We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic classy comfy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€109 (EUR)
Ranked #38 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Chic classy comfy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed in the hotel as a little pre Christmas break. Upon arrival was asked if we would like any drink from the bar I had a small beer my girlfriend had a wine from this moment on nothing was a problem. The very helpful staff gave us directions to the city an nice restaurants to eat. The room was small but everything was in the right place for a weekend break an Absolutely spotless lovely hotel

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Robin Y,

Sir Albert is delighted that you enjoyed your stay at his Private Mansion. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. It will be an honor to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    124
    28
    8
    2
See reviews for
17
220
11
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Battle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed at Sir Albert for 4 nights and I agree with the recent reviews that it is a great place to stay. It is on the fringe of the central city and so the location is little less frenetic than the centre, but it is a short walk or a tram ride into town. Also a new metro line station being built locally. Cannot say enough about how friendly and helpful all the staff are. Ask for a room away from the street. Trams rumbling past the front can be a bit noisy. Would recommend booking the breakfast. Good choice and good value. Don’t bother with the evening meal. Turn left out of the front door, wander along Albert Cuyp Straat and you will be spoilt for choice and price range. The street market during the day is interesting as well.

Room Tip: Rooms away frpm street are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Robin Y,

Sir Albert is delighted that you enjoyed your stay at his Private Mansion. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. It will be an honor for us to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Very nice room (deluxe version) with great shower but no bath. Nice glass of Prosecco on arrival, cool décor and funky Japanese restaurant. Not cheap at €275 but that's cities for you. Location OK, 10 minutes out from museums but at 25 minutes to city centre, far enough compared with other hotels. Decent place though.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear GoudhurstMike,

Sir Albert is sorry to note your comment regarding to the bath. You can always let us know during your stay if you experience any issues in your room so we can check if a room change is possible.

On behalf of Sir Albert I want to thank you for writing this review. We hope that we can welcome you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Ignore any bad comments, it's brilliant.
It was classy, clean, very comfy and the staff were unbelievably friendly.
It's a short walk into town (or take the tram) and we will definitely go back there.

It might be a little expensive but you get what you pay for in life. The restaurant was pricey but really yummy (if you like Japanese food). It's easy to eat brek out if you want (croissants from local supermarkets or a cafe) and there are plenty of local restaurants for dinner.

It was perfect for us on our stay in Amsterdam and we look forward to going back.
The bed is ridiculously comfortable and the service was perfect.

Room Tip: Think we had the room up from basic. It was great and we would have been just as happy with anything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Fred B,

First of all I want to thank you on behalf of Sir Albert for you kind words regarding to your stay at Sir Albert’s Private Mansion.

We are also looking forward to welcome you again.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We had booked a hotel nearer the railway station but were rebooked at the Sir Albert due to prolonged refurbishment at the original hotel. Although we hadn't chosen it, the location turned out to be great - not too far from the centre, handy for trams and very near some very good restaurants and the street market, which we loved. The Sir Albert has a style of its own and we were particularly impressed with the welcome from the staff, who went out of their way to be helpful (without being pushy!), and with the very comfortable bed. We didn't have the pricey breakfast at the hotel, choosing instead to have a simple but very nice (and much cheaper!) breakfast at the cafe opposite. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed at the Sir Albert for 3 nights. The hotel is located perfectly only a 25 minute walk into the centre and 5 minute to museum square. The tram system is brilliant and there are two stops right outside the hotel that take you to straight to the city centre and central station. On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff and complementary glass of sparking wine. Through out our stay the staff were amazing and helped with any enquires such as booking tickets for museums and the zoo. We also had a free upgrade as our room wasn't available which was a lovely surprise. The room was unbelievable (the bed been the best part)! We were on the first floor and did here music from downstairs but wasn't too bad and did not alter our view of the hotel. The hotel restaurant is out if this world but extremely expensive so make sure you check the menu before booking. I recommend anyone to stay at this hotel it made mine and my boyfriends trip very memorable and I will most definitely be staying here if I return to Amsterdam !!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

What a lovely boutique hotel. Immediately welcomed with a glass of Prosecco whilst checking in. We arrived in the evening and the restaurant and bar were heaving - clearly a popular place. Our room was black and white in decor and the shower & toilet hidden behind floor to ceiling black glossy doors making the room seem more spacious. The bed and bedding made us feel like a King and Queen - so luxurious. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and hot food cooked to order. We would definitely stay here again as the location is great, has a great atmosphere and staff helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Amsterdam, Sir Albert is a luxury boutique hotel embodying the modern aristocratic attitude. That means: living like the upper crust but having an approach that’s distinctly down to earth. In this luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam you get: the finest design and boutique accommodation within walking distance of Amsterdam’s art-packed Museumplein and the vibrant Leidseplein, plus attentive, friendly and faultless service at all times.Sir Albert lives in De Pijp, the Quartier Latin of Amsterdam. Home to literati, artists, fashion designers, entrepreneurs and the city’s most famous market, the Albert Cuyp. De Pijp is also close to the Royal Concertgebouw, for lovers of classical music. And for lovers of shopping, you’re a leisurely stroll from Van Baerlestraat and the legendary P.C. Hooftstraat.Sample Sir Albert firsthand by staying in one of his 90 guest rooms and suites, all created by international award-winning designers BK Architecture. This makes Sir Albert a unique luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, T4B and Tingo so you can book your Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.