We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Busyness and weekend break? This is a good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Get a 5-15% discount
Ranked #38 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“For Busyness and weekend break? This is a good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I was recently in Amsterdam for a business meeting on a Friday this July and decided to extend the visit over the weekend, taking my wife and visit some museums galleries and see the city.
The hotel was nice for both needs. The room is og god size, the bed is large and the mattress very comfortable. The staff is very pleasant and happy to assist. The restaurant is one the nicest int Amsterdam I was told. I do not know if it is one of the nicest, surely is very good!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear George T,

Sir Albert is heartened by your wonderful praise of his Private Mansion, and would like to thank you for letting him know how much you and your wife have enjoyed your stay.

The restaurant and bar is Sir Albert’s personal favorite place to be! So it must be one of nicest! ;)

It will be an honour to welcome you both back soon.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    101
    22
    7
    2
See reviews for
15
177
8
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I booked a 3 night mid week break for my partner's birthday through Secret Escapes, after which I looked at Trip Advisor reviews and was concerned that the room would be on the small side. It wasn't. I was pleasantly surprised by the room size and unusual layout, which worked - sink unit in bedroom, separate toilet and shower. Radio and i-pad dock provided in room, extensive mini bar and food basket both reasonably priced.

Rooms cleaned daily and very clean but under the bed could do with a good dust. Exceedingly comfy bed and personal touches - we had quotes on printed post-it notes left on our mirror and and card, book, keyring and balloon bouquet left in the room for my boyfriend on his birthday. We both appreciated this.

I requested a room on the top floor at the back of the hotel after reviews rooms can be noisy - we were on the second floor and didn't hear a peep through our stay.

On arrival, we were greeted by friendly staff and a glass of Prosecco whilst we booked in. Our bags were taken to our room and we were shown around and provided with a map. The front of house staff were exceedingly helpful throughout our short stay, looking up best routes on public transport, advising us of the best places to go and see and booking tickets online on our behalf.

We didn't have opportunity to eat in the hotel restaurant but it was fully booked and buzzing every night (Tues - Fri). There are a number of good, small restaurants opposite the hotel - we ate in the Italian on our first evening which was ok for a quick late bite.

Good location close to museum quarter, tram stop to centre outside hotel took 10 minutes on tram to central station. Trams every 6 minutes.

Great hotel, would stay again and recommend to anyone - maybe not good for families with young children.

Room Tip: Higher floor at back of hotel quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear AllalOM,

Sir Albert is heartened by your wonderful praise of his Private Mansion, and would like to thank you for sharing your extensive experience online.

Sir Albert definitely recommends his favorite restaurant and bar “Izakaya” the next time you are visiting his neighborhood. His staff can always help you with making restaurant reservations.

Sir Albert and his staff are very happy to know that you would like to return in the future.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We spent 4 nights at Sir Albert and all in all everything was great! The rooms are very modern, tastefully decorated with a contrast of black and white, and no noise at all is heard through the double glazed windows. The corridors and stairs are a little dark but that is part of the decor, though can be tricky if your eyesight is not up to scratch.

We did not have breakfast at the hotel nor dinner as we found it slightly over budget, but there are lots of places to have a very good breakfast. We were told that in the past, the de Pijp, was quite a rough area but a lot has changed and it is now a thriving, bohemian part of Amsterdam, just out of the city centre but easily reachable via tram, bike or on foot.

The staff could not have been more helpful. This is a very good hotel, try it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Alison B,

Sir Albert is absolutely delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at his Private Mansion so much. Guest Service is amongst Sir Albert’s highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.

As you noted Sir Albert’s neighborhood is an upcoming, and a lot of trendy hotspots are established in this area.

He wants to thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. and wants to let you know that it will be an honour for him and his staff to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Sir Albert Hotel is a wonderful place to stay in Amsterdam. The hotel staff were most helpful and friendly. Great location, convenient for everything. Our room was charming with a comfy bed. Should you be in Amsterdam on vacation, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Peter,

Sir Albert appreciates the time you took to share your personal feedback regarding to your stay at his Private Mansion.

He kindly wants to thank you for recommending our hotel so highly, and he is very pleased that you have spent an enjoyable time in Amsterdam and in his Private Mansion.

It will be an honour for Sir Albert and his staff to welcome you back again.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

You will not find a better boutique hotel in Amsterdam.

My wife and I have had the pleasure of staying there for 29 days.

We have travelled for years and naturally have stayed in many hotels. Most hotels try to make you feel at home of course, but this one made us feel like we stayed at a FRIEND'S HOME.

From the hotel's manager down to the doorman, we were treated as a special guests during the entire stay.

Besides the amazing accommodation, the hotel is very conveniently located to explore Amsterdam.

We HIGHLY recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Our second visit to this hotel was again flawless.

Everyone who works in the hotel are friendly & very polite, it's almost like coming back home to family.

The hotel restaurant is defiantly worth eating in superb Asian food & lively atmosphere.

The rooms are clean and finished to a very high standard. The beds are well just amazing there is so many other quirky things to discover I'll leave that up to you :)

We will be back again very soon!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Kevin L,

Sir Albert is absolutely delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at his Private Mansion so much. He wants to thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

Guest Service is amongst Sir Albert’s highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.

Sir Albert’s and his staff wants to thank you kindly for recommending his Mansion to other travelers, and hope to welcome you back in the future for a truly distinctive stay.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Very modern hotel with a fantastic Japanese restaurant. Room was very comfortable, plenty of space and serviced daily. Very quiet nights sleep. The staff were friendly and happy to help. De Pijp is a lovely area, walking distance to the Musuems.
Would stay there again.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Jeff S,

We kindly thank you for recommending our hotel so highly, and we are very pleased to know that you have spent such an enjoyable time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Amsterdam, Sir Albert is a luxury boutique hotel embodying the modern aristocratic attitude. That means: living like the upper crust but having an approach that’s distinctly down to earth. In this luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam you get: the finest design and boutique accommodation within walking distance of Amsterdam’s art-packed Museumplein and the vibrant Leidseplein, plus attentive, friendly and faultless service at all times.Sir Albert lives in De Pijp, the Quartier Latin of Amsterdam. Home to literati, artists, fashion designers, entrepreneurs and the city’s most famous market, the Albert Cuyp. De Pijp is also close to the Royal Concertgebouw, for lovers of classical music. And for lovers of shopping, you’re a leisurely stroll from Van Baerlestraat and the legendary P.C. Hooftstraat.Sample Sir Albert firsthand by staying in one of his 90 guest rooms and suites, all created by international award-winning designers BK Architecture. This makes Sir Albert a unique luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tablet Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, Booking.com and T4B so you can book your Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.