We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely week with Sir Albert” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€109 (EUR)
Ranked #38 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Lovely week with Sir Albert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

My neighbor and I had a lovely six night stay at Sir Albert. The hotel is new and in a great location very close the the museums and the tram. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was excellent. They had a nice selection of made-to-order hot dishes and nice cold food as well. The only thing I would have added to the breakfast was a small sip of champagne to start the day. Our room on the second floor was very quiet and well appointed. We enjoyed the library area each afternoon and sipped adult beverages by the gas fire.

My friend does not eat Japanese food so we did not try the restaurant. We enjoyed a nice Italitan restaurant right across the street.

I will stay with Sir Albert again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear val-mn,

Sir Albert is delighted that you enjoyed your stay at his Private Mansion. Guest service is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise. Your “champagne tip” will be reviewed.

We hope that we may have the pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    124
    28
    8
    2
See reviews for
17
220
11
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ankara, Turkey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

perfect hip and style hotel in a perfect location, helpful staff, great location, rooms are nice and comfortable, in-house restaurant&bar izakaya is a trend place to go, complimentary chocolates and prosecco in the lobby is another nice gestures

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Neonch,

It was a pleasure for Sir Albert to learn how much you experienced your stay at his Private Mansion and his favorite restaurant & bar Izakaya.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I was visiting Amsterdam with a group of friends and this was our second hotel in Amsterdam. I will say this was a bit further out and not as central as the first place we stayed at but it was by far the best.

The atmosphere and ambiance in the lobby and the rooms was great and well decorated. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially when I had a 7am flight and needed to check out very early compared to my friends, they immediately called a taxi to get me to the airport. The rooms are large compared to other hotels in Amsterdam, the beds are very comfortable and clean. There was a spacious bathroom (separate rooms for shower and toilet). And a lovely view of the canal.

Also, the Japanese restaurant had great staff and great food. Everyone was more than willing to help us with something or give us suggestions of places to go hang out. The museums and Heineken brewery are also within walking distance. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Mary B,

First of all thank you for taking the time to write this extensive review for Sir Albert and sharing your personal experience on Tripadvisor.

Sir Albert is happy to note your kind comments regarding to his Private Mansion and Staff. Guest Service is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.

I hope that we may have the pleasure to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

We loved this hotel. The staff are young and friendly. They are always willing to talk to you and help you with any enquiry. The room we had faced the street and we could see the canal. It was quite an amazing room, spotlessly clean, large enough to move around in and so quiet. The linen and toiletries were lovely as was the robe. This hotel is out of the hustle of the city to a degree but a very short stroll to the tram stop. In this area you will find great restaurants, the best patisserie just across the street and a great pizza restaurant across the road too. It's a lovely safe place to stroll around, easy to get to many attractions from the hotel location. I would definitely stay here again as I felt it was so clean and different.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Racandtac,

Sir Albert is delighted that you enjoyed your stay at his Private Mansion. Customer care is amongst his highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.

We want to thank you for taking the time to write this review. It will be an honor to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Shared a deluxe room with a friend. The rooms was nicely decorated in a modern and minimalist fashion, everything was clean and tidy. We didn't try the breakfast which we thought quite expensive at 25 Euro each. There's a Japanese restaurant on the ground floor which is supposed to be excellent, but there was no tables available when we were there. The room was rather small though and the rooms was quite expensive for what you got. Good central location though.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Moool,

Sir Albert greatly appreciated your kind comments regarding to his Private Mansion.

We definitely recommend the IZAKAYA restaurant, next time you visiting Amsterdam. Our Guest Service Managers can always help you with a reservation for this fine restaurant.

Thank you for taking the time to share your Sir Albert experience on Tripadvisor. I hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for a long weekend... Rooms were lovely, staff were really friendly and location was ideal if you would prefer to be out of the touristy area but close enough to hop on a tram! (No 16 & 24)
There are loads of great places to eat beside the hotel and the staff at reception were happy to suggest places and help you find your way about!
The hotel bar is a fab and trendy bar full of locals and tourists.
We will definetley be back to stay again!

We

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear LauraFee,

Sir Albert is delighted that you enjoyed your stay at his Private Mansion. Customer care is amongst Sir Albert's highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.

On behalf of Sir Albert I want to thank you for taking the time to write this review. It will be an honor to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a long weekend in Amsterdam staying at Sir Albert situated in the delightful area of De Pijp. We stayed in a deluxe room number 115 with ensuite bath and large shower head over head. This room was plenty big enough for myself and my partner. It was absolutely spotless and there were ample toiletries of a high quality. There was a large TV with 6 English channels including BBC1, BBC2 and channel 5 which was a treat.
We had breakfast included in our price which was plentiful with lots of variety.
The staff at Sir Albert went the extra mile every time. They were the most friendly people I have met in a long while. Thank you Tim and Jop.
The premium wifi was much faster than the standard one and we didn't have to pay the €15 we were supposed to as Tim gave us several vouchers which enabled free access for 24 hours.
In terms of location if you don't want the madness of Central Amsterdam then this is the place for you. We walked everywhere but conveniently the no. 16 and 24 trams stop very close to the hotel.
There were many places to eat very nearby and a coffee shop opposite if that is your thing.
I highly recommend Sir Albert!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear PeacefulWarrior67,

Sir Albert and his staff greatly appreciated your lovely words regarding to your stay at Sir Albert’s Private Mansion.

On behalf of Sir Albert I want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. It will be an honor for Sir Albert and his staff to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Amsterdam, Sir Albert is a luxury boutique hotel embodying the modern aristocratic attitude. That means: living like the upper crust but having an approach that’s distinctly down to earth. In this luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam you get: the finest design and boutique accommodation within walking distance of Amsterdam’s art-packed Museumplein and the vibrant Leidseplein, plus attentive, friendly and faultless service at all times.Sir Albert lives in De Pijp, the Quartier Latin of Amsterdam. Home to literati, artists, fashion designers, entrepreneurs and the city’s most famous market, the Albert Cuyp. De Pijp is also close to the Royal Concertgebouw, for lovers of classical music. And for lovers of shopping, you’re a leisurely stroll from Van Baerlestraat and the legendary P.C. Hooftstraat.Sample Sir Albert firsthand by staying in one of his 90 guest rooms and suites, all created by international award-winning designers BK Architecture. This makes Sir Albert a unique luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, T4B and Tingo so you can book your Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.