We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - would definitely return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 10% On Your Stay !
Ranked #37 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great stay - would definitely return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We spent 4 nights at Sir Albert and all in all everything was great! The rooms are very modern, tastefully decorated with a contrast of black and white, and no noise at all is heard through the double glazed windows. The corridors and stairs are a little dark but that is part of the decor, though can be tricky if your eyesight is not up to scratch.

We did not have breakfast at the hotel nor dinner as we found it slightly over budget, but there are lots of places to have a very good breakfast. We were told that in the past, the de Pijp, was quite a rough area but a lot has changed and it is now a thriving, bohemian part of Amsterdam, just out of the city centre but easily reachable via tram, bike or on foot.

The staff could not have been more helpful. This is a very good hotel, try it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Alison B,

Sir Albert is absolutely delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at his Private Mansion so much. Guest Service is amongst Sir Albert’s highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.

As you noted Sir Albert’s neighborhood is an upcoming, and a lot of trendy hotspots are established in this area.

He wants to thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. and wants to let you know that it will be an honour for him and his staff to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    129
    30
    8
    2
See reviews for
18
232
14
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Sir Albert Hotel is a wonderful place to stay in Amsterdam. The hotel staff were most helpful and friendly. Great location, convenient for everything. Our room was charming with a comfy bed. Should you be in Amsterdam on vacation, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Peter,

Sir Albert appreciates the time you took to share your personal feedback regarding to your stay at his Private Mansion.

He kindly wants to thank you for recommending our hotel so highly, and he is very pleased that you have spent an enjoyable time in Amsterdam and in his Private Mansion.

It will be an honour for Sir Albert and his staff to welcome you back again.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

You will not find a better boutique hotel in Amsterdam.

My wife and I have had the pleasure of staying there for 29 days.

We have travelled for years and naturally have stayed in many hotels. Most hotels try to make you feel at home of course, but this one made us feel like we stayed at a FRIEND'S HOME.

From the hotel's manager down to the doorman, we were treated as a special guests during the entire stay.

Besides the amazing accommodation, the hotel is very conveniently located to explore Amsterdam.

We HIGHLY recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Our second visit to this hotel was again flawless.

Everyone who works in the hotel are friendly & very polite, it's almost like coming back home to family.

The hotel restaurant is defiantly worth eating in superb Asian food & lively atmosphere.

The rooms are clean and finished to a very high standard. The beds are well just amazing there is so many other quirky things to discover I'll leave that up to you :)

We will be back again very soon!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Kevin L,

Sir Albert is absolutely delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at his Private Mansion so much. He wants to thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

Guest Service is amongst Sir Albert’s highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.

Sir Albert’s and his staff wants to thank you kindly for recommending his Mansion to other travelers, and hope to welcome you back in the future for a truly distinctive stay.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Very modern hotel with a fantastic Japanese restaurant. Room was very comfortable, plenty of space and serviced daily. Very quiet nights sleep. The staff were friendly and happy to help. De Pijp is a lovely area, walking distance to the Musuems.
Would stay there again.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Jeff S,

We kindly thank you for recommending our hotel so highly, and we are very pleased to know that you have spent such an enjoyable time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We arrived two hours before check in and welcomed with proseco which was lovely. The study downstairs was very funky and the whole check in experience and luggage delivery to the rooms was excellent. The gentleman who took our luggage and showed us to our room was friendly and competent. The lady at reception was also very friendly and offered a lot of information on Amsterdam.

We got to our room and it was very querky and modern. The size was however very very small for the price we paid. This was a bit shocking. There was really hardly any room to move around and the room was so hot even after adjusting the temperature and asking the reception to help with the heat.

We used the "do not disturb" button most of the time as we funnily enough...didn't want to be disturbed. With this, the door rang approximately three times every day. Sometimes waking us up, sometimes entering when were sleeping, and sometimes when just out of the shower and not even clothed. This is not acceptable.

The housekeeping wasn't great. The bedsheets were not changed every day which I personally like when staying in hotels.

Rooms service was excellent. Prompt and the operators on the telephone were very assisting.

There were also a couple of faults. The phone accidentally rang very late at night and woke us up, and also the radio turned itself on very late again and gave me the fright of my life.

Wifi was excellent and very fast.



Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Clarita Q,

Sir Albert appreciates the time you took to share your feedback. He sincerely regrets the streak of bad luck you had in regards to the issues in your room and is disappointed that he could not meet your expectations.

Sir Albert will certainly have the maintenance team look into and further address your concerns.

Please be advised that your experience does not reflect the normal experience of Sir Albert’s guests.

Sir Albert is happy that you have enjoyed other facilities of his Private Mansion and would be very grateful if you could give us another chance to fully meet your expectations.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I love this area of Amsterdam. Much quieter than around Dam Square, but still really vibrant with some great bars, restaurants and cafés.

Reception staff were really friendly when checking in, as you would expect from a hotel like this. The porter than took us to our room was so wonderful. He gave such a great first impression.

Our room was great. As two sisters we found the room to be a perfect size. Some other reviews are saying the rooms are small, but when you are out all day, we didn't find it an issue.

Loved the coffee machine for my morning coffee too!

It's a 10 minute walk to the Van Gogh Museum and a short 10-15 tram ride (16 or 24) into Central Amsterdam. These trams also go straight to the Central train station, so really handy to make your way to and from the airport.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear JodieYates,

Sir Albert is heartened by your wonderful praise regarding to his Private Mansion, and would like to thank you for letting him know how much you have enjoyed your stay.

Guest Service is amongst Sir Albert’s highest priorities and it is always gratifying for him and his staff to receive such praise.

As you noted in your review our location is one of our strengths for guests that want to stay close to the Museum area.

We are all looking forward to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Amsterdam, Sir Albert is a luxury boutique hotel embodying the modern aristocratic attitude. That means: living like the upper crust but having an approach that’s distinctly down to earth. In this luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam you get: the finest design and boutique accommodation within walking distance of Amsterdam’s art-packed Museumplein and the vibrant Leidseplein, plus attentive, friendly and faultless service at all times.Sir Albert lives in De Pijp, the Quartier Latin of Amsterdam. Home to literati, artists, fashion designers, entrepreneurs and the city’s most famous market, the Albert Cuyp. De Pijp is also close to the Royal Concertgebouw, for lovers of classical music. And for lovers of shopping, you’re a leisurely stroll from Van Baerlestraat and the legendary P.C. Hooftstraat.Sample Sir Albert firsthand by staying in one of his 90 guest rooms and suites, all created by international award-winning designers BK Architecture. This makes Sir Albert a unique luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, T4B and Tingo so you can book your Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.