We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sir Albert restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€115 (EUR)
Ranked #38 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Sir Albert restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We've been invited to the hotel's restaurant by our friends, which live in Amsterdam. Usually I would not go to hotel's restaurant, but the friends told us we should visit the place.
When we left, I had only one question - what was that??? It was the most amazing food experience I can remember in my life!
What you need to know is that even booking in advance, you have to come before and wait for the table to release. We were sitting at the bar and had really unusual and tasty cocktails. Try cucumber one.
The menu of the restaurant is quite unusual, so we've asked the manager, which was serving us that day, to help us with the choice. It was 7 meal dinner with the food prepared in some unique way. I don't know how to describe it, but what is clear, is that I will definitely return for another experience. By the way, the price for a person with all the food and all the drinks we wanted was about 80 euro for each, so for this kind of experience it is quite affordable.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    95
    21
    7
    1
See reviews for
14
167
8
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Deal, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed from 29th Jan to 1st Feb 2014: Great boutiquey hotel. Excellent location, close to Amsterdam street market (500m) and on the 16 & 24 tram line so easy access to Central Station, Dam Sq, etc.

Very very friendly staff offering lots of useful advice including a great spot for breakfast 30secs from hotel: http://www.bakkenmetpassie.nl/

Would stay again, absolutely.

Room had all of the usual (tea/coffee/TV, etc) plus a nice surprise, an iPAD hooked up to the free Wi-Fi, so you can buy your museum tickets, check out the local area and checkin online for your flights ;o).

You're in the heart of the De Pijp eatery district so the dinner choices are huge: Indonesian, Greek, Italian, Spanish, Dutch, French, Indioan, Korean, etc

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Manager at Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Nerradtreborsniktaw,

On behalf of Sir Albert I would like to thank you for the amazing review you've left. It was a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay at his private mansion.

It will be an honor for Sir Albert to welcome you back in the near future.

He asked me to send you his warm regards.

My kindest regards,

Barbara de Jong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Just returned from a four night stay here. We received a really warm welcome, which included a glass of prosecco, from a very pleasant young lady on reception who was extremely helpful and informative. She presented us with a city street map and pointed out various areas which could be of interest to us and also made advance bookings for the Anne Frank House. We were then taken to our fourth floor room by another equally helpful member of staff. In fact all the staff we encountered were friendly and amenable.
The room was on the small side but it was very modern and immaculately clean and quite adequate for our needs. We had no problems with any housekeeping matters and although we never used the coffee making machine we made full use of the kettle which was also provided. When we required more tea bags a phone call to reception resulted in the supply being promptly replenished. Like other reviewers we found the bed to be one of the most comfortable we had ever slept in in a hotel.
Breakfast was not included in our tariff but we were offered a reduction in price and did not regret accepting the offer. There was plenty of choice and the full English was very adequate. We did not use the restaurant in the evening but it must be good because it was extremely busy every night. There is a large variety of restaurants nearby - Italian, Indonesian, Indian, Greek, French and Argentinian. We found the Monte Verde, directly opposite the hotel, to be very reasonable.
Travelling to and from the city centre (and the railway station) is very easy because trams 16 and 24 stop very close to the hotel and umbrellas are provided by the hotel if it is raining or likely to be wet. The Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum are a ten minute walk away and you can take a canal cruise from opposite the Rijksmuseum.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This hotel is absolutely wonderful and the staff can not do enough for you, we arrived back yesterday and are already planning to return for later this year.

The rooms are AMAZING and the beds are the most comfortable I have ever slept in.

I can not recommend this hotel enough.

Room Tip: The tram stops right outside the hotel, grab the 16 ir 24 which will take you the centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Had a excellent stay at Sir Albert around new-years eve.
Lovely and stylish hotel, most comfortable (hotel) bed I slept in for ages!
Super friendly and helpful staff, lovely lobby to relax in, great restaurant. Happy to say that there were no negatives at all! Easy walking distance to Museums and main central area's. Tram ride away from Central Station.
Definitely want to come back and spend some more time there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed at Sir Albert at the beginning of January. Having booked through a third party we did get a reduction on the normal room rate which made the value for money exceptional. The room was lovely (a little dusty, no full carpet so it shows) on the second floor with a view over the canal. The bed was big and comfy with plenty of big fluffy pillows. The room was clean and was made up nicely each day. We ate breakfast in local cafés so didn't try it at the hotel as it was a bit pricey although sounds delicious. The restaurant was having its annual clean on the day we planned to eat there, but we had a drink and the bar staff were very friendly and offered us restaurant suggestions.
Reception staff were very friendly, giving personal recommendations and checking we knew our way around - we have several maps now! Hired the bikes for a day which was great.
This was our third visit to Amsterdam and know this area quite well and the tram network. It's not bang in the centre but near enough for us & right by the museums and great restaurants.
We rarely go to the same place twice, but I think we'll be seeing Sir Albert again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Walking around Amsterdam in a meandering morning, we stumbled upon the Sir Albert and decided to do the breakfast. It's a bit pricey but the buffet was excellent and they will make you specially prepared breakfasts to order. If you are looking for a hotel with a great breakfast & it's free for guests, go for it. The breakfast was superb.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Amsterdam, Sir Albert is a luxury boutique hotel embodying the modern aristocratic attitude. That means: living like the upper crust but having an approach that’s distinctly down to earth. In this luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam you get: the finest design and boutique accommodation within walking distance of Amsterdam’s art-packed Museumplein and the vibrant Leidseplein, plus attentive, friendly and faultless service at all times.Sir Albert lives in De Pijp, the Quartier Latin of Amsterdam. Home to literati, artists, fashion designers, entrepreneurs and the city’s most famous market, the Albert Cuyp. De Pijp is also close to the Royal Concertgebouw, for lovers of classical music. And for lovers of shopping, you’re a leisurely stroll from Van Baerlestraat and the legendary P.C. Hooftstraat.Sample Sir Albert firsthand by staying in one of his 90 guest rooms and suites, all created by international award-winning designers BK Architecture. This makes Sir Albert a unique luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tablet Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, HotelsNL, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Booking.com so you can book your Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.