We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I stayed at this hotel as a weekend city break. Although located outside the inner city, the hotel is very close to all the museum's and in a residential part of the town. I found the hotel very comfortable and the staff very helpful. They had lots of useful ideas about where to eat and what to do. The rooms were very comfortable if a little compact. It was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have stayed in. It was also great to stay somewhere that has FREE fast internet. It is about a 15-20 minute walk into the city or less than 5 minutes on the trams which run right outside the door. It is also very close to the Albert Cuypstraat Market as well as some nice bakeries. WE didn't try the hotel restaurant but one of the other guests said it was very good. If you want somewhere a bit more up market in Amsterdam then this is so much better than one of the chain hotel's.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear David W,

It was a pleasure for Sir Albert to note how much you enjoyed your stay at his Private Mansion. Customer care is amongst Sir Albert’s highest priority and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.

We definitely recommend the IZAKAYA restaurant for the next time you are in Amsterdam and we hope that you will stay with us again soon.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    84
    19
    7
    1
See reviews for
11
153
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vicenza, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Visited Amsterdam for a quick weekend trip and stayed at the Sir Albert Hotel. What a pleasant surprise at the cordiality provided by the hotel staff. The room was clean and the bed was wonderfully soft. Amenities were of first quality. The bathroom/shower room was a new experience for us, as they were two small separate closets. Nothing wrong but different. No bathtub, again no problem. Service was great and we felt very comfortable for our two day stay.

Room Tip: the room was quiet, decor modern. I think you will be fine with whatever room you are given.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Robertthetraveler194,

Sir Albert greatly appreciated your kind comments regarding to his Private Mansion and staff.

On behalf of Sir Albert I want to thank you for taking the time to write a review for his Private Mansion and we hope that we may have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We had a great stay here. We got a weekend break here via the Mr & Mrs Smith brand. That way we limited our choice to more boutique style hotel. A great choice as it well away from the real heart of tourist land - yet only 10 minutes (tops) on the extremely frequent tram services. It is also 10 minutes walk to the museums. The area felt like being in Amsterdam, not the centre of a tourist trap, with the local market on the doorstep and loads of bars and restaurants in the locality.

If we had a complaint it is, like others, that the rooms are small (the black floors, a glass probably won't help) and we also struggled with the air con/heating. The rooms are well equipped (haven't seen a stocked mini-bar for ages, plus the obligatory over-priced food items, and a special "adult" item, in a tray), with a coffee maker, kettle, iron, safe and TV (awkwardly positioned in the corner). But from the check in (our room was ready at 11am!!) to check out (not until 12.00, lovely on a Sunday morning) we were well looked after.

Last note, the Japanese restaurant was fully booked for the Friday (and only a few places for the Saturday) so if you want to eat in the hotel, book ahead. However, we were glad we didn't because there are plenty of other eateries around.

Room Tip: We had room 339 (four floors so we guess that this applies to all the 39s). Which looked liked it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear paul_michele_smith,

Sir Albert was very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam. And he apologize for letting you down on some of your expectations.

You can always let Sir Albert's staff know during your stay if you experience any issues in your room so we solve any issues right away.

On behalf of Sir Albert I want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor and we are looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Dear God, this was overpriced. Having stayed in small hotel rooms in London & New York this was a genuine shocker. The wall was less than 18 " from the end of the bed. The wash basin was in the bedroom & a separate loo & shower cubicle. Two of us & not enough bathroom accessories - shower gel just enough for one etc.
£215 for the night! On the plus side it's right by the 16/24 tram lines so very easy to get about & 10 mins walk to the Rijksmuseum & Van Gogh Museum.

Good bar but again overpriced restaurant. I'd forget the 'trendy' & go for something more reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Eigenaar at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear BarristerLondon,

On behalf of Sir Albert I want to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

We like to offer our sincere apologies for the disappointment you have expressed. You can always let us know during your stay if you experience any issues in your room or in the hotel so we solve any issues right away.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I loved the Sir Albert. I would go out of my way to stay there again, if I ever got the chance. From the attractive, if slightly masculine, décor (black and chrome and leather) to the spa-like shower; from the fast and free wireless internet to being extremely convenient to public transportation and the major museums, the Sir Albert is really classy. The staff is friendly, professional and really interested in being helpful (for example maintenance came up and reconnected the wheel on my suitcase and the front desk clerk told me the budget way to get to the airport (bus #197 for 5 euro, catch it right outside the Concertgebouw.) Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum as well as Concertgebouw are about 6 blocks away (follow the tram line outside hotel, going to the left. Dam Square and the oldest and largest flea market are to the right on tramline #16 or #24 (2.80 euro) There is a "red light" establishment two doors down on the canal-side street, which is either interesting or easily ignored. It is not intrusive. Do watch out for bicycles on bicycle lanes, which are clearly marked in red color or red brick. Bicycles have absolute right of way and they take it! They may be coming from behind as well as from right or left. Seldom do they ring a bell to warn you. The attached restaurant, Asian fusion, is spendy but there are a number of more informal cafes with lower prices nearby. And the bed is super comfortable and "well dressed".

Room Tip: I loved my first floor (not ground floor) corner room overlooking canal but it probably was not the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear normajBoise_Idaho,

It was a pleasure for Sir Albert to learn how much you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam. On behalf of Sir Albert I want to thank you for your kind and lovely words regarding to his Private Mansion and staff.

Your review will be very helpful for others that stay at Sir Albert Hotel and Sir Albert hopes that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a fantastic short break in Amsterdam and Sir Albert was the absolute perfect hotel to do this from. Sir Albert is just a short distance out of the main centre (which for us is absolutely how we prefer it) but it is itself in a great area of Amsterdam with loads of great local restaurants and bars. The staff were all extremely welcoming and couldn't do enough to help us. They were keen to tell us about the best places to visit and were very helpful with letting us know how to get back to the airport via bus (because the trains weren't running). We were on a but of a budget trip this time so stayed in a Deluxe double. We would have liked to upgraded to a suite but the deluxe really was a good size and have good facilities. We weren't really in there that long anyway! Just down the road from the hotel you have a great bakery (really beautiful cakes and breads and breakfasts with the queue coming out of the door on Saturday morning! There is also another restaurant Le Garage just down the road that we didn't visit but have heard is good. Having ventured into Amsterdam central we were very pleased we didn't stay right in the thick of everything. This really was perfect. The hotel restaurant though expensive is an absolute must visit - the sushi was truly the best we ever had. Great hotel, great location, great city.

Room Tip: Opt for a suite if you can and ask if you'd like a bath. We were at the front of the hotel firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Michelintravels,

It was a pleasure for Sir Albert to learn how much you enjoyed your stay at his Private Mansion and also discovered his neighborhood. On behalf of Sir Albert I want to thank you for your kind and lovely words regarding to the hotel and staff.

We hope that we may have the pleasure to welcome you again at Sir Albert’s Private Mansion.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

this is not a hotel for the business traveler - the rooms are not soundproofed, the high-tech buttonless radio goes off in the middle of the night and the temperature has a mind of its own, despite my repeated setting it to high (and if you were wondering whether the shower room leaks in the room, that's a yes). The optional yet limited breakfast charged at 25 euro is way overpriced (you get double the amount at the organic cafe 2 blocks down the street for half the price but I didn't have time to do that every day due to work commitments) whereas the restaurant gives priority to non-hotel visitors over hotel guests(!!!) so upon my return I fell in bed sick for a week due to lack of sleep and food from my uber trendy hotel. Reception will indeed bend over backwards to assist you, but you can't be in the reception every 5 min to make sure everything works as it should, so lesson learned: when on business, stick to the marriott.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Opium77,

Sir Albert was sorry to learn of your concerns regarding your recent stay at Sir Albert’s Mansion and at the outset, would like to offer his sincere apologies for the disappointment you have expressed.

Please be assured that the issues raised have been investigated to prevent similarly situations.

On behalf of Sir Albert I want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

Warm regards,

Barbara de Jong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Amsterdam, Sir Albert is a luxury boutique hotel embodying the modern aristocratic attitude. That means: living like the upper crust but having an approach that’s distinctly down to earth. In this luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam you get: the finest design and boutique accommodation within walking distance of Amsterdam’s art-packed Museumplein and the vibrant Leidseplein, plus attentive, friendly and faultless service at all times.Sir Albert lives in De Pijp, the Quartier Latin of Amsterdam. Home to literati, artists, fashion designers, entrepreneurs and the city’s most famous market, the Albert Cuyp. De Pijp is also close to the Royal Concertgebouw, for lovers of classical music. And for lovers of shopping, you’re a leisurely stroll from Van Baerlestraat and the legendary P.C. Hooftstraat.Sample Sir Albert firsthand by staying in one of his 90 guest rooms and suites, all created by international award-winning designers BK Architecture. This makes Sir Albert a unique luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tablet Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.