We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style over Substance” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fletcher Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fletcher Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Fletcher Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schepenbergweg 50, 1105 AT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Style over Substance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed at the hotel as it was close to the business that I was visiting and it was within my budget.

The hotel is a little remote and the lack of a car left us reliant on our local contact, taxi or the metro which is approx. 15 minutes walk away.

The rooms are qwerky to say the least and like others feel that the perspex cylinder which is the shower is okay but is more style over substance.

Reception was slow in the morning with long queues for check out - this was compounded by only two lifts covering all floors (18) so when one finally arrived at ground level it was normally full and with staff only having two speeds - slow and stop - the line soon grew.

Would I stay again - yes because of proximity to business but if you are after a hotel in which to stay when exploring Amsterdam I'm sure you can find something closer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    102
    55
    20
    11
See reviews for
15
104
7
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel is great - I liked it -, IF

30 minutes to the center by metro is ok for you
You accept a glass shower in the middle of the room
No separate washing area is acceptable

As such it is fine for singles, loving couples and married couples, not for others.

Reception efficient and friendly, shuttle to/from airport ok ( for two the taxi is not much more expensive), shuttle to metro also

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
137 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Looks very different from other hotels the outside. The bedrooms are quirky, with the shower cubicle in the middle. However the arrangement doesn't work well and the rooms are not comfortable. The outside of the hotel has a "spotty" facade surrounding it (difficult to describe so look at the pictures), but this blocks the view from the small round bedroom windows. We were on the 15th floor, but had no real view.

Worst problem was the restaurant: undercooked fish, painfully slow service, inaccurate descriptions on the menu, tables not made up after customers had left, too much salt, poorly balanced dishes (no carbohydrate, so I was still hungry at the end) and expensive. We did complain (twice) and our aperitifs and water were removed from the bill, but this was hardly compensation and we still payed more than 130 Euro for two (two courses each and a bottle of wine).

Location is convenient for the A9 and A2, so if you are travelling by car the location useful. If you are trying to see Amsterdam, this isn't a good location.

Bedrrom was 93 Euro per night, which is reasonable but I can't give say the hotel offers good value since the restaurant is so overpriced.

Room Tip: They are all the same. A view over the ZiggoDome is slightly more interesting that the view over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Hotel has one of the most interesting and modern designs, especially the shower in the middle of the room is interesting. Pleased with the overall appearance, breakfast is good and the dinner on the top restaurant is very good. However, the hotel lacks some personality and is somehow "cold", also from staff at reception. The area around it is also very quiet at night and not a good place where to go. Good if you are there for business and plan on staying at hotel but if your are looking for some entertainment in the evening outside of the hotel go somewhere else.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same - the higher you get, the better the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Rooms are fine - very modern, if small. Other service awful. Breakfast - not a single table clean or laid, dishes piled up, wait on food top ups. Understaffed? Not a single knife or fork to be had.
Hotel too remote - small shuttle bus service had to be "booked" (they dont tell you until you try to get on and its fully booked) - and they charge for it. I stayed due to proximity to Ziggo Dome - but it was not really walkable. Staff were nice enough - more an invisible management issue. Not a good experience. I did receoive small reduction in bill, to be fair but I'd rather have comfort and enjoyment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We expected 4 star comfort from this spectacular and fairly pricey hotel at over 300 euros p/n for a three night stay. We wanted to experience an"ultra modern" European hotel - the showers in the middle of the room, sweeping views, in-house cocktail lounge and comfort after lots of car travel. We can say the bed was the best we had in 6 weeks, the room was spacious and quiet, the towels were fluffy and new, the elevators were efficient(we were on the 15th floor) BUT the annoying things were numerous. No tissues , no gowns, no hooks to hang items on, poor lighting, lack of privacy with the toilet arrangements. The coffee sachets, only two per day, provided a weak cup at best; one small bottle of water the first night only; no refrigerator or minibar. There was only one plastic key card per room - this caused some logistical issues for two people as the card operated the elevator and the room electrics so if one of us had to go elsewhere in the hotel using the key to operate the elevator then the other person was left without power in the room! We overheard other guests seeking a second key card too but to no avail - it was hotel policy!! Reception staff helped with good information and a shuttle to the station but seemed constrained by resources and "policy". What a shame that all these little things added up to a poor impression of hospitality.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I travelled for business recently and stayed 3 nights at the hotel. The hotel has a contemporary design, is very clean and obviously new.

This is a business hotel, it's far from the city centre, a good 15 min walk to the train station and I would not like to be walking back from the train alone at night.

The staff and the service were for the most part unfriendly and unhelpful. The default answer was no. I asked for an iron in my room I was told 'no'. I asked why 'because we have none'. So I had to ask again in the morning. It's not hard to say 'we don't have at the moment can you phone again in the morning'. Just one example I could go on.

In downstairs bar I waited for 20 mins to get served and eventually went inside to order it myself. Apparently it's not usually busy at that time so they weren't expecting so many guests. Strange!!

However at breakfast a friendly gentleman welcomed me each morning. The night porter was also very friendly.

BTW the breakfast is extra and fairly pricey.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fletcher Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fletcher Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Schepenbergweg 50, 1105 AT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fletcher Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This futuristic shaped Fletcher hotel is located within a 2-minutes' drive from the A2 and A9 highways. It offers free Wi-Fi and modern rooms with a flat-screen TV. Train Station Bijlmer is 4 km away. Each room has a view over the direct surroundings and offers a work desk. The shower is in a glass cylinder column in the middle of the room. Fletcher hotel provides breakfast, lunch and dinner in its Skyrestaurant Pi restaurant which has a panoramic view over Amsterdam. Drinks can be enjoyed in the Skylounge Pi. Guests can make use of the fitness centre or relax on the terrace if permitted by weather. The 24-hour front desk offers service when needed. Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, Amsterdam Arena and Amsterdam South Axis are all within a 10-minute drive away from Fletcher Hotel Amsterdam. The city centre is 15 minutes' drive away by car and the hotel offers a shuttle service to station Holendrecht at a surcharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Fletcher Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fletcher Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.