We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in beautiful city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 10% On Your Stay !
Ranked #38 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great find in beautiful city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Sir Albert was a great find by my clever husband. Out of the main city but only 10 mins on the local tram this hotel and area were delightful. The evenings were busy with both locals and tourists using the great little bars, coffee shops and restaurants in the area. Apparently (according to our great taxi driver) the second best restaurant in Amsterdam was right in our hotel, Japanese food with amazing flair, in a word Fabulous!! Hotel rooms clean and tastefully decorated and we were luck enough to get a balcony, not many rooms had one so make sure you ask. On arrival we were given a glass of prosecco and a lot of information that was very helpful including maps and ideas of where to visit, in fact the receptionist could not have been more helpful and spent a good 10 - 15 minutes with us suggesting places to visit. Buffet breakfast was not cheap but well worth it, and a great start to the day, try the French toast with poached pairs and crime fresh, absolutely delicious. Cannot fault the hotel, bar area, staff or food, all excellent and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room, make sure you ask for water in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Debbie J,

Sir Albert appreciate the time you took to share your personal feedback regarding to your stay at his Private Mansion.

He kindly wants to thank you for recommending our hotel so highly, and he is very pleased that you have spent an enjoyable time in Amsterdam and in his Private Mansion,

Sir Albert and his staff are looking forward to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    129
    29
    8
    2
See reviews for
18
231
13
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penarth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband and I recently spend 3 nights at the Sir Albert as part of our honeymoon, and I'm so glad we chose to stay here! Everything from the quirky decor to the fab staff really added something to our trip.

We arrived early for our check in and the staff were more than accomodating and managed to check us in almost straight away. As we mentioned we were on our honeymoon they also upgraded our room to a deluxe. We were also shown to our room by the lady on reception which was a lovely touch.

The room was slightly smaller than some rooms I have stayed in before but we expected that because of the age of the buidling. However this had no effect on our stay as the room was amazing and had the comfiest bed I have ever slept in. If I could have taken it with me on the plane I would have! The little touches that were left in the room were also lovely such as the post it notes and the personalised welcome note was very sweet. I also loved the open layout of the bathroom. My only criticism would be that the hairdryer was slightly annoying to use as you had to hold the button down for it to stay on and was quite heavy, and as I have long hair my wrists did ache a little after drying my hair.

As for the location it could not have been better, it's within walking distance of most of the main attractions of Amsterdam, but if you don't fancy walking there are two tram stops very close to the hotel as well as some great restuarants.

I would not hesitate to stay here again on another trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Sarah O,

Sir Albert is delighted to know that you and your husband have spent such a pleasant time at his Private Mansion in Amsterdam.

Guest Service is amongst Sir Albert’s highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.

I can assure you that we take your comments regarding to your hairdryer very seriously, and we will take appropriate actions to improve in these areas.

The next time you are visiting Amsterdam Sir Albert and his staff would be pleased to welcome you back.

Warm regards,
Barbara de Jong, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel is unique. The location is great and the staff are amazingly friendly. The best feature though is the bed. The most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. The breakfast isn't so great but you don't need to have breakfast at the hotel with a location like that! The elevators also smell like fish (I'm guessing because of the Sushi restaurant). Bedrooms are a bit small. But it's one of those hotels I'll want to go back to one day.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Amool3ali,

On behalf of Sir Albert I want to thank you kindly for recommending Sir Albert’s Private Mansion to other travelers via Tripadvisor, and Sir Albert and his staff are very happy to know that you would like to return in the future.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I am so glad I found this gem! Me and my partner stayed here in July for 2 nights for my partners birthday and we were both wowed! Perfect location - not right in the middle of amsterdam but was surrounded by amazing cafes and restaurants. In fact the location worked out perfectly as it was around the corner from the museums, hardrock cafe and Heineken experience. A tram stop outside makes it super easy to get about. The room was very trendy and modern with some nice little touches (such as the coffee machine and ipod dock) The rooms were air conditioned much to our appreciation as it was 30degrees outside when we visited! A beautiful hotel. I wouldnt hesitate to stay here again!

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor which have skylights and a good view over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Samira Jasmine P,

Sir Albert is very happy with your review and wants to thank you for your lovely words and for taking the time to share your experience on the web.

Sir Albert is delighted to read that you have enjoyed his neighborhood and the other facilities of the hotel.

It will be an honor for Sir Albert and his staff to welcome you and your partner again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This has to be one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The bed was so comfy I didn't wanna go out. The room was spotless and witty, with quirky little things all over it. I felt like I was at home. The staff were amazing and the lounge was just homely. This hotel is in a perfect location and has a great bar. It is a hidden gem! I loved everything about it. What makes this so unique you can even buy the bed and bedding!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear 4Sunnysunsun,

Sir Albert is heartened by your wonderful praise of his Private Mansion, and would like to thank you for letting him know how much you have enjoyed your stay.

It will be an honour for Sir Albert and his staff to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

A very modern good hotel with excellent service, quite rooms with separated toilets and showers with Nespresso coffee and machine (free) mineral water(free).
Not big ,but includes many facilities, very good condition.

Cons: too expensive breakfast and too expensive parking. We parked at Olympish stadium parking(p+r) for 1 euro daily(4 nights).

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel. Super friendly staff , lovely spotlessly clean rooms. On the tram route just outside city centre. Takes 15 minutes to get to central station. Hotel is surrounded by great little restaurants and cafe's. It even has its own red light area. The best thing about this hotel, is coming back to it after a day in the city!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Jarmey,

Sir Albert is absolutely delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at his Private Mansion so much. He wants to thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

Guest Service is amongst Sir Albert’s highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.

Sir Albert’s and his staff wants to thank you kindly for recommending his Mansion to other travelers, and hope to welcome back in the future for a truly distinctive stay.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Amsterdam, Sir Albert is a luxury boutique hotel embodying the modern aristocratic attitude. That means: living like the upper crust but having an approach that’s distinctly down to earth. In this luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam you get: the finest design and boutique accommodation within walking distance of Amsterdam’s art-packed Museumplein and the vibrant Leidseplein, plus attentive, friendly and faultless service at all times.Sir Albert lives in De Pijp, the Quartier Latin of Amsterdam. Home to literati, artists, fashion designers, entrepreneurs and the city’s most famous market, the Albert Cuyp. De Pijp is also close to the Royal Concertgebouw, for lovers of classical music. And for lovers of shopping, you’re a leisurely stroll from Van Baerlestraat and the legendary P.C. Hooftstraat.Sample Sir Albert firsthand by staying in one of his 90 guest rooms and suites, all created by international award-winning designers BK Architecture. This makes Sir Albert a unique luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, T4B and Tingo so you can book your Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.