We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe the hype...this place is awesome :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam West

Save Saved
You added Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam West
Johan Broedeletstraat 35, 1064 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save us the commission
Ranked #24 of 305 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Believe the hype...this place is awesome :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I spent a night here with my girlfriend and it could not have been better. Rhalf and Kitty are some of the nicest proprietors you will ever meet, their house is very comfortable, full of all sorts of great amenities, in a great location near the city center, and overlooking a canal. FANTASTIC.

Also, the house is full of all sorts of unique memorabilia giving it a very personalized feel. Highest recommendation. They only have two rooms, so do your best to get one!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broedelet35, Eigenaar at Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam West, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for the great review.
Was a pleasure having you as guests.
And maybe till next time.
Best Regards
Rhalf and Kitty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lodz, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Our stay in B&B Amsterdam West was fantastic! Most of this success is the merit of the B&B owners :) We choosed their B&B on our Europe`s trip on the occasion of ours 20th wedding anniversary. Last time when we were together in 4-stars Amsterdam hotel in the center, we were not so contented as now :) Really! This time, we spent 5 days/4 night hosted by Kitty and Ralph in a very domestic and warm atmosphere. They are friendly, open and helpful in everything we asked for and we could imagine. There were no problem with anything – booking, choosing the room, payment etc. Ralph even proposed us his help in making up some things connected with our stay before we come (e.g. buying us Iamsterdam cards – they were waiting for us and our coming). Besides, R&K gave us many useful informations about Amsterdam, that we didn`t know, what helped us in our discovering this city once more.
The room with the outside doors to the small terrace by the canal was pretty, clean, fragrant and nice. Bathroom, kitchenette, sauna, “all needs tables” – were all very welcoming. The separate doors to the guests rooms are also very comfortable. What else? High speed Wi-Fi, free parking for the car, really good location – the tram stop is just behind the corner (and tram goes 15 minutes to the central station) – it is really not so far from the center!, even on foot. In addition - quite nice surroundings, Amsterdam`s highway ring – close to the B&B, good price, the breakfasts of Kitty are gorgeous, BIG :) and scrummy.
But the best part of our stay there, was a day with the bike tour with Ralph on his Basmans – the most comfortable bicycles we`ve ever ridden! It seemed to be an easy and lazy touristic ride :) But on the waves of our exhilaration with those bikes it came into an evil urban bike game, after that we were already the kings of the A-dam`s roads! I am sure, we will come back here!

Room Tip: Our stay in B&B Amsterdam West was fantastic! Most of this success is the merit of the B&B o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Rhalf & Kitty are terrific innkeepers who care about their guests and provide very comfortabvle accomodations. Requested airport transportation which was very convenient. Wonderful breakfast every morning. The best poffertjes served in Amsterdam. 24 hour teas/coffee. Convenience of refrigerator and microwave. Very comfortable bed. Location along the canal. Highly recommend their lodging for anyone visiting Amsterdam. Public transportation is very close to this location.

Room Tip: Both rooms are located along the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broedelet35, Eigenaar at Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam West, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. It was a pleasure having you as our guests and being able to help when possible. Hope to see you guys in the future again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

+great breakfast plus all-day-free coffee/tee available by little kitchen in the hall
+cosy rooms, clean and modern bathrooms even with a sauna
+located close to public transportation
+super friendly and helpful owners, chatting whilst breakfast gives you a feeling of visiting long-time friends and by the way you get insiders´tips
- clairaudient building

Altogether we had an awesome 4-days-city-trip in Amsterdam, not least because of the great accommodation at Rhalf and Kitty

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Rhalf and Kitty were amazing hosts. They picked us up from the airport, gave us maps of the area and taught us the ins and outs of Amsterdam. They also offered to help out with anything we needed such as tickets, groceries and other travel plans. The room was always clean, breakfast was always fantastic and the facilities such as the microwave, Wi-fi, shower, sauna, etc. were of top-notch quality. The best part about our trip was touring around with the custom bikes they have for rent. I can't recommend this place enough. I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halle (Saale), Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was definately the best choice of place to stay we have made in a long time. I was there with my girlfriend for 2 nights and we Couldn´t have asked for anything better!. The place is very tidy, the rooms were very clean and tidy, the bed was very comfortable aswell. Breakfast was awsome and very cozy. Rhalf was very helpful whenever we needed it and gave us some good information about the city. The bikes were also the best a must do!
Thank you for everything would definately go back here in a hurry!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Toscana, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Ralph and Kitty are excellent hosts. Nice and helpful, they gave us many useful tips and valuable information for our trips.
The room is in compliance with description, clean and quiet. In a moment you arrive in the city center, 5 minutes by tram, 10 bike through a beautiful park.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broedelet35, Owner at Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam West, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Google Translation
Hallo
We zijn blij dat we het jullie zo naar de zin hebben kunnen maken. Het was ook een bijzonder charmante verrassing als verjaardagscadeau en daar werken we graag aan mee. Mogelijk tot een volgende maal.
Met vriendelijk groet
Rhalf en Kitty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam West

Address: Johan Broedeletstraat 35, 1064 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Amsterdam, bicycle capitol of the world. Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam West is as you might have guessed on the West Side of town. The centre of town with all touristic attractions and museums is 15-20 minutes by bicycle or public transport. ABOUT US: B&B Broedelet 35 is run by a family with a fascination for wheels and bicycles in particulair. The house, build in the early 60's, hosts a collection of unique bicycles designs and other collectables.ROOMS: - Comfortable private room with big twin bed. The rooms are located downstairs overlooking the canal behind the house. The guest bathroom and toilet are on the same level. B&B Broedelet has 2 guest rooms and can accommodate 4 guests. You will have your own front door key. The B&B has it's own entrence.- High-Speed wireless internet- Check-in and check-out times are flexibleINCLUDING: - Tea and coffee - Simple and nutritious breakfast - Shower gel, shampoo, tooth paste and towels - Cleaning fee- Our service. We will be happy to help you out with questions you might have regarding directions to restaurants, musea, clubs, bars and shops.Enjoy your stay in Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.