. The shower is in a glass cylinder column in the middle of the room. Fletcher hotel provides breakfast, lunch and dinner in its Skyrestaurant Pi restaurant which has a panoramic view over Amsterdam. Drinks can be enjoyed in the Skylounge Pi. Guests can make use of the fitness centre or relax on the terrace if permitted by weather. The 24-hour front desk offers service when needed. Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, Amsterdam Arena and Amsterdam South Axis are all within a 10-minute drive away from Fletcher Hotel Amsterdam. The city centre is 15 minutes' drive away by car and the hotel offers a shuttle service to station Holendrecht at a surcharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Fletcher Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fletcher Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.