We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely helpful staff, amazingly comfy bed!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€109 (EUR)
Ranked #38 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Extremely helpful staff, amazingly comfy bed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We had booked a hotel nearer the railway station but were rebooked at the Sir Albert due to prolonged refurbishment at the original hotel. Although we hadn't chosen it, the location turned out to be great - not too far from the centre, handy for trams and very near some very good restaurants and the street market, which we loved. The Sir Albert has a style of its own and we were particularly impressed with the welcome from the staff, who went out of their way to be helpful (without being pushy!), and with the very comfortable bed. We didn't have the pricey breakfast at the hotel, choosing instead to have a simple but very nice (and much cheaper!) breakfast at the cafe opposite. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    118
    28
    8
    2
See reviews for
16
210
11
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed at the Sir Albert for 3 nights. The hotel is located perfectly only a 25 minute walk into the centre and 5 minute to museum square. The tram system is brilliant and there are two stops right outside the hotel that take you to straight to the city centre and central station. On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff and complementary glass of sparking wine. Through out our stay the staff were amazing and helped with any enquires such as booking tickets for museums and the zoo. We also had a free upgrade as our room wasn't available which was a lovely surprise. The room was unbelievable (the bed been the best part)! We were on the first floor and did here music from downstairs but wasn't too bad and did not alter our view of the hotel. The hotel restaurant is out if this world but extremely expensive so make sure you check the menu before booking. I recommend anyone to stay at this hotel it made mine and my boyfriends trip very memorable and I will most definitely be staying here if I return to Amsterdam !!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

What a lovely boutique hotel. Immediately welcomed with a glass of Prosecco whilst checking in. We arrived in the evening and the restaurant and bar were heaving - clearly a popular place. Our room was black and white in decor and the shower & toilet hidden behind floor to ceiling black glossy doors making the room seem more spacious. The bed and bedding made us feel like a King and Queen - so luxurious. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and hot food cooked to order. We would definitely stay here again as the location is great, has a great atmosphere and staff helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed at Sir Albert Hotel for 2 nights on our recent weekend break to Amsterdam. The hotel's location is excellent: being simple to get to from the airport by public transport and well located in the museum quarter, with all the main Amsterdam attractions being walkable distances.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, marking all the places we wanted to visit on a map for us.

The hotel itself was fantastic. The room we stayed in was clean, modern and very well appointed. There were lots of nice little finishing touches that made it feel very welcoming. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept in at a hotel.

We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on food (we felt the breakfast option was expensive and the evening restaurant menu wasn't to our taste).

We would definitely recommend this hotel and would love to return.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

If like me, you don't have a visa credit card. ....do not give this hotel your visa debit card for the booking in deposit. We stayed from the 28th feb to the 3rd March and I am still waiting on the money to be transferred back to my card. ..its now over month and a half since the visit to the sir Albert and even though I was informed at the time of booking in I would receive the deposit back in cash format at time of checkout. Upon checking put I was then informed the money would have to be transferred back to my card which would take 2 weeks. I've phoned this hotel on numerous occasions regarding this money but to no avail. This process is taking longer than I could have ever imagined.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I stayed at this hotel as a weekend city break. Although located outside the inner city, the hotel is very close to all the museum's and in a residential part of the town. I found the hotel very comfortable and the staff very helpful. They had lots of useful ideas about where to eat and what to do. The rooms were very comfortable if a little compact. It was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have stayed in. It was also great to stay somewhere that has FREE fast internet. It is about a 15-20 minute walk into the city or less than 5 minutes on the trams which run right outside the door. It is also very close to the Albert Cuypstraat Market as well as some nice bakeries. WE didn't try the hotel restaurant but one of the other guests said it was very good. If you want somewhere a bit more up market in Amsterdam then this is so much better than one of the chain hotel's.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear David W,

It was a pleasure for Sir Albert to note how much you enjoyed your stay at his Private Mansion. Customer care is amongst Sir Albert’s highest priority and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.

We definitely recommend the IZAKAYA restaurant for the next time you are in Amsterdam and we hope that you will stay with us again soon.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Visited Amsterdam for a quick weekend trip and stayed at the Sir Albert Hotel. What a pleasant surprise at the cordiality provided by the hotel staff. The room was clean and the bed was wonderfully soft. Amenities were of first quality. The bathroom/shower room was a new experience for us, as they were two small separate closets. Nothing wrong but different. No bathtub, again no problem. Service was great and we felt very comfortable for our two day stay.

Room Tip: the room was quiet, decor modern. I think you will be fine with whatever room you are given.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Robertthetraveler194,

Sir Albert greatly appreciated your kind comments regarding to his Private Mansion and staff.

On behalf of Sir Albert I want to thank you for taking the time to write a review for his Private Mansion and we hope that we may have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Amsterdam, Sir Albert is a luxury boutique hotel embodying the modern aristocratic attitude. That means: living like the upper crust but having an approach that’s distinctly down to earth. In this luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam you get: the finest design and boutique accommodation within walking distance of Amsterdam’s art-packed Museumplein and the vibrant Leidseplein, plus attentive, friendly and faultless service at all times.Sir Albert lives in De Pijp, the Quartier Latin of Amsterdam. Home to literati, artists, fashion designers, entrepreneurs and the city’s most famous market, the Albert Cuyp. De Pijp is also close to the Royal Concertgebouw, for lovers of classical music. And for lovers of shopping, you’re a leisurely stroll from Van Baerlestraat and the legendary P.C. Hooftstraat.Sample Sir Albert firsthand by staying in one of his 90 guest rooms and suites, all created by international award-winning designers BK Architecture. This makes Sir Albert a unique luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, T4B, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.